We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Flawless”
other travelers have booked this property
Romantic Pond Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Romantic Pond Cottage
Secluded Swimming Pool Pond Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Romantic Pond Cottage
Secluded Swimming Pool
Pond Cottage
Comfy lounge
Double bedroom 1
Cottage from S/W
Apple blossoms in May
Kitchen
Pool and Cider Barn
Double bedroom 2
Cozy lounge with wood burner
Lambs in the Spring
Pond Cottage garden
Pond in May
Garden near pool in May
Another view of Double bedroom 1
View of the pool
Contented young sheep
Life in the Paddock
The garden in July
Pond Cottage in the autumn
5 acre apple orchard in the autumn
Inner courtyard of farm
The farm house in the early morning sun
Filleigh Castle  - 10 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Witheridge, Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
paradisod...
Vancouver Island
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Flawless”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

John and Renate are absolutely wonderful people and hosts! There were jars of homemade Jams and eggs for breakfast to greet us. John toured us around the farm and his plantations spending an extraordinary amount of time with us. The cottage is flawless has every appointment and in spotless condition. The location is as quiet and rural as you can get, we were awakened (Not too early) by the gentle mumblings if ducks and sheep.
Our hosts even mailed our conversion plugs to us after we had left them there in spite of them leaving for holidays the same day!
Thank you both for a memorable stay, we will always recommend you highly!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Thank you for being such brilliant and enthusiastic guests. It was a pleasure sharing our farm with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna R
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic and well equipped cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Pond Cottage for 5 nights at the end of August / beginning of September with our son (5). Pond cottage is delightful, finished to a high standard and well equipped in a beautiful and peaceful location. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the cottage and were very warmly welcomed by John and Renate who were perfect hosts during our stay.

Our son loved feeding the ducks and geese,meeting the sheep and walking around the orchard and farm.

Unfortunately the weather was not overly kind to us so we only braved the the pool once but I am sure it would be very lovely on a warm summers day.

Our son, along with my husband and I,were all very sad when our holiday came to an end and we definitely hope to stay at Pond Cottage again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was really great
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neperky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tranquil cottage in a quiet location”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family and I stayed at the cottage for a week and had a lovely time. The weather wasn't that great but the cottage had everything you need as it is furnished to a very high standard. John and Renate were very welcoming and easy to talk to along with all their lovely ducks and geese which we spent a lot of time feeding. The swimming pool was lovely unfortunately we didn't use it as it was too cold for us, but my daughter braved it a couple of times.
Ideal location to get out and about we would definitely return.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
28sharonj
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great place to stay to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Lovely to see the animals and to hear bird song in the evening. Central location to easily get to the North Devon coast. Pack some wellingtons just in case the weather changes so you can explore the land.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a break from Computers for a week. Wifi is avaible if wanted but you need to go nearer to the farmhouse to use it.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and peaceful atmosphere”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed at Pond cottage with my wife and 6 year old son between the 24th May - 31st May 2015.
The owners John and Renate are very passionate in their work on the farm and ensure their guests feel very welcome.
Pond cottage is a lovely converted 2 bedroom cottage which is very clean and comfortable with all the mod cons along with a wood burning stove. There are fantastic views across the open Devon countryside.
The cottage is set within acres of the owners farmland and orchards which you are free to roam around and explore.
We enjoyed some day's of sunshine during our stay and used the swimming pool and BBQ.
We love Devon and visit at least once a year and I'm sure we will return to this cottage in the future.
Many thanks John and Renate for a fab week.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2015
Thank you, you were model guests, we would love to have you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Special_K...
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Devon retreat”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Although the weather was mixed for our week-long stay at Pond Cottage (what did we expect for August in the UK?), we all had a great time! Our young girls particularly enjoyed themselves, feeding the ducks and geese, exploring the farm, and swimming in the lovely pool. The cottage is also good base for exploring the local Devon area too (although we did have trouble tearing ourselves away from the cottage, which is luxurious I might add). Many thanks to Renata and John who were extremely warm hosts, and very patient with our girls unending stream of questions about the farm. We look forward to staying at Pond Cottage again one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Located on a working farm
Liked least: Access to property via narrow twisty roads. But that's being picky!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janiesue2...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great venue for a peaceful, comfortable and restful stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from a great stay in this lovely cottage. There were three of us, one of us being 90 years young, and we all agree that the cottage suited our requirements perfectly. Lovely fitted kitchen with every convenience, comfortable beds in large bedrooms with quality furnishings in the ensuite bedrooms.
Renate and John, the owners (and their chickens and ducks) are very welcoming and friendly and the farm's rural location is simply gorgeous. The lanes leading from the cottage are not for the faint-hearted but once they were negotiated we found the location to be central for both North and South coasts and for forays to inland locations like Buckfast Abbey, Barnstaple and Bideford.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility, location and comfort of the cottage
Liked least: Being picky, the lack of Wifi and telephone connectivity
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing