We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Coombe Country Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George(South Molton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highbullen Hotel(Chittlehamholt)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lion Hotel(Dulverton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fingle Glen Golf Hotel(Tedburn St. Mary)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveler rating
82
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorchard cottagesconescream teaon arrivalgames roomwarm welcomelong weekendswimming poola wonderful stayfeeding the ducksthoroughly enjoyed our stayeach morningb bfantastic cottagetravel cottreasure hunttwo couples
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 84 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Family of 4 Saffi's cottage 3 - 10 August
Our second visit to South Coombe & places never seem as good when you go back WRONG! just as lovely, peaceful & welcoming.
Within easy reach of both coasts of Devon (1 hr or so depending on the traffic) a pub in the village with lovely food. We found that the Sainsbury's in South Moulton was a good place to stop & replenish supplies if you've been exploring the North coast.
After a day out you know that you have a clean comfortable tranquil base to return to. The games room does get used a lot with the younger members of the family (15 & !8) who were planning our next visit on the motorway on our way home.
Thanks to all the team 2 & 4 legged ;-) x x

Room Tip: sun sets are wonderful form Saffi's garden
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 965JaneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonquil B, Owner at South Coombe Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you to Jane and family for their positive feedback on their second holiday with us at South Coombe. It was great to have them staying with us again and we are very pleased that their experience second time around was equally good.

We will do our best to ensure that a third visit would be equally as good!!

With all good wishes from everyone at South Coombe.

P.S. We agree with Jane's comments about the sunsets viewed from Saffi's cottage - they are stunning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having just returned from a lovely stay at Jonquil, one of the cottages at South Coombe.
The cottage is a lovely little cottage perfect for 2 adults and 1 child.
The swimming pool is an added bonus.
Being able to order fresh bread in the morning is a lovely touch.
The surrounding view are beautiful.
My daughter is in an Electric Wheelchair and all the outside play area, fields and swimming pool are accessible.
Some of the Cottages are accessible and have downstairs bedroom and bathroom, but as she is only six we can still carry where necessary.
The owners are lovely and very helpful.
It is just a very lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonquil B, Owner at South Coombe Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

We are grateful to Louise for taking the trouble to post a review on Tripadvisor of her families stay at South Coombe. It was a pleasure to have them as guests and we are very pleased that they had such a good time.

We hope to be able to welcome you all back soon.

Best wishes from Jonquil and everyone at South Coombe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We returned last weekend from what I can honestly say was one of the best holidays I have ever had, in fact the selfish part of me didn’t really want to share just how good it was for fear of not being able to book next year but alas I must share with you just how good this place is.

The drive towards the cottages certainly sets the tone for an “off the beaten track” experience and as we wound round the narrow grass lined lanes it felt like we were the only people for miles we arrived at the cottages and were met by Chris who was in the middle of mowing the lawns (you cannot fault the work that the owners all put in to keeping the place immaculate) . After a warm welcome Chris showed us around the cottage we had booked Saffis cottage as there were the 6 of us 5 adults and a 21 month old. The cottage was spotless, airy and comfortable with a well cared for garden which not only offered stunning views of the rolling hills but was also secure meaning our little explorer could potter about safely he loved the freedom and had a ritual of going out in his pjs straight after breakfast every morning to say hello to the Baas and the Moos .

The Kitchen had every kind of utensil and pot and pan you could need and there was even a filter coffee machine and dishwasher both were a nice touch.

If you are staying here you MUST try the fresh baked bread and pastries that you can order to be delivered to your cottage each morning. Chris had warned us that most people have it once and then order every day I can easily see why everything we had was superb and the eggs had the brightest richest yolks I’d eaten in years. I must also add that the warm scones with clotted cream and jam on arrival were fantastic.

The complex that houses the Pool, Games Room, Sauna and Gym was also spotlessly clean and never too busy in fact 90% of the time it was just us in there we swam every day the little one loved it. The grounds as I said were well cared for and you could easily spend a day just lazing in the orchard or playing in the field.

We also found the location perfect for going out and seeing more of Devon we visited Ilfracombe, Woolacombe, Exeter, Lytnton and Lynmouth and Tiverton.
The term hidden gem is one that is often over used however when applied to South Coombe Country Cottages it is the perfect description.

On the subject of hidden gems about 5 minutes drive away is the Witheridge Farm shop where you will find the most amazing pies and sausage rolls all made fresh on the premises from their own produce where possible after we found it we went every day the place was amazing.

If you’ve landed here because you are thinking of booking my advice is hit the back button and book now you will not be disappointed .

So it just leaves me to say a huge thank you to Chris, Jonquil, Bill and Marcia for making us feel so welcome and we all look forward to seeing you again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAngryBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonquil B, Owner at South Coombe Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

First of all can we apologise for taking so long to acknowledge the wonderful review of South Coombe which you have very kindly posted on Trip Advisor. We all read it very carefully and we are thrilled to receive such a glowing report of South Coombe and of our efforts to make all our guests feel at home here.

We feel lucky to call South Coombe our home and we hope you will all be able to come back and visit us sometime soon.

With very best wishes from Jonquil, Chris, Marcia and Bill.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night break at South Coombe Country Cottages and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in Tilly's cottage and there was more than enough room for the 4 adults and the 1 year old that stayed.

The cottage itself has absolutely everything that you could need with all the essentials for cooking, doing laundry etc. It even had WiFi which was unexpected but a great bonus as it meant we could further research the surrounding Devonshire area online and plan the next days excursions! Our cottage had a lovely patio area ideal for BBQ's and taking in the views. This cottage joins onto another called 'Drake's' I believe so can accommodatade up to 10 people! Although all the cottage were unique in their own way.

The complex has acres (14 to be precise) of space for enjoying the country. There is plenty of space for ball games and a play area for smaller children with swings etc. The pool and sauna are great - either to start or end your day or even both. I recommended to Jonquil (one of the owner's - lovely lady) that they should perhaps put a couple of loungers around the pool, as it is a really nice place to relax and read - giving you that really holiday/spa feel.

All in all, we would definitely recommend this accommodation and will almost certainly return at some point in the future.

Thanks for a lovely stay Jonquil.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meats1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonquil B, Owner at South Coombe Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

A very big thank you to Michael and his family and friends for staying with us and for their kind words about South Coombe.

We are very proud of our swimming pool, sauna and associated facilities and will certainly take on board their suggestion regarding sun loungers to be placed alongside the pool.

We wish them all the best with their young (and soon to be here) families and hope to welcome them back soon.

Best wishes from all of us at South Coombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just spent a fabulous long weekend at South Coombe cottages for my dad's 70th birthday. Fifteen of us took over three cottages and (very luckily) had the place to ourselves. The cottages are all modern, clean, warm, spacious and well equipped. No shortage of crockery, cutlery or cooking equipment (if you self cater), lovely comfortable beds, plenty of towels and a logburner in each cottage for cooler evenings. The grounds were stunning with amazing views, a huge field for family games of cricket and rounders, a lovely orchard with hens, ducks and climbing equipment for the younger children. The indoor pool and games room was excellent. Modern, a good size, well equipped and well thought out. The pool easily accommodated all 15 of us splashing about and the games room kept the children entertained when the weather turned wet. I can't recommend South Coombe enough if you are holidaying with extended family or children. Tilly's has a fabulous downstairs bedroom and bathroom ideal for disabled with wide doors and plenty of space to move around. The pool house also had a dedicated disabled WC. The owners really have thought of everything. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Great downstairs room and bathroom suitable for disabled in Tilly's. Cosy bunkbeds in bedroom 2 in Drakes. Lots of downstairs space for families in Drake's and Tilly's. Stunning outlook over fields from Saffi's.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonquil B, Owner at South Coombe Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

We would like to thank the Nealey family for coming to stay with us at South Coombe and for taking the time to write about their experiences. We are very grateful for their positive comments and would like to add that we very much enjoyed having them to stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome them back to South Coombe at some time in the future and we send them all our very best wishes.

From all at South Coombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews