We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Berghof Hotel

Berghof Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berghof Hotel
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Koblenz
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a stopover en route across Germany. The hotel is a local gasthof with no pretensions. The rooms are clean and quite comfortable, the wifi works well, the owner is very pleasant and the breakfast is adequate. You can park behind the building. We ate at the hotel as well and had huge portions of good pork and chicken schnitzel (though apart from schnitzel the menu offered mainly pizza and pasta.) Both the rooms and the meals are very well priced, ideal for people travelling on a budget, which is why I gave it a very good rating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent 4 days at the Berghof, visiting the Rhine and Mosel Valleys. The host, Christian, was very welcoming and great in helping us acclimatise to the area. The room was a good size, and the wifi was fast and uninterrupted. The walk into the centre of the city is approximately 30 minutes and is all downhill. We chose to take a taxi back as the hill is steep. The only negative is that the room was a bit dated, especially the bathroom. However it is at a level consistent with the price you pay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metroboy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Only stayed here for one night on our cycle touring trip, and didn't eat in the restaurant as we wanted to see the town. Room was ok, but a bit basic, and very hot with limited options for ventilation or cooling down. Staff were nice though, and hotel was just about walkable to the fortress.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lateralus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our host Christian was such a lovely man, so helpful and kind, making us feel so welcome and well cared for. By far, the kindest and most wonderful person we met on our 3 weeks tour of Germany. We stayed for 4 days and enjoyed our stay tremendously! The food was great and very reasonable, and he even went out of his way to cook a special dish for my husband. Would definitely recommend this hotel especially for the price, it is clean and well maintained. Very convenient, with the bus stop just 40 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lotuscharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We came from Rotterdam by car to Koblenz and fortunately had satnav to guide us. Without that it may have been hard to go directly to the hotel. But it was worth the effort as the hotel is a gem for the price. The rooms are basic but are clean and well maintained. Access to the rooms is via a stairway that some might find steep so being fit helps. Downstairs is the bar and dining room. Locals use the bar for a few evening drinks and it was smokey when we were there, unusual in Europe nowadays. The food was excellent and filling, so several courses would need a huge appetite but the little ladies at the next table seemed to manage by taking their time and chatting throughout. Although out of the city centre it is a pleasant twenty minute walk through some pretty streets to the city. If you keep to the east bank of the river then there is a ferry that crosses every 15 minutes for 2 euros. From that the views of the river traffic and the city waterfront can be appreciated. The ferry drops you off near the cable car up to the fortress, worth a visit. To return to the hotel catch a 27 bus and show the driver your hotel card and she will tell when to get off (20 minutes because of the route) don't walk. Great staff and value.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Hamish1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a gem this hotel is, we were greeted upon arrival by Christian who made us feel very welcome. After a short visit into Koblenz, returned for evening meal prepared and cooked by Christian and what a wonderful meal we had, the rump steak was possibly the best steak i have had.
Unfortunatly we had to move on next day but assured Christian we would return and have already booked to stay for 4 nights next year.
Can't wait to see more of Koblenz, roll on next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tiler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

great hotel, which is just like staying in your own little house as all doors to the rooms are from the outside, so you're free to come and go as you please without disturbing others. great host, came in on his day off to greet us, and gave us a map of Koblenz. It's a nice walk down the road to the river Rheine...although the road in which the hotel is on is very steep, so walking home was NOT my idea of fun!!! Koblenz is a lovely city, i first went as a child, so had to put it into the tour! Breakfast was typically continental, although my partner was very happy as this was the only hotel we stayed at that did smoked salmon for breakfast! think he ate most of it!!! will definiately stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blondielaura86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koblenz hotels
0.7 mi away
Diehls Hotel
Diehls Hotel
#10 of 32 in Koblenz
335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Koblenz City
Ibis Koblenz City
#5 of 32 in Koblenz
569 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Stein
Hotel Stein
#16 of 32 in Koblenz
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mosel Hotel Haehn
Mosel Hotel Haehn
#2 of 32 in Koblenz
513 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Partner Top Hotel Kraemer
1 mi away
Hotel Hohenstaufen
Hotel Hohenstaufen
#19 of 32 in Koblenz
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghof Hotel

Address: Lehrhohl 38, 56077 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Koblenz
Price Range: $82 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Berghof Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Berghof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing