We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it!”
Review of Hotel Hamm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hamm
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Koblenz
Mesa, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“love it!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

WHENEVER I visit Germany I always visit one of my favorite cities, Koblenz. Then I always stay at Hotly Hammer & always feel as if I am home. I LOVE this hotel! The proprietors are warm and friendly (and somehow always remember me). We then spend a good amount of time catching up. I highly reccomend Koblenz and the Hotel Hammer! DANKE

Room Tip: Just express what you desire. They will do their best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    55
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
49
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The great advantage of this hotel is its proximity to the railway station which is easily walkable with luggage in 6 or 7 minutes. Nevertheless there is no noticeable railway noise in the rooms. The downside to this is that it is quite a way from the main attractions and restaurants of the city and the Rhine cruise terminal. For us this was not a problem and the benefits of being close to the station far outweighed this disadvantage.

While a little old-fashioned, the room was nice and good sized and provided all that was required for a few nights stay apart from free wi-fi. It was spotlessly clean. The curtains were good, but unlike some other reviewers we may have been unlucky in our room as we were disturbed by noise from the nearby bakery early in the morning. We think they were banging out the loaves from the tins or something similar. Nevertheless we managed some reasonable nights sleep, and this would not put us off from returning if we were in the area again.

The included breakfast was good with a reasonable variety of items in the usual cold buffet. There were also hot sausages and scrambled and boiled eggs. The staff were pleasant.

The hotel is good value for money and I would not hesitate in recommending it to others with similar requirements to ourselves.

Room Tip: It would probably be worth asking for a room at the front, as the road is quiet and the noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This is a great hotel !!! The owner is very nice, even he seems cool when you first meet him :P His suggestion for dinner is a great place. The breakfast is very good. Very near to the Hbf, but very quite.

I want to say "Thanks to Hotel Hamm."

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siusiubing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The room is very clean. Plenty of space to put your bags even in the limited space. The toilet and shower are very functional. Double windowed, double paned glass and a fresh air fan for absolute quiet in the room and solid curtains to make the room dark. Service was a bit strange but turned out good. We arrived early and only waited 15 minutes or so for a room. When we said we were leaving early for breakfast, they immediately took off 10 euros on the bill. The strange thing was breakfast was ready at the time we left in the morning. Rules are rules I guess. All in all an extremely reliable bet for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelerfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Hamm en route from UK to Austrian Alps. We had booked a quadruple room well in advance for 2 adults and 2 kids, however on arrival the room was not available (double booked). To be honest, this was not a problem for us at all as our kids are better if in separate rooms anyway - plus the owner offered us a bottle of Champagne (we chose cool beers instead) - plus we had 2 double rooms for same price - plus we were excused from paying fee for the underground car park. But if you've booked and it matters to you to have a quad room, then do lots of confiming.
So we had 2 rooms - one of which had been refurbed and was a good standard. The other had not, so was a sort of 1970's decor (and very small).
We didn't arrive until 7pm ish - so with our young kids the priority was to get food - not much around - but we went to a Piizza/Pasta Takeawy (with a few tables inside) just over the way from the hotel. This was axceelent - good service, cheap & friendly. We didn't get the chance to look 'round Koblenz -- but it would have been a good walk to get into the main/old town from where we were (near the Rail Station).
The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoRob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

This was an pretty good place to stop. Its certanly not luxurious but it fills all the criteria needed for a preety good get away. The rooms do appear a bit dated but this is no reflection on the cleanliness of them which could not be questioned. The breakfast is excellent and fills you up for the day ahead. Some people have commented on distance fron centre which is true but its bnot really that bad unless you so have mobility problems (and there are plenty of bus stops near by). It isn very clsoe to the train staition and a bus station that can get you to other villages on the Rhine. The English spoken by the owners is very good (which always embarasses me a bit!) adn as always the question is "would I saty here again?" and the answer is yes - definitely.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

The hotel is within walking distance of the main railway station which is handy but quite a trek from town, particularly the nicer older parts. You can't check-in until 2.30pm which is a drag and there is NO free Wi-Fi (it costs an arm and a leg via private provider). There's barely enough WiFi signal in my room to write this feedback!

The rooms are spacious, however, and generally comfortable given the price range of this hotel. There is only one English speaking TV channel (BBC news) and the picture is fuzzy :(

Be warned - checked into a room with my partner and was given two single beds...be sure to ask for a double. Reading the other reviews of this hotel on TripAdvisor I am a bit surprised at its rank. Perhaps the receptionist has been busy?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk_hotel_expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koblenz hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
#3 of 32 in Koblenz
855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Koblenz City
Ibis Koblenz City
#5 of 32 in Koblenz
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Koblenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Partner Top Hotel Kraemer
2.2 mi away
Mosel Hotel Haehn
Mosel Hotel Haehn
#2 of 32 in Koblenz
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brenner Hotel
Brenner Hotel
#4 of 32 in Koblenz
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hamm

Property: Hotel Hamm
Address: St.-Josef-Str. 32-34, 56068 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Koblenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hamm 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamm Hotel Koblenz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing