We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Haus Morjan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Haus Morjan
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Koblenz
Durbanville, Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

Location: Just fab, 100m from the Rhine, any closer and you'd be in the river. Rooms were faultless, modern and had a large balcony facing the Rhine. The fridge was stocked and the drinks nice and cold.
Armand was very helpful in his emails prior to us booking. Unfortunately the hotel closes at 7pm so we had to find supper elsewhere and luckily there are a few great restaurants right next door.
Irrespective your age or group size, you just can't go wrong with Haus Morjan. Well done Armand, we would've loved to stay longer but had a boat to catch.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    46
    27
    15
    10
See reviews for
30
48
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

Cool Koblenz? 2 reasons...Firstly -the weather! It was cold and a lot of the time, wet and windy. Secondly - we really enjoyed the bars and restaurants in the city. Everywhere we went, we were met with friendly people, good service and were served food which was y cooked well and was great value for money. We also loved the local beer and wine! All in all, we found Koblenz to be a really nice place in which to base your Rhine/Mosel experience.
The hotel Haus Morjan's main selling point is its location. Right on the banks of the Rhine, it had great views of the fortress Ehrenbreitstein - if you pay the extra for a river facing view. I would say that paying extra over the normal room rate is well worth it. The hotel is well run and kept very clean. Our room was a decent size, with reasonably comfortable beds and sat TV (only CNN for English speaking channels). Bathrooms were compact but had a good shower and were spotlessly clean. A good buffet breakfast is served between 7:00 and 10:00. Hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the Deutsches Eck and about 10 minutes into the old town.
Went day trips to Remagen and Rudeshiem and enjoyed both. All in all, we had a really good trip and would not hesitate to return to either the hotel Haus Morjan or Koblenz.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Kerry Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

I booked this hotel a couple of months prior to our planned stay over Halloween 2008. To confirm we got a family room with my husband and 2 daughters, I made the booking over the phone. I confirmed the booking a week before our departure when I spoke to a man who assured me the reservation was "in the book". You can imagine my horror, therefore, when we arrived on the Sunday afternoon to be left standing and ignored for over half an hour then told (through sign language) that there was no record of our booking. The (very unffriendly) woman on receptiopn showed me the reservations book and I could see all entries were written in pencil and I suspect a party of 25 who arrieved the previous day were accommodated at our cost. She demonsterated that the hotel closed for the season on the 29th of October. I produced my internet printout showing availibility on the dates of my booking (up to and including the 29th) but she pretended she didn't understand me. I see from other postings on trip advisor that this has happened to other passengers as well - so beware! She did ring around and find us alternative accommodation and book a taxi to take us there and looked rather guilty as we pulled away. Still, no apology or even a hint of a smile!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dromin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koblenz hotels

Jarrettsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

We did the Mosel river cruise and booked the hotel before we left that morning. We told the individual who took the booking that we were doing the cruise and were to be back by 8 pm. Now this cruise leaves from a location right in front of the hotel and you would think they were aware that the cruise was typically late coming in. We were. We arrived back at 8:30 pm, ran across the street to get into the hotel only to discover that the reception area that advertises that they are 24 hours, was closed. We ran a bell and a very nasty, and non English speaking woman answered. She finally let us in and made it quite clear that we were not to bother her again and that by the way, there was not parking left in their lot. Our car was parked in around the corner a small distance away and had it not been for the help of a nice young man, we would have had a long walk to haul our luggage.

Would I go back again, probably. But the woman certainly left a bad taste in our mouths.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank CynMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

When we arrived at the hotel the receptionist was on the phone and she ignored us. After about five minutes she hung up the phone and still ignored us and started shuffling papers. Finally she acknowledged us and gave us the keys to the room.

There was a smell of damp mingled with the smell of cooking on the ground floor.
The room was clean and basic. The bathroom was clean with a great shower. The beds were uncomfortable with flat pillows. The room had no air conditioning and if you left the window open you could not sleep as the trains across the river ran all night. The first night I never slept and I had to buy ear plugs the following day.

The restaurant closed very early, and you could not even get a cup of coffee after six o clock in the evening. There was no room service. The first evening I asked for a cup of coffee and was told by a member of staff that the machine was turned off.

The staff were very unfriendly and when they saw a guest approaching they scurried off in the opposite direction.

The location of the hotel was great as it was close to the old town and was overlooking the river. However, I would not stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Unfriendly staff, noise, lack of facilities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mallow06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

This is a very nice B & B with wonderful river views. Very pretty place -- with lots of flowers. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had 2 rooms, one for three facing the river and one for 2 with the back/city views. Both were roomy enough with nice clean facilities. We had dinner at their restaurant and enjoyed that too. Breakfast was much better than average. We enjoyed our stay very much! Only negative would be: no air conditioning; but as the weather was pleasant, it was not a problem.

  • Liked — Great location - Clean and pretty
  • Disliked — No Air Conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivesinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

The location of this hotel does not disappoint. It is right on the water and the K-D line "Goethe" ship is literally right at your doorstep. It is a lovely view from the hotel to the water and the castle towering above, and makes it easy to cruise the Rhine. Less than 1 min walk to the German Corner (Deustch Eck) as well. The hotel is also a 2-5 min walk to the old town area of Koblenz. While not as quaint a town as some others on the Rhine, Koblenz is certainly the largest, so it makes a nice base in terms of plenty of restaurants, very interesting people watching, etc.

In addition, the hotel was clean, the staff was extremely nice, and the breakfast bar was a very complete meal (cold meats, breads, granola, yogurt, juice, and my personal favorite - Nutella!).

We stayed for 2 nights. Our first night we stayed in just a standard room and our second night we asked to upgrade to one with a view of the river. This was only 10 euros extra and definitely worth it. You get a balcony with a view of the water and the castle, plus a nicer TV, etc. Would definitely recommend that you spring for the river view room - that is why you are staying on the Rhine in the first place, right?!

Our only complaint, and it is a small one, is that parking is very limited at the hotel. We were on this trip due to being part of Volvo's Euro Delivery program so we had our brand new car with us and picked this hotel partly because it advertised free private parking. The lot is private and fairly secure, but with only 8-10 spaces, it was full with other guests' cars the whole time we were there. No huge biggie - we just parked down the road in the public lot, but is something to be aware of. Also, make sure you bring your own shampoo and soap as none is provided.

  • Liked — Location on the water
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koblenz hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
#3 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brenner Hotel
Brenner Hotel
#4 of 32 in Koblenz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mosel Hotel Haehn
Mosel Hotel Haehn
#1 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Koblenz
0.7 mi away
Ibis Koblenz City
Ibis Koblenz City
#5 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.9 mi away
City Partner Top Hotel Kraemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haus Morjan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Morjan

Property: Hotel Haus Morjan
Address: Konrad-Adenauer-Ufer, 56068 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Koblenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haus Morjan 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Haus Morjan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Morjan Hotel
Haus Morjan Koblenz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing