The Grand Chamber of the Council Chamber has a rich history. Originally the former great Hall of the Jesuit College was twice as long (37 m) and the largest and most prestigious room in Koblenz, where also school theatre was held. Purchased by the city in 1891, conversion of the City Hall into a gymnasium in 1894. Since 1913 is the room also often used for receptions, symposia, lectures or concerts (also served as the theatre after World War II untill the actual City Theatre) was reopened in 1946. Both oil paintings on the East side depicting Trier electors Karl Kasper von der Leyen and Franz Georg von Schönborn are painted by court painter Heinrich Foelix. Ceiling frescos: in the first circle hardworking Fortuna with mortarboard (square academic cap) and medals. From 1580-1773 the stairs gave access to the “Aula magna”, and to the the classrooms of the Jesuit College students "Society of Jesus".