We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Combi-ticket is a steal - LOADS to see!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ehrenbreitstein Fortress

Ehrenbreitstein Fortress
Book In Advance
More Info
$239.18*
and up
Koblenz Day Trip from Frankfurt: Ehrenbreitstein Fortress, Rhine Valley Cable...
Ranked #3 of 98 things to do in Koblenz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Combi-ticket is a steal - LOADS to see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I visited Koblenz twice in 2001, the first time staying at the youth hostel in Festung Ehrenbreitstein. At the time, there was no such thing as a cable car, so I had to walk up the 118 metre high cliff. Not so in 2012! You can take a cable car from close to Deutsches Eck to take you all the way up to the top!

We got the combi-ticket for the cable car and the fortress (it's €11-something each instead of €14 to buy the two attractions separately). Since I last visited, it seems as if the fortress has been turned into a proper tourist attraction. We didn't really know what to expect, but found the entrance ticket really good value.There is so much to see! Okay, so it's all in German, but aside from that ...

There is lots of fortress history, an archaeological museum, art exhibitions, roof gardens, photo exhibitions, a war hero memorial, viewing platforms (the view from up there is amazing), a "wine country" exhibit (Koblenz is in the heart of the German wine district), how to make sausages, prison cells, war criminals, a 1950s home, an exhibition about burial traditions (okay, that was morbid), and another exhibit about Lenné, a garden designer. Please note that some of the exhibits I mentioned are most likely temporary.

For those wanting something to eat or drink, there's a coffee shop. We didn't try it, as we planned on having lunch in the city. Despite the rain, it was a great day out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank doctortrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    316
    103
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A cable car trip away from the Altstadt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We took the cable car a short stroll along the Rhine from the Deutsches Eck, across the river Rhine to the Ehrenbreitstein fortress. The cable car trip alone was very good with a wonderful view over Koblenz. The Fortress was being used for a type of gardening show on the day we went, so we didn't go into the fortress but walked around the grounds to the viewpoint over Koblenz. A good trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterKdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
254 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This museum although entirely in German is nevertheless worth a visit. You can work a lot out without knowing the language. There is a beer garden and kiosk at the top of the museum and the view from here over the Mosel and Rhine rivers is absolutely stunning. For a relatively small cost you can include the cost of entrance to the cable car ride across the Rhine. The museum is a short distance away from the exit to the ride.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingrid4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great view of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

While the fortress is only an OK attraction, the whole experience was fun. The ride across the river was amazing, the views from the observation platform and the fortress were great. The small museums in the fortress were nice. However, for the size of the place, I expected more history and background. I went early in the season during the week. I got the feeling the place was more active for events during weekends and high tourist season. Overall I would definitely recommend the package (gondola ride & fortress), but there are other historical sites with more interpretation if history is your thing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ok overall with amazing views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Spent a few hours walking around and absolutely loved the view over Koblenz and the Rhein. The coffee shop on the terrace was a bit average despite the views. Overall I felt we must have missed something - left without really understanding the fort and its history. There weren't many signs directing you around (and very little in English). We stumbled on a few exhibitions but they were hard to locate and our map/booklet wasn't much use. I suppose if you walked around exploring every corner you might have found more. The gondola ride up was quite pleasant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank philbert83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ehrenbreitstein Fortress also viewed

Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Ehrenbreitstein Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing