We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view!!”

Ehrenbreitstein Fortress
Book In Advance
More Info
$248.37*
and up
Koblenz Day Trip from Frankfurt: Ehrenbreitstein Fortress, Rhine Valley Cable...
Ranked #3 of 102 things to do in Koblenz
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a view!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great ride to get all the way there. Beautiful buildings, and nice place to enjoy a wheat beer! A must-see if you go to Koblenz.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julyschronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    341
    106
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Level Contributor
244 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Very large impossing fortress overlooking the Rhine Mosel junction, very cold when we were there, interesting exhibits although no English translations

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
156 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Festungspark For An Interesting Open Space”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My 4 year old and I took the cable car from Duetsch Ecks in Koblenz to Fortress Park on the other side of the Rhine. Cable car was a treat at €7 for both of us return (one student and child free). The park is interesting in a modernist way. Great open space with a grid of pathways leading to various points. The avant garde viewing platform was worth the trip up to the hill alone. Great wooden design leads to a lookout over the city of Koblenz, Deutsch Ecks where the rivers Rhine and Mosel meet.
Second best in the area is the children's playground. Again, avant garde design, shows how playgrounds can be interesting for young and old alike. Very clever design and enjoyed by both of us.
Well worth an hour or so visit whilst in Koblenz. We didn't bother with seeing the fortress this visit. Would have required extra time and entry fee. Festungspark is free, or included in the cable car ticket.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank starmagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brokind
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good view but not much more”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The cable ride up and the view when you get up are great. The castle itself is in my opinion somewhat boring. That would probably have been different if I had read up on the history of the place beforehand.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Really cool, a lot of history”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I am big history buff, and even I learned a lot at this little known fortress. Don't miss the Prussian soldier's show or the light show in the caverns of the fort. Also, bring your camera--you have great views of the Deutches Eckes and Koblenz. The cable ride to the fort from Koblenz is amazing and half the fun!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anon789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ehrenbreitstein Fortress also viewed

Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Ehrenbreitstein Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing