We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Koblenz
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Location, Nice Stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced hotel near the Altstadt for a last minute trip to Koblenz and the Mercure worked very well. It is about a 5-10 minute walk to the Altstadt and the Deutsche Eck, and is located next door to the Weindorf, a nice restaurant with a great outdoor biergarten. The breakfast was included in the cost of our stay and was nice. It was very crowded each morning (Sat/Sun morning), but no problems finding a seat and getting a bite to eat. The staff was very friendly and helpful and obliged me as I stumbled through speaking German, and spoke English with me when necessary. You can park on site, in a garage under the hotel, for 10 Euro per day. Overall, for the value and the amount of time we actually spent in the hotel (not much), it worked out well for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UGADawg2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    421
    173
    44
    16
See reviews for
185
337
48
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The first time I stayed at the Mercure in Koblenz, I had transferred from an old hotel near the rail line. So I was relatively happy. This time I arrived in Koblenz from Vienna having stayed at the Mercure Secession Wien, and now judge by a different standard. The Wien Mercure was by far a much nicer hotel, and at a lower cost. Goes to show the value of competition I guess. This time in Koblenz I was on the second floor. The carpet was dirty. There wasn't a coffee/hot water machine in the room. I thought it must have been removed for repairs. But when I asked the front desk told me that the "premium" rooms on the upper floors have them. I asked if I could get an iron and ironing board. No, there is an "iron" room next to the gym. I went there because there was no choice if you want to avoid the very expensive laundry service, but had to carry all my shirts down to the basement and stand there in this little room with one iron and board. Heaven forbid more than one guest needs to iron some clothes. Overall, a much less pleasant experience than I had at the Mecure in Vienna. Next time in Koblenz I will try something different. I must say, however, that the location next to the Rhine is great for access to some long and wonderful running trails along the river.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The easy 5/10 min walk along the Rhine to the Deutsches Eck and the Aldstadt is why we chose this hotel for a weekend in Koblenz. Otherwise, it is what you would expect of a Mercure - good value (for the location), decent sized room and good bathroom with shower. Minor point is the room /corridors looked slightly tired in places.

Breakfast buffet was good (and served to midday!).

Charge for in-room wifi of €9 a day is a bit cheeky but it was a least quick and reliable.

Solid choice for a stay in Koblenz.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie_UK62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-le-Clay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We found the staff were very helpful. The hotel was in a great location for a drive down the Rhein River and has a very nice walking path down the Rhein River about a 2 minute walk from hotel. We were very satisfied with this hotel and the service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SGBcyqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excellent location for a short riverside walk to the German corner, excellent food but a little expensive. Excellent parking garage. Friendly professional and knowledgeable staff. Definitely would recommend for Koblenz

Room Tip: No pool or children's activities.......Easter chocolates on arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinpeach51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband, elderly father and I stayed in the Mercure for 1 night in May 2013. The hotel was easy to find (just next to the Pfaffendorf Bridge) with its own underground car park (entrance off Julius Wegerler Strasse - go up the ramp to the right of the Rhein-Mosel Congress Centre).

The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and we had a good sized room with a view of the Rhine river and towards the Altstadt (i.e. looking north) and the Ehrenbreitstein fortress on the opposite bank of the Rhine.

Our triple room was very large, with a good quality sofabed and a king size bed. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The room was clean and tidy and nicely decorated. However, being on a higher floor we could only open the windows a crack. You had to ask Reception to provide a key if you wanted the windows opened wider. We just put on the air conditioning for a while, though the room wasn't stifling.

The bathroom was a good size, though there was an over-bath shower rather than a walk in shower. There were plenty of towels and there was a hair dryer in the room, though the bedroom did have power sockets for my own hairdryer and there was a long mirror in a fairly convenient location though I had to stretch my hair dryer cable to be able to see in the mirror while I dried my hair.

We didn't go out to dinner (we had a big lunch in Rudesheim earlier in the day). However, the breakfast the next morning was very good, with a wide selection on the breakfast buffet - cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, rolls, meats, cheeses, cooked breakfast, coffee and tea (Earl Grey available as well!).

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the Altstadt, so we decided the next morning to check out and we parked easily in the Josef Gorres Platz underground car park in the heart of the Altstadt.

All in all I would highliy recommend the Mercure in Koblenz - it is conveniently located a short distance from the Altstadt, but away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors overlooking the Rhine and the Altstadt (i.e. north facing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucesterKdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratingen
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

From the outside the hotel does not really make a good impression, however inside a lot has been done, so quite nice and fresh style ... unfortunately the makeover was not done completly so elevators and some areas still have the 80's touch.
In the room I felt comfortable, I slept well in the bed, the mattrasse was firm but not too hard. Also the bathroom has a nice touch. Unfortunately my room was a little "smelly", it was coming out of the bathroom ... so some thorough cleaning might do good.
At around 130 EUR plus breakfast I found it a little bit overpriced. Guess there is a lack of competition ...
Staff was a little bit chaotic so you need to tell them what they shall do ...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank atomde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koblenz hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Koblenz City
Ibis Koblenz City
#5 of 32 in Koblenz
532 reviews
0.5 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Koblenz
2.8 mi away
Mosel Hotel Haehn
Mosel Hotel Haehn
#2 of 32 in Koblenz
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
City Partner Top Hotel Kraemer
0.3 mi away
Brenner Hotel
Brenner Hotel
#4 of 32 in Koblenz
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diehls Hotel
Diehls Hotel
#9 of 32 in Koblenz
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Koblenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Koblenz

Property: Mercure Hotel Koblenz
Address: Julius-Wegeler-Str. 6, 56068 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Koblenz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Koblenz
#7 Business Hotel in Koblenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Koblenz 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Mercure Hotel Koblenz is located right on the Rhine river in the city centre of Koblenz, only 750 m from the old town centre. It offers one suite and 167 airconditioned rooms, most of them with WLAN, one restaurant, the Konigsbacher Lounge bar and a recreation area. Facilities in the public area include free Internet access. The shopping area, the so called Deutsches Eck (German Corner) where the Rhine and Mosel rivers meet and Ehrenbreitstein fortress are 1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Hotel Koblenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Koblenz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing