We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay a few nights, great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jan Van Werth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jan Van Werth
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Koblenz
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay a few nights, great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a great little place. The staff are very friendly, and speak a good deal of English. Breakfast is basic, but filling. I stayed in a single room on the third floor - toilet across the hall, shower on the first floor. I thought this might be weird, but it's really not, just like being in a dorm, but all the other guests were really polite too. I felt very safe here. The room is very small, but very adequate with bed, sink, closet, and nightstand. You can hear your neighbors pretty clearly, but again, the guests who were staying here at the same time as me were cool, and there were no issues at night. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyoftheArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
25
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a very basic but convenient hotel. It's within walking distance to the main attractions in Koblenz. Parking is free overnight. However, if you are not driving during the day, you'll need to park your car in Hotel Ibis in the next street.
Breakfast is better than expected. For such a basic needs hotel, buffet breakfast is considered good.
I would recommend this place for a the most basic stay. Bathroom in the room is really small.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PassionBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Jan Van Werth for 2 nights when we're travelling around the Rhine. We enjoyed our stay and it exceeded our expectation. It's definitely good value for money.
We chose a room with private shower and toilet and we're given Room #8 at basement level. The room and the private bathroom is big, and there's also a small garden attached. It is very new, clean and nicely decorated. We had a good rest watching TV on our beds.
The only drawback is that the internet connection in the basement level is very poor. The connection is fine in the garden but you won't go out when it's raining or when it's cold (like what I encountered). I ended up getting out of my room and sitting in the hotel entrance to get my mobile phone connected to the wifi.
The buffet breakfast was good with many different choices (as a German breakfast). Many choices of hams and tea, and I particularly like the boiled eggs there.
The location is very good too as it's <10 minutes walk from Koblenz Hbf (if you walk really fast it may take only 5 minutes). But at first you may have difficulty finding it becoz the Von Werth Strasse is a small street and there's only clear sign on one end but not the other end.
Overall speaking, Hotel Jan Van Werth is very good value for money and I highly recommend it if you're staying in Koblenz.

Room Tip: Room #8 at basement level is very new and big, with attached BIG private shower and toilet and a gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank germainecsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Jan Van Werth, and they were some of our best nights in Germany. We got in to Koblenz earlier than we'd planned, but they were more than willing to let us leave our backpacks while we took a stroll around town, a small gesture, but still kind.

When we got our room, I was a little dubious. Top floor, up a narrow, creaky staircase. No bathroom in our room, and the shower was on the floor below. The room was pretty small, but well organized and pretty comfortable. It was warm, up on the top floor, but there were 2 nice big windows that let a lot of fresh air in, and the water from the sink in the room was cold and refreshing.

The floors are a little creaky, the hallways a little narrow, the doors close a little loudly, but it's a charming little place, so it's easy to overlook all that.

The breakfast is quite nice. Breads, cheeses, meats, fruit, tea, coffee. A great deal of variety, and plenty of everything.

The staff is super helpful. I'm regrettably forgetting the name of the young lady who helped us, but she was amazing. We'd flubbed a car rental and found ourselves needing a day-of automatic car. She called all over town and got us a pretty solid deal on a very nice car. We would've been hosed without her. She was always very helpful in answering any questions we had, and it felt like she was personally invested in making sure that our stay at the hotel was pleasant.

Everything was just downright pleasant. As a bonus, there were somewhat quizzical cat pictures all over our floor. Yay katzen!

Room Tip: Not every room has an in-suite bathroom/shower, so make sure you know what you're getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I wish I could have stayed here. The building was comfortable and inviting. The breakfast was to die for. My friend said he needed to lie down for 20 minutes after he ate.

There was a mix-up on my reservation. It was put on their calendar for a month later than I was coming. They realized their mistake before I arrived, but were not able to put my friend and I in a room with a bathroom and shower. The young man at the desk (F) was so helpful. He came up with many solutions and called around to get us a place to stay.

I would like to come back one day so I can stay at this fine place.

Kris Thornwall
Minneapolis, Minnesota

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had good expectations after reading the review here, and I was not disappointed. Lovely hotel, I got in late my first night after 20h of travel and she waited until 11:30p to let me in. I could tell she wasn't that happy (who would be?) but I didn't have to sleep at the train station and she quickly showed me to the room and explained all. The best coffee I had in Germany, quiet and safe and obvious care goes into the place. I sometimes wonder why these little hotels don't have a small lounge area where travellers can talk and meet, it is only at an akward breakfast that people bump into each other. Somehow it makes it more akward. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferDoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
230 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Traveled to Koblenz as a single female and stayed in a single room at the Hotel Jan Van Werth.
It's very close to the train station and within easy walking distance of all local attractions. The room size was very good for a single, and the price good in comparison to other local hotels. The only downside was the bathroom was tiny (I don't think a tall person could have sat down and still closed the door - but it is a private bathroom so it wouldn't really matter) and could use a bit of updating but not a huge complaint. Breakfast was great!

Room Tip: The hotel is in town so there isn't a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koblenz hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Koblenz City
Ibis Koblenz City
#5 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mosel Hotel Haehn
Mosel Hotel Haehn
#1 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Koblenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brenner Hotel
Brenner Hotel
#4 of 32 in Koblenz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
Mercure Hotel Koblenz
#3 of 32 in Koblenz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Partner Top Hotel Kraemer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Van Werth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Van Werth

Property: Hotel Jan Van Werth
Address: Von-Werth-Str. 9, 56068 Koblenz, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Koblenz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Koblenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find our family-run hotel in a very quite location only 500 meter from the train Station. The City center is just a few minutes' walk away. The rooms are bright and friendly furnishd. Many rooms come with shower/WC/TV. Spoil yourself with our generous breakfast buffet. Tours on the Rhine, Moselle and Lahn are only a stone's throw away. Our cellar serves a storage for bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Jan Van Werth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing