We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized Attention- Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Design Hotel Zollamt
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kaiserslautern
Certificate of Excellence
Lis fresnos, tx
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Personalized Attention- Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I came for business but would love to come back for r&r. The staff is amazing, every morning I walked in for breakfast the owners and staff already knew how I liked my coffee and had it ready. The rooms are clean, very pretty and comfortable, surrounding an adorable courtyard. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room 24 has a cute little balcony where you can sit and enjoy the garden below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guatekarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
7
4
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I brought my wife with me on a business trip and stayed for two weeks at Hotel Zollamt. What a great decision! The owners and staff are some of the friendliest people we've ever met. They treated us like family and and took great care of my wife while I was working. Breakfast was perfect, the rooms are a great size and very comfortable, and the location is close to the train station and is easily walkable to the city. If we make it back to the area, we will stay here again. Danke schön!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hello,

I stated with Hotel Zollamt service appartment for 22 days in month of July 2013. I enjoyed y stay with zollamt. I was very happy with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Kaiserslautern.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalharC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neunkirchen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I only spent one short night at Hotel Zollamt but it was awesome! The couple that own and run the property were most welcoming and even showed my colleagues and I to our rooms in person. I had injured my leg earlier in the trip and asked for a bag of ice... instead I was brought their personal ice gel pack and told to call down when it was no longer cold for a replacement. My room was huge by German standards for similar properties (although some of my colleagues room's were a bit smaller.) It was also smartly decorated and spotless. I had a small fridge and a large, flat screen television. I had a king bed (a real king... not two beds slid next to each other) and a large balcony overlooking the gardens behind the property. The bathroom and shower stall were also easily 2/3 larger than you get in most German hotels.

Breakfast was delicious and offered a wide range of selections... I don't know if they bake their own croissants but they practically melted in your mouth. The breakfast hostess waited on us hand and foot, constantly replenishing our coffees, teas and juices.

I did not venture out but the hotel is located only about an 8-10 minute walk to Kaiserslautern Zentrum. There is also a pizza joint close by that is open late.

It was a great experience after a long, hard day and I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I was directly across from the lift on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleanbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Although Kaiserslautern is not the most exiting city in Germany, Hotel Zollamt is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. The couple that owns the hotel is very friendly and hospitable. The rooms are roomy and very quiet. But best of all are the beds! I can't remember sleeping that well in a very long long time. The mattresses are soft but firm at the same time. If I ever want to sleep that good again, I'm going to book another stay at Hotel Zollamt!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClogWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We picked this hotel because it was suppose to be close to the train station and we were very happy with our choice. It is an easy walk from the station but you will need to get directions either from the internet or from someone at the train station. Otherwise it is very close and easy once you know where to go. The two women at the front desk were very pleasant and helpful with directions to the town center and in reserving a taxi for the next morning to get to the Avis office. They made us feel welcome. Our rooms were very clean and very comfortable with a modern feel. There was a refrigerator in the room which is always appreciated. The walk to the town center took about 15 minutes and provided us with a good choice of restaurants. The breakfast area is good and the food on the buffet was excellent. We were very happy with this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Kaiserslautern.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jahrlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Modern recent hotel. Not part of a chain and run very professional. The service is personalized.
Very good breakfast with service. Rooms are modern and spacy. We stayed here 5 nights and were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Normally i find always some negative points in a hotel but in this case i did not find any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARTVDB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaiserslautern hotels
1.0 mi away
SAKS Urban Design Hotel
SAKS Urban Design Hotel
#8 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
211 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Heymann
Hotel Heymann
#1 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
154 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Barbarossahof
Hotel-Restaurant Barbarossahof
#2 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Art Hotel Lauterbach
Art Hotel Lauterbach
#6 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alcatraz Hotel am Japanischen Garten
Alcatraz Hotel am Japanischen Ga...
#9 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
70 reviews
8.1 mi away
TDYHOMES Hotel Schattner
TDYHOMES Hotel Schattner
#5 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Zollamt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Zollamt

Property: Design Hotel Zollamt
Address: Buchenlochstrasse 1, 67663 Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Kaiserslautern
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Kaiserslautern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Design Hotel Zollamt 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Design Hotel Zollamt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing