We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SAKS Urban Design Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kaiserslautern
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Saks is centrally located in downtown Kaiserslautern and conveniently has a parking garage located under the hotel. I've stayed at the hotel several times over 3 years and by far it is one of my favorite hotels to stay in, in all of Germany. The rooms are very modern with A/C, Flat Screen TVs, Soft Lighting, Apple Device Hook Up with the TV, Fitness room (with Cardio and Weights), and a Spa! The staff is great, the restaurant is good. Awesome place!

The Wifi is sometimes pretty spotty, plan ahead if you need to iron clothes they only have a few and they always seem to be in demand. The breakfast was good, although didn't really provide the best value. I often stopped at a Backerei on my way out of the hotel in the morning. The windows are relatively sound proof which is great, because one side of the hotel is streetside and the other has a platz where there are often people outside and loud till the early hours of morning.

I recommend this hotel to anyone that asks me where to stay!

Room Tip: If you want to shower make sure you ask for a room with a shower.... otherwise you may be surprised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SporkLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    72
    33
    11
    15
See reviews for
10
31
14
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was in Kaiserslautern for business and stayed 2 nights in the SAKS hotel. Located in the center it was really nice to have a public parking right underneath the hotel. Access to the hotel is possible from the parking. Check-in at the reception went flawless. My room on the 5th floor was just great: big flatscreen TV, nice bed, ambient lighting, nice working desk (and excellent wireless). The bathroom had a big bathtub and a very nice rainshower. Being a Nespresso addict I was pleasantly suprised to find a Nespresso machine in the room. A few minor remarks: waiting times at the (one) elevator are sometimes very long and also in the restaurant it can take quite some time to get your food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I love the location of this hotel as it was right on the edge of a large foosegangerplatz area. The courtyard seemed to have something going on every day. There was a road rally one day and vegetable markets a couple of days. It appears that the area is the center of a lot of activity. The hotel staff is fabulous and friendly. The decor is "modern" but modern in Germany obviously carries a different connotation than modern in the US. I would call it more of a retro (circa 1980's) look. They obviously take good care of the place. The rooms are very large -- especially by European norms. It took a bit to get used to the controls, but after that everything was excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room as high in the hotel as possible. You'll love the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prefbid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
371 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Business Trip to KTown, was greeted in a friendly manner upon arrival by the staff. Got my room early. Requested an ironing board by phone and it was there in 2 minutes. Price was good. Free water and coffee (espressos, cappuccinos, you name it) in 1st floor lounge. Comfy Bed, modern furniture, stylish hotel bar, free and strong wifi signal. All good things.

The modern nature of the room is a bit too modern at some points, but the hotel is new, so who cares.

Given that the hotel seems to really care about customers, doesn't nickel and dime them once they are there, I would stay here again anytime. Loved it and would come again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Overall, Saks Urban Design Hotel turned out to be a good choice for me. There are small annoyances to be aware of but many more plusses than minuses. First, the small annoyances - no towel rack, no wash rag (usual for a European hotel I've found), very few wall plug-ins, no hair dryer, no iron / ironing board (and, once again these last two items are usual in Europe). The elevator was a little challenging at times - turns out you have to hold your room card flat on the reader as you press the floor selection button. All other points in the hotel require a simple quick scan to get the "click". The last annoying thing is the access to the parking garage; if you're coming towards the hotel and need to turn right off of B37 you will have to go around the block and turn around to approach from the other end so you can turn left to enter the garage.
Plusses - well, the parking garage - very convenient, spacious parking spots, and a flat rate for your stay rather than pay as you go which can be very pricey around here. The internet (wi-fi) was excellent, no problems with signal strength or access at all. The staff was very helpful and made sure to ask at check-in whether or not I needed it. Other plusses include the bed - very comfortable; the shower - big, good water pressure and an abundance of warm water; the TV choices - more than 1 English-language channel! Finally, room service was excellent last night and this afternoon I had the chance to check out the guest lounge on the floor and found that free coffee and water is available 24 hours.
Final comments - the hallways are dark and the room decor is brownish so if you want something more colorful you need to go somewhere else. that said, the rooms are very well lighted and relatively spacious. The hotel is located in a central location within walking distance of the downtown attractions. This hotel is a good choice for a short stay in the Kaiserslautern area - I recommend it.

Room Tip: I asked for a centrally located room for better wi-fi access because I read a tip on that. Good tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paderborn, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Although the hotel is priced correctly to attract customers its design appears to overtake the finer sides of a flawless stay.
The modern, contemporary rooms are very confortable but we encountered two problems; first, the white bed sheet had a large stain on it. Surely, the 4* cleaning staff would have noticed this when preparing the room - it was there in plain view to greet us after a long drive. Second, the toilet has no air conditioning. Call me old fashoined but this is a must! As the bedroom could be controlled its a shame this feature was overlooked.
However, the location is excellent, smack, bang on the central square in town with the Alstadt just over the road and numerous decent restaurants and bars in the immediate viscinity.
A nice feature is the use of a lounge on the first floor where all guests can get a coffee/ tea of their choice, coissant, jam, bottles of mineral water, etc, free and at anytime of the day.
In all a good and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Perfect hotel for a trip to kaiserslautern. The hotel is Located in the city centre. Nice cafees and bars around. I'm totally fine with the hotel and service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaiserslautern hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Heymann
Hotel Heymann
#1 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel Lauterbach
Art Hotel Lauterbach
#8 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altstadthotel Kaiserslautern
Altstadthotel Kaiserslautern
#2 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Kaiserslautern
B&B Hotel Kaiserslautern
#3 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Barth
Hotel Barth
#9 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Design Hotel Zollamt
Design Hotel Zollamt
#7 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SAKS Urban Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SAKS Urban Design Hotel

Property: SAKS Urban Design Hotel
Address: Stiftsplatz 11, 67655 Kaiserslautern, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Kaiserslautern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kaiserslautern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SAKS Urban Design Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAKS Urban Design Hotels dedicate themselves to the life-style and spirit of urban culture, extending from design, through architecture to interior design. Urban Design is simultaneously a style and philosophy; it's a way of life: inspirational, relaxed and yet sophisticated in its details. Travellers can experience a pleasant, discreet atmosphere and find the ideal infrastructure for both business and private stays.92 double rooms and suites from 22 m2 to 58 m2, an extravagant lobby with a fireside lounge, concierge service, guest lounge, a rooftop spa and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your SAKS Urban Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing