We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmastime Cruise in Alsace & Germany on the Avalon Visionary”
Review of Rhine River

Rhine River
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.51*
and up
Cologne Rhine River Dinner Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Christmastime Cruise in Alsace & Germany on the Avalon Visionary”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just returned from the best vacation ever! The arrangements made by Avalon were flawless. The ship was incredible, the staff even better! The food on board was amazing. I could not find even one suggestion for improvement. The cruise director, Mr. Anthony Williamson, catered to our every need. This cruise is is tailored for everyone. You can explore port towns on your own or go on a guided tour. Five stars for everything. I am already saving up for my next Avalon Waterways cruise!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank SeasonedT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    169
    68
    25
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Avalon visionary”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We have recently enjoyed an eight day cruise down the Rhine River on the Avalon Visionary's "Romantic Rhine" - leaving from Amsterdam and finishing in Basel, Switzerland.
The entire trip could not be faulted. The ships staff were professional and made every effort to make our trip luxurious and very memorable. The vessel itself was truly 5 star, from our amazing stateroom, the facilities and dining and lounge areas.
It is without reservation that I would recommend this cruise company!

Helpful?
18 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Castles Along the Rhine - Uniworld!! Best ever!!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I just got off the S.S. Antoinette which is operated by Uniworld! OH MY GOODNESS!!! Best experience ever! Not only was the ship absolutely incredible, but the staff was also amazing! We sailed from Amsterdam to Basel. The itinerary is incredible as you get to see Cologne, Koblenz, Boppard, Strasbourg, Speyer/Germersheim, Keysersburg, Riquewehr, and Colmar along the way. I also did the optional excursions to Marksburg Castle and Heidelberg which were definitely worth the money! There was another optional excursion to the Black Forest from Strasbourg, but it was a little rainy out and since most of the tour is spent on the bus, I decided not to do it.

Julie, Marian, Anna, Borislav, Nadia, etc just to name a few of the amazing workers on the ship!! I would highly highly recommend this ship and this itinerary!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
25 Thank stpattysgirl1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“uniworld 's antoinette the queen of river ships”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed an 8day cruise on the Rhine from Basel to Amsterdam. The ship and the accommodations were first class , the staff was very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.I tell my friends that if you have a bucket list this has to go to the head of the line it was that good.The sites along the way were breathtaking as were the guides who explained the significant history of each historic town ,city and site. Just an excellent vacation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank maryetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Castles around Every Turn! MUST SEE!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We saw 18 castles on our very short Rhine river cruise from Baden-Baden to Boppart. Some are just ruins, some have been restored and are museums or hotels. Some stand on small islands in the middle of the Rhine. Some tower over the town and are a view back in time and remind you of fairytales with the castle above the village. All are unique and beautiful and set along hillsides also covered in vineyards. We were there in the fall and the foilage was beautiful. The little towns themselves are also quite picturesque. And you can sit back and enjoy while sipping wine and learning of the history over the riverboat's speakers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank FunKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rhine River also viewed

Bingen am Rhein, Rhineland-Palatinate
Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
 
Braubach, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bacharach, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Rhine River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing