We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of NH Oberhausen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Oberhausen
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oberhausen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Walking distance from Oberhausen main train station. Very friendly staff to deal with. A Quiet and on the budget stay if you are heading to NRW area. It took around 20 minutes to be in Dusseldorf and 40 minutes to Cologne.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGohary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 684 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from Friday December 7 till Sunday December 9, 2012.
The hotel is fine. Staff was polite and helpful with extra vouchers for the free internet.
We have a notebook and IPad each, and without any issue we got 4 vouchers per day. ( a voucher is good for 24 hours)
The internet is very slow, but it is for free and fast enough for e-mail, so i do not really see all the complaints i see on Tripadvisor about it.
The included breakfast buffet was fine, a good choice of hot dishes, eggs, bacon, sausages and German frikadelle, which is like a meatball. Fresh croissants and other bread, different cereals and some fresh fruit.
The rooms were quite spacious, with decent heating as it was very cold. Parking is available for free in the surrounding area.
What is nice is that you are at the Centro mall in 5 minutes by car, and until Christmas they have this great Christmas market there.
On Saturday, when the mall itself is open too, it is terribly crowded. It took us 5 minutes to drive to Centro, and then 20 minutes to get to the parking......
Sunday, parking was a breeze.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RvC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I most say that in general, the staff is fairly nice enough. Except, when it comes to internet/WiFi service issues. Then, the staff becomes a disgusting, outraging, and frustrating mess. Firstly, the free WiFi is beyond laughable. Next, don't even think about the internet purchase option. It's not much better than the free service. Sadly, Swisscom, (the company that provides the internet service) and the NH Oberhausen Hotel, kept blaming each other for the problems. I just feel that the Hotel, and Swisscom are shameless when it come to charging paying customers for the worst internet service I've EVER! had. If you are going there for business, and you rely on having internet, DO NOT GO TO THE NH Oberhausen.

Room Tip: All the rooms smell like smoke, and the beds are not comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

good location, nice hotel and clean
this was a pleasant stay arrival late night and the reception was well helpful and not wasting time to get me the key as well as helping me to find where to park.
I would re-command this hotel
One negative comment the wifi advertised as been free you need 1 ticket for every 30 minutes plus it takes 20 to load a page so make sure to take the lot from the counter

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick3317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The twon itself is quite small, but with good links to both the airport and to Essen, this is a cost effective place to be, especially when Essen is busy during conferences etc. My company have used the NH for the last few years and we have no complaints.

It's a short walk from the station, the staff are friendly, and there is a very cosy and comfortable bar in the lobby serving til late. would have no complaints if staying again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I recently stayed here on a business trip. Oberhausen is not really a destination you would want to spend time if you don't have to. This hotel does not make it a lot better. They stopped crediting Airline Miles (only support their own program).
The rooms are ok, not more. Wifi is not free (except for 30 minutes in the lobby - come on, what's up with that?)
The breakfast buffet is of average quality, but has all you need.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capecoraljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

parking for a fee in adjacent garage, but free around the corner on the main street. be careful when parking in front of hotel. saw police writing tickets here on sunday morning at 10 o'clock.
10min. walk to trainstation with mc donalds, bakery and little supermarket; all open on sundays too. for centro or koenig pilsner arena (next to each other), the main attractions in oberhausen and really worth the visit with tons of shops, restaurants, pubs etc. take the tram leaving from the hotel directly to "neue mitte". purchase tickets at the tram stop machine and if it's not working tell the driver and he'll let you go for free. the hotel has a bar and restaurant. twin bed and double bed rooms are not available on same floors which is e.g good to know when travelling with kids and booking two rooms. rooms rather small. beds have firm matrasses sauna on 6th floor. check out on sunday is 5pm. seen it's'price I would most probably stay here again, but Oberhausen is a sad city overall.

Room Tip: coose a room on the 6th floor when you like the sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griswolds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberhausen hotels
1.3 mi away
TRYP Centro Oberhausen
TRYP Centro Oberhausen
#1 of 13 in Oberhausen
779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Oberhausen Centro
3.1 mi away
Parkhotel Oberhausen
Parkhotel Oberhausen
#4 of 13 in Oberhausen
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residenz Oberhausen
Hotel Residenz Oberhausen
#5 of 13 in Oberhausen
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
AKZENT Hotel Oberhausen
AKZENT Hotel Oberhausen
#7 of 13 in Oberhausen
26 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Oberhausen am Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Oberhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Oberhausen

Address: Dueppelstr. 2 | Alt-Oberhausen Mitte, 46045 Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Oberhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oberhausen
Price Range: $75 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Oberhausen 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This four-star hotel sits at the heart of Oberhausen, whose recent green transformation has created a wealth of tranquil, riverside beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Oberhausen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberhausen Nh Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing