We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tryp Centro Oberhausen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oberhausen
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

You cannot expect too much when visiting such a hotel, since it is a three star one; however the general overview is rather positive.
The rooms are clean enough, the breakfast is more than adequate and the rooms are of average dimensions. What is the biggest advantage? You can reach the biggest mall in Europe (Centro) just in 2 minutes by walking!! From the central train station is around 3 km so prefer a taxi if you move by train to some other city.

Room Tip: try to avoid ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Tryp Centro Oberhausen Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your differentiated feedback on tripadivsor.
We are very pleased to hear that you where satisfied at your stay in our hotel.

J. Mittelsdorf, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    305
    117
    24
    19
See reviews for
108
271
36
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We've stayed here twice and loved it. The service is excellent and friendly, the room is just normal but fine, and it's a very close walk to Centro, and a close drive to Sea Life. But what we loved the most was the breakfast buffet. Amazing! We also had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was made fresh, and quite delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeeJaytwothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Tryp Centro Oberhausen Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for your very positive feedback.

J. Mittelsdorf, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nice and comfortable hotel with reasonable rates. Very close to centre of Oberhausen with broad range of restaurants. Fresh and clean and good service in reception and bar. The breakfast is enough for everybody to find their favourites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Tryp Centro Oberhausen Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guests,

Many thanks that you have valued us with tripadvisor.
It’s a pleasure that you enjoyed your stay in the TRYP CentrO Oberhausen.

J. Mittelsdorf, Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O.L.V.Waver
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

situated just in front of shoppingmall CentrO.Rooms are clean, rather basic. bathroom with shower.we did not book breakfast as they ask 14 euro per person, and we are little eaters ( we just need a cup of koffee and 1 croissant) .one negativ point= isolation in the hotel could be better.parking at the hotel is 4 euro but you can leave your car at the parking at the shopping mall for free!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadixt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

2 nights in this joint was enough for me. Thankfully it was close by to the Centro mall and the Christmas market. Otherwise life would have been supremely boring. There is no free Wifi and neither is there a Wifi service which is chargeable to the hotel bill. Wifi is only to be subscribed to a 3rd party service provider and to be charged to the customer's credit card. As a business traveller, this is unacceptable to me. Next thing is, there are no English language movie channels on the in-house TV. The room is pretty clean and tidy. The pillows provided were too soft and I had a bad neckache the next morning from a long slumber after a long-haul flight.
That being said, I have no complaints about the restaurant the the breakfast quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is as near to the elevators as possible, otherwise its a long walk. Not conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romuluz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

we were in this hotel on the way to Berlin, for an overnight and that is really enough for us! The location is excellent for whose who want to go shopping in Centro, a wide shopping mall, you just cross the street! Thier photos show modern rooms and pleasant lobby, but we found the room just simple, with indefinitecoloured walls, a very low bed. Shower in the bathroom is correct but once again, the "white" colour looked like eighties' style, we feeled depressive looking at it! But the most negative point is the heating: we feeled cold at midnight, the heating didn't work. After getting clothed, going down to reception ( the phone didn't work) and borrowing a little heatmachine (the receptionnist didn't seem impressive about our remark about room temperature), we found this poor little object out of order! So we had to start the electric countdown heating from the bathroom every 10 minutes to warm ourselves a little bit. Night was bad and on 5 a.m. at least the heating went on: in fact, they blocked the centralheating very low in night time for energysaving but it was frozen weather outside and they didn't change their doing. Lot of guests were probably from seminary or business groups, they drinked a lot at lobby bar (I suppose that's a practical heating way??) but we were displeased of not having a correct night (a hotel is supposed to give guest a good bed and warm room in winter time). In IBIS hotel, if it happens, they make your stay free and you pay less..
A good fact: breakfast is very correct and service is professionnal.

Room Tip: be careful to insist about an absolute non smokingroom, they give one but it's still have a smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minhue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We always book this hotel when we want to visit Centro (one of Europe's largest malls) and the famous Oberhausen Christmas market for a couple of days... This hotel offers an excellent location. Cross the street and you are where you need to be! Also very near the train station & other major roads. You can leave your car (if you are travelling by car) in a safe environment (against 4€ per day) The rooms are clean, quiet, ... everything is OK for a 3 star hotel. You can't expect the biggest luxury, but everything is there what needs to be there. Large size flatscreen TV, nice detail ... Choice of matress is personal, I prefer a firm matress, as to where my wife opts to have a soft matress with springs. So, at least she was happy. Overall, a nice stay. And because of the advantages it offers, we will be staying there again. This was our 3rd stay already ... Breakfast? Good quality & plenty of choice. Staff? Friendly, nice, ... No complaints. Cost? 128€ for 1 double and parkingspace per day/night, rather pricy for a 3 star hotel ... but these days we need to spend some money to ensure a quality stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PyroSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberhausen hotels
1.3 mi away
NH Oberhausen
NH Oberhausen
#1 of 13 in Oberhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Oberhausen Centro
1.9 mi away
Parkhotel Oberhausen
Parkhotel Oberhausen
#3 of 13 in Oberhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Residenz Oberhausen
Hotel Residenz Oberhausen
#5 of 13 in Oberhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Oberhausen am Centro
1.4 mi away
AKZENT Hotel Oberhausen
AKZENT Hotel Oberhausen
#7 of 13 in Oberhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Centro Oberhausen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Centro Oberhausen Hotel

Property: Tryp Centro Oberhausen Hotel
Address: Centroallee 280, 46047 Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Oberhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oberhausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Centro Oberhausen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TRYP CentrO Oberhausen is located at the dynamic heart of the region in the “Neue Mitte” area of Oberhausen. Right next to CentrO, Europe’s biggest shopping and recreation centre, with more than 200 stores and 25 bars and restaurants, the most popular attraction in the whole of “Metropole Ruhr”. Concerts, musicals or sports events – there is always entertainment of the highest level around the TRYP CentrO Oberhausen. This hotel is the perfect choice for your business and leisure trips to Oberhausen thanks to its excellent location in the city centre, its complete and comfortable facilities and the quality of its services. The hotel provides modern and elegant rooms; Wlan free of charge (500MB); a restaurant and a bar; 6 meeting rooms with natural light and a maximum capacity for up to 180 people; a spacious, bright hall; an outdoor terrace with pretty views and an outdoor parking (EUR 6,-/24h) for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tryp Centro Oberhausen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Centro Oberhausen Hotel Oberhausen
Sol Melia Oberhausen
Sol Melia Centro Oberhausen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing