We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be a really good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Residenz Oberhausen
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oberhausen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

the town of Oberhausen in North rhine Westphalia is transforming itself from a heavy industrial town into a family friendly tourist destination. A lot has already been invested in a vast shopping centre, lots of museums and attractive parks. The Residenz provides good value accommodation and is popular with both families and business people. It is well situated for the centre of town. There is a lack of public space - no lounge or bar. The accommodation is clean and adequate, but somewhat tired. The staff are friendly and helpful.
If the hotel could find some decent management it could be a really excellent choice and truly justify its "three star - superior" category.

Room Tip: There some spacious corner suites offering really good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel at the end of a 2 week road trip for 2 nights and had a really nice time. It was a reasonably priced hotel so didn't have huge expectations but when we arrived there was ample parking and the room was very spacious and comfortable.

The location of the hotel is great because even though we were at the front of the hotel along the main road it was not noisy and we got a great nights sleep, but it was also not a long walk at all to get to the town. There are a few very nice restaurants in the area which we wanted to try so I cannot comment on the dinner at the hotel. We prefered the idea of going for a stroll in the evenings and finishing the night at a restaurant! The breakfast however was very nice and there was always plenty to go around.

Finally we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We had a few problems finding a variety of places around the town and upon asking the receptionist she gave us directions and drew them out on a map she gave us to take away.

Room Tip: Even rooms at the front of the hotel were quiet, and the blackout curtains great so I cannot see how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The room was basic with extra's like a bath & kitchenette. The hotel is situated in the centre of the city, on walking distance from the train station and main activities. The breakfast is great and even includes bacon, scrambled eggs and saucages.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotstops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Nice hotel, good service, ok location (500-700m from HBF). Very helpful staff and wireless net in rooms. Train to essen 20min or so.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tejaask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Milwaukee, WI
17
Reviewed October 18, 2003

An excellent place for business travelers. A short distance from the Oberhausen Hauptbanhof, the Residenz is a quiet, comfortable hotel which meets my needs when traveling for business. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful; they were instrumental for my graceful recovery after my wallet was stolen.

Location is in the city center; many shops and restaurants are located within a few minutes walking. Autobahn access to the surrounding cities is also within a few minutes.

Available rooms range are somewhat larger than what I have found typical on my trips to Germany. Suites and apartments for extended stays are also available.

The restaurant is nice and food good. North Americans should be aware, however, that the full English breakfast is not available.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lindenbergerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oberhausen hotels
1.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Oberhausen Centro
0.5 mi away
NH Oberhausen
NH Oberhausen
#1 of 13 in Oberhausen
668 reviews
1.8 mi away
TRYP Centro Oberhausen
TRYP Centro Oberhausen
#2 of 13 in Oberhausen
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Parkhotel Oberhausen
Parkhotel Oberhausen
#4 of 13 in Oberhausen
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
AKZENT Hotel Oberhausen
AKZENT Hotel Oberhausen
#7 of 13 in Oberhausen
25 reviews
2.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Oberhausen am Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenz Oberhausen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenz Oberhausen

Address: Hermann-Albertz-Str. 69, 46045 Oberhausen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Oberhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oberhausen
Price Range: $72 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Residenz Oberhausen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Residenz Oberhausen is a superior hotel which creates new standards regarding “Room Size”. It offers 96 modern equipped appartements between 25 and 65 Square Meters of Size. All appartements are equipped with a kitchenette, a big working desk (~4 sqm) as well as wireless internet access. Simple elegance and beneficial comfort as well as the bright and friendly colours contribute to the contemporary modern ambience of the hotel.The rooms are decorated cosy and with lots of conveniences. The Hotel Residenz Oberhausen combines the varying demands of business travellers as well as tourists, located in the heart of the “Ruhrgebiet” with its optimum accessibility to the Düsseldorf Fair and the Essen Fair as well as the variety of possilbilities for your leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Residenz Oberhausen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing