We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves to be No. 1”

Altes Gasthaus Leve
Ranked #1 of 487 Restaurants in Muenster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
781 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 803 helpful votes
“Deserves to be No. 1”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had trouble making a reservation for this place so arrived without one. The place was packed but they found us a table. It was a very traditional German menu which I thought was well priced. The service was very conscientious. We found the experience good and the food delicious. If you are only in Munster for one night, this is the place you should go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    167
    29
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“most excellent”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

great meal in a ambience of charming rustic old hotel. The food was great. Mainly German. Traditional. Huge portions and very well priced. Interesting décor, with a sense of history. Great and most pleasant evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great kitchen”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went for a day trip to Muenster, and decide to eat in Gasthaus Leve, based on reviews on TripAdvisor. I have not been disappointed. Asparagus were great and well cooked, the porc was tender, and my strawberry dessert was heavenly. I'll be back there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Traditional German at its best”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My two friends and I just loved this place. Fantastic food and friendly service.

I tried one of the specialties of the house - the "schweinehaxe". It tasted simply fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Day trippers.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a really lovely old pub restaurant with a classic old world charm. It has lots of brass fittings and lights with really lovely decorated ceramic tiles on all of the walls. Even better, was the food which is excellent with really nice friendly staff. Gets very busy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altes Gasthaus Leve also viewed

Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Altes Gasthaus Leve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing