We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply wonderful!”

Altes Gasthaus Leve
Ranked #1 of 484 Restaurants in Muenster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

the atmosphere is great, the food is delicious and the service is impeccable, a must when in Münster!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dautzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    160
    28
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
131 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good German food, but overpriced for the quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

It was OK, but given the ratings I expected more. The decord was interesting and the service welcoming.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Congenuity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great meal and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very nice atmosphere in this over 400 year old restaurant. Husband and I each had a platter of regional specialties, bloodwurst & headcheese platter (which I tried and was tastier than I thought) and westphalian ham with fried egg on top. Topped off with a glass of Pinkus beer, it was heaven. The candlelit dining room was very comfortable, with old tiled walls and interesting light fixtures, rustic tables and chairs. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Silkfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good Lammhaxe/ lamb shank”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and I visited this locale yesterday through tripadvisor. We tried to book a table but they said it was that evening we should just turn up and try. After 1 minute there we had a table, but only if we left in under 2 hours. We got served very fast. I ordered the lammhaxe, beautifully cooked with great sides. My wife ordered the pilzragaout with pasta.she had a side salad which was just lettuce with dressing (which was a bit gritty). I tried my wifes ragout and enjoyed it (wife said it was too much for her). Overall we enjoyed this restaurant and would revisit, though we would book a lot earlier

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“typical westphalian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

A busy bustling place with typical muenster dishes. Friendly, english speaking staff. Huge portions

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SDemulier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altes Gasthaus Leve also viewed

Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Altes Gasthaus Leve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing