We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Muenster
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
481 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 759 helpful votes
“Great Bed”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The bed at Mauritzhof was probably one of the most comfortable ones I ever slept in. The room, however, was probably the smallest I ever experienced. Since I only stayed for the night that was okay, but I didn´t even do my back exercises on the floor as I do at home and at other hotels since there was hardly any room on the floor next to the bed.
The location is good, just within walking distance from the railway station and the pedestrian area. It is located next to a quite busy street, but the windows are very soundproof, so no need to worry about a good night´s sleep.
From the outside the building looks quite plain but I found it rather stylish inside.
Breakfast is small but sufficient and of good quality.
Staff is very friendly and eager - somtimes too eager: at breakfast they were wiping my table clean even if I hadn´t finished.
There is no fitness room.
Both my room and the hotel were impeccably clean.

Room Tip: Try to get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchlewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    74
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
55
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

All staff were helpful and friendly. Lovely breakfast adn breakfastroom. The room was clean and comfortable, very nice. I would like to stay this hotel again when I come to Muenster again, really.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatokoKonoshita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and we were generally impressed. The hotel was clean and quiet and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a very good location ... a few minutes walk from the town centre. Our only grumble was with the pillows. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were saggy and unsupportive - with no options to change.
Parking was 1 euro per hour in a car park across the road (payment necessary for 8am to 8pm so 12 euros a day if you are going to leave your car there) We had a challenge to find the entrance to car park - if you will be using it, drive past the hotel, keep left and take the first turning on the left. That leads onto a road with the car park entrance! We left our keys at the reception desk and the staff were very good at putting an up to date ticket on our car for us.
3 minute walk from the hotel is a restaurant which we strongly recommend,. it is called the Culinarium and looks fairly unassuming. However, the service, food and ambience were all excellent and priced reasonably for the good quality food.

Room Tip: some people have complained of street side rooms. We had one on the street side and didn't find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We visited Muenster for one night to see the Christmas markets, and this was a great spot to stay - easy walk to the markets and train station. The hotel is lovely inside and was very festive for the holidays with Christmas cookies sitting out for guests at check-in. A photo book of Muenster was also provided to guests upon check-out as a holiday gift. We had a larger/comfort room as it was the only one available when we booked, and it was quite nice with a balcony. However, the smaller room also seemed nice and would've been fine for two people and a short stay. The hotel was very clean and the bar area was attractive -- had some delicious soup in the late evening there. The breakfast was pricey but the buffet had a nice selection with fresh orange juice. After venturing out, I was glad to have opted for the breakfast as it was a Sunday morning and most of the cafes were closed (this probably wouldn't have been the case any other day). The staff were friendly and happy to provide us with information about the town and were very responsive to our requests. My husband left his hat in the bar area in the evening and when we arrived for breakfast the next morning a staff member (not on duty the night before) ran over to give it to him. We didn't realize it had been left behind. Very good service!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank discover124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Coming from Amsterdam where our hotel experience was costly and not that impressive, we were delighted to spend the night at the Mauritzhof as we traveled east to see our friends near Kassel, Germany. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are large with comfortable beds and the breakfast is incredible! We rented bikes at the hotel, jumped on the bike path which runs past the hotel's front door and biked down to a beautiful lake surrounded by weeping willows and people enjoying the afternoon sun. A lovely restful stay!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, one room facing the back, one on the street. I think they were designate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a neat place to stay if you're visiting Munster or just passing through: spotless and truly a designer hotel. Like in many quality German hotels, the service is fine, as is the breakfast. Pick your room before you check in, some are different from the others, the quiet ones are away from the street and very nice. The hotel is located near the historic center, so don't forget to visit the marketplace where Jan van Leyden, leader of a Protestant sect that once ruled the city, was executed. You can still see the iron cage up on the church tower, where his body was left to.. well anyway, the hotel is great!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sjoerdd d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hotel close to the grand central station in Munster, at an attractive price. The rooms were nice and clean, service was good and the breakfast buffe was great. The street room was a tad niosy though, with a lot of traffic outside. Choose a room facing away from the street if possible. However, in total a very good experience, well worth the money

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muenster hotels
0.3 mi away
H4 Hotel Muenster City Center
1.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Muenster
1.5 mi away
Factory Hotel
Factory Hotel
#2 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Stadthotel Munster
Stadthotel Munster
#6 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Muenster City
Ibis Muenster City
#7 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#11 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster

Property: Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster
Address: Eisenbahnstr. 17, 48143 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Muenster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Muenster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauritzhof – An Urban Retreat Münster is a must for those visiting Germany’s Westphalia region. Whether traveling for work or pleasure – from a weekend escape to a business retreat – the 4-star Mauritzhof Hotel is the perfect choice for any occasion. Look forward to one of the most exceptional design hotels in the heart of the city. Our location on Münster’s green promenade means you’re close to it all, whilst your mind stays serene. Choose from 52 rooms in five categories – from the perfectly outfitted comfort rooms to the luxurious Suite with old town views. Our luxury accommodation will win you over with their elegant and timeless design. Clean lines, earthy colors and an intelligent light concept ensure ease and comfort. Every room offers air-conditioning, complimentary WiFi, and flat screens featuring Sky TV. When you’re rested and ready to explore, take a tour with one of the hotel’s own bicycles. Our eatery serves up flavourful dishes with local products and a Mediterranean touch. If you’re simply in the mood for a tasty drink, make yourself comfortable in our bar. Two light-filled meeting rooms and a library with state-of-the-art conferencing technologies await our business travelers. As passionate hosts through and through, we thrive on great hospitality for happy guests. Welcome to Mauritzhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Mauritzhof Hotel Muenster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing