We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok in general”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Munster City
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Muenster
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Ok in general”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nice hotel, more for buisiness than for romantic staying. The brekfast is good, the rooms are clean, but not rennovated.
The location of the hotel, about five minutes' walk from the main railway station, is very good

Room Tip: Nothing special to say about
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhenya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    141
    107
    32
    10
See reviews for
41
118
52
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

I spent a night at the Mercure Hotel Munster City in June 2014, paying 75 Euros. This did not include breakfast, which would have cost me an additional 17 Euros. I opted for a much cheaper coffee and a croissant elsewhere.

The location of the hotel, about five minutes' walk from the main railway station, is very good. My room overlooked a fairly busy road, but with a small park on the other side, so the views from my room were very nice. It takes only ten minutes or so to walk to the centre of the old town, where many of the major sights are located.

My room was spacious and immaculate, though I found the colour scheme slightly drab, especially the mouse-brown curtains. The bathroom was contemporary and spotlessly clean. The room came with a minibar, satellite TV (with a few non-German language TV channels), a small safe, a kettle and a supply of tea and coffee, which I appreciated. My double bed was very comfortable and there was good sound-proofing in the room. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. There was also free wi-fi Internet access in the room, with very good connectivity and speed. I enjoyed my dinner in the very reasonably-priced hotel restaurant on the ground floor. I found the staff on reception pleasant, helpful and welcoming. The hotel seems to be particularly popular with tour groups.

A few minor points regarding things I didn't like so much. The reading light above the bed was extremely silly, in that it was far too small and dim. It resembled the piece of equipment an optician uses to examine your eyes. There was no way in which it could enable you to read in bed with all the other lights turned off. Also, one of the room cleaners burst in on me when I was dressing, which would not have happened if a 'do not disturb' sign had been available. Perhaps it had been misplaced?

I would certainly stay at this hotel again and recommend it to travellers who are on not too tight a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel had clean rooms, good service, and a good breakfast. The bar was quite small so when my co-workers and I met for drinks before dinner, it was a bit crowded. The property is located near the town so we could easily walk to dinner and restaurants.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleenlesnerhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotselaar
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The rooms are ok in general with minimum bathroom comfort -(one sink very small shower box).
There even is only one chair in the room and the ridiculous small parking was full.
Unlike the fact that I paid for and upgrade at reservation I got a room facing the main street which was terrible loud with bus traffic all night. The AC was only heating and opening the window was not an option. The internet is one of the slowest ever and changing rooms was not possible. The breakfast was excellent and a big a relief after a night with almost no sleep... but then again checking out was another very slow process. I never liked the Accor hotels and this confirmed my opinion. I wont stay here again.

Room Tip: stay away form the main street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphaël
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muenster hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed in a superior double room which included free wifi, tea and coffee, bathrobes and large bed. Importantly, these room are situated on the quiet side of the hotel. At 84 Euro for the room we thought it was well worth paying the extra.
The restaurant is excellent and the Mercure wine menu is worth a visit in itself! It is a pity that Accor hotels still charge rip-off prices for breakfast but there are plenty of bakeries close by.
The hotel car park is very tight so if you don't fancy squeezing in I would recommend the public car park opposite!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muenster hotels
0.2 mi away
H4 Hotel Muenster City Center
0.1 mi away
Ibis Muenster City
Ibis Muenster City
#8 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Muenster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stadthotel Munster
Stadthotel Munster
#4 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#12 of 49 in Muenster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tryp Muenster Kongresshotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Munster City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Munster City

Property: Mercure Hotel Munster City
Address: Engelstr. 39, 48143 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Muenster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Muenster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Munster City 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4 star hotel offering 156 rooms, the Mercure Muenster City is located downtown, a 5 minute walk, approximately 600m, from the historic town centre and also close to the main railway station. The hotel offers easy access to the A1 and A43 motorways.Along with modern facilities, the hotel features a restaurant, a bistro, a lobby bar, a basement garage, a wellness centre and conference facilities for 4 to 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Munster City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Munster City
Mercure Hotel Muenster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing