We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found this hotel by accident and made a good choice”
Review of Hotel Kaiserhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kaiserhof
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Muenster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

In June 2013 my wife and I were in Denmark and scheduled to catch the DFDS ferry back to England but the ferry was involved in an accident at Harwich and our return trip was cancelled.

This meant that we had to drive across Northern Europe to get to Calais and an alternative ferry. After driving many miles in atrocious weather we decided that Munster would be the place for an overnight stop. We drove towards the city centre but could not see any hotels and, of course, there is no place to just stop for a few minutes and look around. We turned down a side street and, by accident, drove into the car park of the Kaiserhof.

It was a Sunday evening which fortunately is usually a quiet one for hotels and the Kaiserhof had a room vacant. The receptionist was pleasant and our room was excellent, clean and modern.

The downside was that the hotel did not have a restaurant open but they called a taxi which for 5 euros took us to the restaurant district where we found an excellent place to eat. The waitress even spoke good English.

Car parking at city centre hotels is usually a problem but that was not the case at the Kaiserhof. There is a large car park behind the hotel. The morning breakfast was excellent in a nice clean and bright restaurant.

We found that the price of the hotel was reasonable. In good weather it would probably have been a nice stroll into the central city area but it was raining when we were there so we took a taxi. The central area of Munster looked nice but we did not have time to explore it.

We would have rated this hotel excellent except for the lack of eating facilities on a Sunday evening. Everything else was fine and the staff were friendly and even helped me to sort out how to use the guest computer located near reception. Our impression was that it was very much a business hotel rather than catering for holidaymakers (if they get them in Munster).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback! You had quite a journey. We are glad that you found us on the way. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the restaurant. Sunday midday and evening are the only time our restaurant is closed. We offer snacks at our bar but for a full meal you have to go to the city. It was very unfortunate that the weather was so bad because a walk in the city is quite beautiful and you reach the city center and even the old town within minutes.
We hope that you got interested in Münster because it has so much to offer and we can welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 201 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fantastic hotel, friendly receptionist,great large luxury room and fantastic breakfast. Thereby friendly staff and the citycenter is within walking distance. The restaurant was annex and had a great menu, especially the Dorade we can recommend. Here also the staff was very kind and helpfull.

Room Tip: You couldnt whish for more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manteia-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and recommendation! And thank you for your praise to our staff. We are all working hard to make your stay the best stay away from home and it is very nice to hear that our work is appreciated. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

People living the city of Munster think Kaiserhof is their city's best hotel. That's maybe because they know or heard about Kaiserhof's one star restaurant and they never experienced the hotel's rooms. The later are small and those on the front side somehow loud. The building represents the architectural flavor of the 1960s. However everything is clean and perfectly maintained. The service team is friendly and competent.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven_Prueser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not feel very comfortable in our rooms. The hotel was build in 1895 and the owing family invested millions of Euros to modernize the building and every room starting in 1999. All the rooms on the five floors have different designs. We would have loved to show you other rooms where you would have felt more comfortable in. During your next stay in Münster we would like to show you around the house so you can see for yourself and maybe decide to come back for another stay. Yours faithfully, Hotel Kaiserhof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

After we had to cancel our trip to Paris because of heavy snow in the Northern part of France, we went to Münster instead. And although Münster is not Paris, we were pleasantly surprised by this nice city with its very friendly inhabitants. And this certainly holds for the Hotel Kaiserhof. The hotel is luxurious and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We had a nice drink in the hotel bar and the breakfast was ample and delicious. Unfortunately we had no time to visit the Spa of the hotel, but we hope to make up for that whenever we go back to Münster and will stay at the Kaiserhof again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Movemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad that you chose to come to Münster and stayed with us. We hope you will have the opportunity to come back soon and to explore all of our departments like the spa and our restaurants. See you soon in the hotel Kaiserhof Münster!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Renovated hotel close to train station, large and comfy room, good linens, polite service, awarded restaurant. Expensive parking, good complementary wifi. Easy access to all major atractions , perfect placê to stay in town

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Sbuerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and recommendation! We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is located smack in the center of the city near the train station so I was able to walk everywhere. Loved the spa facilities, went one hour before they closed and only had to share with two other people. Wonderful steamroom, finnish sauna, clean and spacious facilities, free water, etc. The room though was a bit smaller than I had expected and the furnishings rather simple. Given the plush lobby and spa I had expected more, but it was certainly sufficient for my needs. Faced the street but the windows were nice and soundproof so no noise comes through. Would recommend.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have different types of rooms. Please let us show you the different categories at your next stay. We are sure, we will find a room that suits your expectations. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our Bus had broken down on the way to Sweden. The recovery driver managed, after a few calls, to secure us accomodation for the night. It was a very pleasant surprise indeed to pull up to the crisply illuminated facade of the Kaiserhof after a very long day.

The surprises didn't stop there as we were given the prices for our rooms....In the UK, this would have got us 2/3 Star at the very best, not a 4 Star Superior such as the Kaiserhof.

The staff all spoke excellent English and were extremely polite and not snobby or intrusive at all (These are my main irritations at other Hotels)

We all got single rooms. as unfortunately there were no twins left. The rooms were perfectly sized for singles, with a mini-bar and 32" Philips LCD TV with USB and Computer monitor connections.

All fixtures and fittings were of a very high quality, especially the bathroom which was finished in marble and very modern/minimalist. The room was atomically clean, so no complaints there.

We also quickly found out that Munster is the 'Cycling Capital Of Germany'. Bike hire is amazingly affordable from the Train Station (8 Euros Per Day, to be returned by 11pm!!), so we hired 6 bikes. This is the perfect way to see Munster, which really is a 'Picture Postcard' Town.

We stay in hundreds of Hotels each Year and all of my colleagues were similarly impressed with their stay. I literally cannot fault this hotel, and as an International traveller who stays in his fair share of hotels from appalling to amazing, the Kaiserhof is definitely one of the latter!

An extraordinarily good Hotel and a beautiful Town :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaiserhofMS, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Kaiserhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

We regret your technical problems with your vehicle, however we are glad that you stayed with us and thank you very much for your friendly feedback and recommendation. Münster is indeed a wonderful town, best to explore with a bike. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muenster hotels
0.2 mi away
H4 Hotel Muenster
H4 Hotel Muenster
#6 of 48 in Muenster
406 reviews
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Muenster
1.7 mi away
Factory Hotel
Factory Hotel
#3 of 48 in Muenster
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Seehotel Krautkraemer
0.6 mi away
TRYP Kongresshotel Muenster
0.2 mi away
Ibis Muenster City
Ibis Muenster City
#8 of 48 in Muenster
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaiserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaiserhof

Address: Bahnhofstr. 14, 48143 Muenster, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Muenster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Muenster
Price Range: $119 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Kaiserhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895 guests associate the family-run 4-star superior Hotel Kaiserhof Muenster with hospitality, quality and comfort. The fully air-conditioned hotel is within walking distance of the old town of Muenster, the shopping streets, pubs, the harbor and close to all the famous sights. The bicycle-friendly city can be reached by all public transport as well as by car. As a special service, the Kaiserhof offers valet parking: an assistant takes over the car at the entrance and parks it on the video-monitored hotel parking. In the Kaiserhof guests have the choice between 100 cozy rooms and suites in five categories. Numerous services such as WiFi, selected Pay-Tv programs, a bottle of mineral water and the admission to the 400 sqm wellness oasis Kaiserhof Beauty & Spa are included. Two restaurants, the Gabriel's and the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Muenster, the Gourmet 1895, provide culinary delights from breakfast to dinner. There is a bar, a library with a fireplace and a lobby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kaiserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing