We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel - Good For Short Business Trip Stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Monchengladbac...
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel - Good For Short Business Trip Stays”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for business (one night), the hotel is easy to find, ahs it's own parking and is walkable to the centre - maybe 10 mins. There isn't a lot in the immediate vicinity but it is well placed to get around MG. The staff were friendly and the reception was well lit.

The room was adequately sized, with enough space for my things. The bed wasn't well made, it looked like someone had ruffled it all up (immediate appearance wasn't good), stains on the carpet, and a distinct smell from the bathroom drains.

Breakfast buffet was good and quickly replenished and they let us take an extra banana for the journey.

A/C worked well, bathroom and room appeared a little dated. There isn't much choice of good quality hotels in MG but this is adequate and better than the Dorint.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyalan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear monkeyalan5,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    93
    58
    15
    8
See reviews for
8
35
23
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed three nights and loved it. Arriving around midnight the check in was smooth and welcoming. Our room on the 6th floor had a stunning view of the church. The room was spotlessly clean and the aircon worked. Despite reviews on other websites, the room had a fridge, kettle and tea/coffee. The beds were comfortable with a choice of pillow density.

On the downside there was no room safe (though arrangements for valuables could be made at reception) and the heating system hot water supply pipe in the room remained boiling even though the radiators were off. The tv, a portable sized old CRT, was a little dated in these times of flat screen LCDs and plasmas. The channel selection was poor for an international hotel chain.

We had excellent service in the bar and the drinks were not that expensive in comparison to the local bars. The bar had a big screen tv and we were given complimentary bar snacks.

If the price of breakfast at the hotel had been more reasonable we would have dined in. Instead either head up just past the church to the old town square or, as we did, turn left out of the hotel and after 75m there is a little bakery on the corner. It was at least 70% cheaper.

The hotel is in easy walking distance of the shopping area and there are frequent buses and taxis to explore further afield.

All of the staff we met at the hotel were friendly, the room was cleaned daily to a very high standard and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter but if you don't mind the traffic noise the front rooms have views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnabeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

As we were meeting up with a guest stying here for a few days - and as I have previously had good meals here - I suggetsed rather than venture out into the night we could easily eat well here.

Wrong.

The meal was slightly overcooked, the pasta was straight out of a tin and so were the tomatoes. Quantity well exceeded quality which was poor. And to add insult to injury we appeared to be as welcome as the plague.

The hotel is well away from the town centre on a cold evening so I would consider another hotel if you need to stay the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomasatatamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear thomasatatamus,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

nice hotel, great steaks at the bar nice breakfast, nice people are running this hotel, stayed for business, fitted my schedule downside, you pay for parking, 8.50 euro per day if you stay in the hotel, nowt if you visit the bar or restaurant, should be free these days.

Room Tip: central to the town, and easy reach of the airport, good road access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenthere1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

As Holiday Inns go this place looks OK from the outside, but the experience inside was sadly lacking.

Customer service was probably the worst point - the barman always preferred talking to his friends rather than actually serving drinks, the restaurant waitress was abrupt to the point of rudeness and one of the receptionists was completely ineffectual over the simplest request (a refill of milk sachets for my room).

The bar itself was characterless and the restaurant food quality was poor and with a very limited menu choice - happily there were some lovely restaurants we found in Monchengladbach itself - mainly through Trip Advisor reviews. Reception gave us a sheet of suggestions, but no-one seemed to know anything about any of them.

The cost of WiFi was extortionate - even by business hotel standards. €19 for 2 days use or €5 for 1 hour - much more than other Holiday Inns in Germany, and the hotel price itself was steep - certainly for what it was (breakfast was an extra 17.50 too - I can't comment on the quality as I wasn't paying that much each day on top of the high room price).

I spotted an extra charge on the bill when I left - an extra charge for WiFi - by which stage they'd processed my card. Normally I'd expect to check the bill first. When investigated, it turned out that the date 7/12 that was scribbled on a piece of paper had been charged to my room 712. I did get that refunded but it summed up the experience for me.

Finally the hot water was tepid one morning.

Several of these points were mentioned to the reception staff - who were very dismissive of me.

The only good point was the view of the church was pleasant in the snow. Beyond that, it was an expensive, rude and dated experience. I won't stay there again and would never recommend anyone else to.

Holiday Inn generally gives good value for money. Not so in Monchengladbach. I stayed with them two weeks before in Neuss and it was like a different chain.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a nice view of the church, but there seemed to be a lot of wind noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apieroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Apieroux,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you enjoyed the views and glad to read you were able to get the refund. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the unacceptable service you have experienced with the staff and if our internet policy was less than satisfactory. Please be assured that we treat this matter seriously and actions will be taken by the management accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monchengladbach hotels

Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

the hotel and rooms are quite outdated but clean and tidy. The bar and restaurant menu not very appealing.
Breakfast is quite expensive as are the rooms.
parking and Wi-Fi are paid services.
Temperature in the room was quite low and adjustments don't work

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watnuweer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Watnuweer,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We are glad you found the rooms clean and tidy. We regret falling short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We - father and teenage son - were going to watch Borussia Moenchengladbach play Lazio in February and wanted a hotel where everything just worked - which it usually does at Holiday Inn. We were not looking for a cosy little family place. And we were not disappointed with Holiday Inn - the room was a so-called superior 2 persons room, which meant two rather narrow beds formed as a double- so you easily could pull them apart. Strangely enough the tv wasn't a flattv, but an old model - however, it worked. So did the bath-rum and all the other stuff. The minibar and the parking was included in the prize (but then there was nothing stronger than beer in the minibar...) and if you are lucky (we were not) you can get rooms with a view to the basilica. We had a view to a sports-ground and it was okay. The breakfast was fine with everything you could ask for - including sparkling wine! And funny detail: They have two 'lady carparks' near the entrance.
All in all - a businessman hotel to a reasonably prize.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the basilica
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toftwinther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monchengladbach hotels
Gladbach
Best Western Plus Crown Hotel
Best Western Plus Crown Hotel
#4 of 32 in Monchengladbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Dorint Parkhotel Monchengladbach
#2 of 32 in Monchengladbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
McDreams Hotel Monchengladbach
#5 of 32 in Monchengladbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Elisenhof
#1 of 32 in Monchengladbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
B&B Hotel Moenchengladbach
#6 of 32 in Monchengladbach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Palazzo Hotel
#26 of 32 in Monchengladbach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach

Property: Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach
Address: Speicker Str. 49, 41061 Monchengladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Holiday Inn Moenchengladbach)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Monchengladbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Monchengladbac...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach is the ideal destination and perfect located. Imagine having all the space and tools you need for business, high speed internet access, a work area in your room and plenty of electrical outlets. Make a success out of your next conference. The Leonardo Hotel Monchengladbach can host meetings and functions in up to 120 attendees. The very friendly front office staff will assist you with copies and faxing. We can help make your day. If you are here for pleasure you are just 30 minutes away from the Dutch Border (Venlo & Roermond) with outstanding shopping outlets. If you are looking for a hotel to visit sport events like Borussia Monchengladbach game, Nordpark stadium or Warsteiner Hockeypark are just 2.5 Km away from Leonardo Hotel Monchengladbach. Experience fine dining at our Restaurant L Image or enjoy for favourite drink in our Bar Ciel. From a great breakfast to start your day to a relaxing meal in the evening our team looks forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Moenchengladbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Monchengladbach
mönchengladbach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing