We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - no air conditioning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Hagen
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hagen
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - no air conditioning!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only downside is that the rooms aren't air conditioned, which makes it quite uncomfortable to sleep when the weather is warm. We were in Rm. 409 this year. The sun rises at approximately 5:30 a.m., and shines directly into the room, making it impossible to sleep. Breakfast was included in the price of the room, and is delicious. It is buffet style, with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, assortment of rolls and bread, jellies, different flavors of yogurt, cereal, different meats and cheeses, coffee, juice - something for everyone. And the restaurant is air conditioned! Parking is 5 Euro per day for hotel guests. We stay here because it is within walking distance to the city center and my aunt's apartment. We will stay here next time we visit Hagen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerdna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    184
    63
    17
    5
See reviews for
53
98
35
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good sized rooms with coffee making facilities, slow free Wi-fi but comfortable beds. Staff very helpful and friendly, especially Kirsten in the breakfast room. The two lifts are very slow and congested in the mornings. Evening meals very expensive, go down into the town where there are a variety of restaurants. Can recommend the Donner Kebab shop on Frankfurter Strasse!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne_Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and a typical business hotel. But what's not good is the internet. No connection most of the time and a too small bathroom. Strange also no in room safe. The bed was comfortable and that's it. The restaurant is not special and a small choice. So we went for a better place. All by all not a special place to stay but clean and good sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvers
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed one night. Hotel location, rooms and service were OK. Restaurant experience was however negative, mainly because the service was far from up to standard. Personnel pays no attention to the guests. Their friendliness does not compensate for the lack of professionalism.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank pilipili2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

It is and average hotel has its pluses and its minuses. Let’s begin:
+ Rooms are nice and clean and good furnished.
+ Staff is friendly and helpful
+ There is a small PC where you can print you documents if you need, and I was not charged about it.
+ Breakfast is nice, nothing special but nice.
+ It is quite and you can rest.
+ There is a hot water pot and free tea.
+ Bar is nice, and cocktails are also ok, no wide variety though.

• There is a pool and a fitness, which didn’t have the chance to try but looked nice.
• You need a car to go around but the mall is not that far away.
• There is a gas chamber (pardon the pun) if you are a smoker and its well-insulated so the outside does not smell the smoke.

- Parking, cool there is a parking…..there is barely space to leave your car, and not free of charge.
- Internet, free of charge which is great, but the speed is awful and at times and you just can’t connect to anything (times out horribly). Also notices that some sites are filtered with low to no bandwidth. Not cool. You can do your job but you can get a headache at one point.
- Room 526, has some issues which I strongly dislike – the frame of the door is half missing and it’s the least to say ugly. Heating is out of your control, no AC as far as I see.
- Room doors in general trough the hotel should be changed ASAP

If I come in Hagen again I would stay here I guess unless I find something more appealing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdexoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We booked this hotel with an offer from a dutch travel agency. Thus we had breakfast en dinner included. Both of those where what you could expect from a four star-hotel. The staff was very friendly and knew their job very well.

The hotel can be easely reached with public transport. There's a bus-stop next to the hotels' entrance with buses every twenty minutes (in an weekend). Hagen has connections with many major German Cities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoffelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hagen
1.5 mi away
Campushotel
Campushotel
#2 of 10 in Hagen
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Auf dem Kamp
1.1 mi away
Hotel Art-Ambiente
Hotel Art-Ambiente
#8 of 10 in Hagen
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
City Hotel Deutsches Haus
2.4 mi away
Arcadeon
Arcadeon
#7 of 10 in Hagen
58 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ringhotel Zweibruecker Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Hagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Hagen

Property: Mercure Hotel Hagen
Address: Wasserloses Tal 4, 58093 Hagen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Hagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Hagen 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed WLAN, complementary in room tea and coffee facilities, flat screen TVs with international channels. The 146 bedroom 4 star Hotel (VDR-certified) has 8 conference rooms for up to 300 delegates. The Mercure Hotel Hagen has a restaurant, bar and a sauna. Onsite car parking is available at a charge. The Hotel is located within the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Hagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing