We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee with cake ”
Review of Hugenpottchen

Hugenpottchen
Ranked #30 of 830 Restaurants in Essen
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kettwig
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a late Sunday afternoon at the terrace of this beautiful location. We had coffee with home made cake which was very tasteful and not to sweet! Very well done. Service friendly and fast we will go back there for a nice lunch or dinner !

Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss_Hugenpoet, Manager at Hugenpottchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017


Very honored guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your visit to the restaurant HUGENpöttchen at the Schlosshotel Hugenpoet. We are pleased that you enjoyed a pleasant time out on the terrace. You are always welcome!
Alexandra Schenk
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 156 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2017

Several centuries of history - a really special location.
The restaurant overlooks a beautiful well maintained park. It features some outdoor seating as well. Very pleasant, classy interiors.
Friendly, efficient, multilingual service.
Nice wine list, focusing on German selections.
Very tasty, well prepared food. The mussels soup is to die for.
We'll be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MLXV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss_Hugenpoet, Manager at Hugenpottchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your praise and your appreciable feedback on your visit "HUGENpöttchen" at the Schlosshotel Hugenpoet.
We also have the culinary offer, the wine selection, our service as well as the historic ambience in their green surroundings.
You are welcome!

Alexandra Schenk
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch with family and friends. The business lunch of homemade boar ham with feldsalat and Rinderfiletmedaillons with mustard sauce and potato puree was excellent value at €21.50. Also notable was the cinnamon octopus and the thyme and pear sorbet.

The castle is spectacular and forms a perfect backdrop for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MichaelCoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss_Hugenpoet, Manager at Hugenpottchen, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for the attentive, positive assessment of your visit to our restaurant Hugenpottchen at the Schlosshotel Hugenpoet.
We are glad that you praise the quality of the food as well as the price-performance ratio. Thank you very much.
Since May 2016 we have opened a second restaurant on the Schlossgelände: the Laurushaus, a fine dining restaurant under the direction of Erika Bergheim.
You are welcome!

Best regards
Alexandra Schenk
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

The place is impressive: architecture, materials, design, crafts... Don't miss to visit the toilets ;)!!
The food is detailed prepared and every combination is unique and delicious!
Price worth the full experience!
A bit loud if full but it does not really bother if a business dinner. However, if a romantic one.... And the place is set for romantic dinners!

Thank Alessandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss_Hugenpoet, Manager at Hugenpottchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your appreciable feedback on the visit of our restaurant Hugenpottchen at the Schlosshotel Hugenpoet!
We are pleased that you enjoyed our food and the castle with its decor and its atmosphere.
Since May 2016 there is a second restaurant on the castle grounds - the Laurushaus, which offers a modern gourmet kitchen. It is open from Thursday to Saturday from 18.30h.
You are welcome!

Alexandra Schenk
Direktorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

We visited with a party of 8 and thought food and service were outstanding. My wife and I had the Weiner Schnitzel and thought it was excellent. For starter, I had the corn soup and found it to have unique taste and would definitely order again. They offered menus in English which helped. The atmosphere of this restaurant in a castle is unique. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank Ernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schloss_Hugenpoet, Manager at Hugenpottchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2016

Dear sir,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Schlosshotel Hugenpoet. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Alexandra Schenk
deputy director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugenpottchen also viewed

Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Hugenpottchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing