We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping in a mining heritage building”
Review of Alte Lohnhalle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alte Lohnhalle
Ranked #1 of 30 Essen B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 9, 2013

It's located a bit of the grid, but that's part of the charm. Helpful and friendly staff. Excellent and copious breakfast. The real treat is being able to overnight in this building. It has a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylviedeweze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 46 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

I really loved this hotel! It's a converted mine and has managed to maintain lots of the original features, whilst also offering a modern twist. When I arrived I was greeted very warmly and told I'd been upgraded to a suite. This consisted of a work room with a decent sized desk and comfy chairs as well as a massive bedroom with double bed and more seating areas. There were 3 large windows so plenty of light. I didn't try the restaurant, as it is closed on Sundays (unless you've arranged in advance with the hotel) & also Mondays. However, there is a restaurant just opposite the hotel, so you won't go hungry. Breakfast is tasty and there is a good choice. For anyone with mobility issues, there are no lifts, just a staircase (see photo). I advise anyone to try this hotel if you're looking for something a bit different, to be treated well and to have a good night's sleep (it's nice & quiet at night).

Room Tip: The suite I had (no 10) was very spacious & pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is located buildings of a former mine that have been transformed to a hotel. The interior is modern and clean. I had a duplex with the living room and the bath room on the first floor and the bed on a gallery. The bathroom was very tiny. The surrounding is really calme.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfamily72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I had my money and credit cards stolen before I arrived at the hotel. I was given coffee, offered food, and the staff contacted my bank in England and also the police on my behalf. So much kindness and friendliness was shown to me throughout my 10 day stay. My room was large, clean, bright and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel also because of the history and the way in which the building is preserved. ok, no lift but ' bags are taken to the room on your behalf anyway. There are wonderful books in the lounge area , the building is facinating.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elfriede2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank natalie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sobrueggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle kamers zijn bijzonder en geen enkele kamer is hetzelfde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Franz
#19 of 69 in Essen
63 reviews
Stadtkern
Select Hotel Handelshof Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alte Lohnhalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alte Lohnhalle

Address: Rotthauser Str. 40, 45309 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Essen
Price Range: $69 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alte Lohnhalle 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alte Lohnhalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing