We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and centrally located in drab surroundings.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Welcome Hotel Essen
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2012

When you want to attend the Classic Car show in Essen in March, you have to be an early bird to get the hotel you want. I wasn't and the two previous hotels I had stayed in in Essen were booked. So the four star Welcome Hotel Essen was booked instead for three nights starting on the 21st. March..
When I saw the hotel from the outside my heart sank. But it is better looking on the inside.

Reception: I felt welcome and was quickly given my keycard.

The Room: I had ordered a superior room. The front half of the hotel is right beside a busy road. But my room was on the back of the hotel and turned out to be a very quiet room of better than average size, There was nothing missing and the bathroom was nice.

Breakfast: I don't believe i have ever stayed in a hotel with a bigger selection. The room is large and very nice. Even though I had been given a superiour room, I still had to pay extra for breakfast. But the price was vey reasonable. I believe it was 51 Euros for three days.

Location: I would leave Essen by train. The hotel is situated an easy 15 minutes walk from the main trainstation. There is a shopping center just 100 meters from the hotel with a huge supermarket and if you cross the road using the bridge you will be in one end of the pedestrian steet. The surroundings are not the most enjoyable. The hotel has a car park, but it is not cheap.
So all in all it is centrally located even though a map might not show it to be so.

The bar showed German football matches which might be of interest for those travelling in groups. And being interested in football.

All in all this was an average four star hotel. I wouldn't mind staying here again, but only if the two previous hotels I have stayed in before are booked,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaguar-E-type-driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
There are newer reviews for Welcome Hotel Essen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 281 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2011

Here is my second review on Tripadvisor site and it's again about my business trip experience. Everybody knows how it's important having active busy day to be sure your breakfast is OK. Welcome Hotel in Essen is perfect for that. I found there some wellknown German national dishes which were very good for breakfast and tasty. Baking was excellent.
The staff was friendly and did all their best to do all in time and with less disterber.
One more word about the location of the hotel it's in fifteen minutes to walk from the central railwaystation and close to the street where the Christmas market takes place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmp2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Welcome Hotel Essen is a good, modern business hotel. The rooms are good sized, clean and modern. Although the hotel is at the north end of the city center, a tram stop is located across the street and it is only two stops to Essen HBF. It is a 5-10 minute walk to Essen's shopping district with lots of restaurants and shops. Based on the price I paid, the hotel was also an excellent value.

Two complaints, though. I was unable to get ANY wifi reception in my room, which was surprising as I was on the 2nd floor in the middle of the building. As is typical with wifi problems, the staff could do nothing to fix the issue. Unfortunately they would not let me switch rooms or waive the daily charge for the wifi that I had to access from the hotel bar (the daily charge was cheap compared to many hotels). Hotels need to understand that wifi access is a top priority for many guests. The wifi problems alone would keep me from returning to this hotel.

The other complaint is that the TV in the room was from the dark ages. Everything else about the room was new and modern except for the horrible TV.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlLarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My company has an agreement with this hotel and i stay there 4-5 times a year.

The hotel is situated on a main road which is paralel to the main shopping street. The biggest shopping center, Limbeckerplatz is also 10min. walking distance away.

The rooms are clean with enough space. It is not possible to find a room with a nice view but try to choose a room which is at the back side, not looking to the main street, for a quiet stay. Tv's in the rooms are very old and need an uprgrade. Channels are also very limited.

Breakfast is not rich but the menu for lunch and dinner is quite good.

Free internet is limited, you should pay after a certain amount of data transfer. Service quality overall is good.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFK_BJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Clean and neat hotel. facilities in the room depend on the type of room. Note that basic room does not have ammenities such as tooth brush, paste etc.
Breakfast is good. Staff are very supportive.
Location is good and esy to walk into city center.
Overall good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed here on a business trip.

Check in/out was like clockwork, the rooms are very stylish, not too sure what was around the hotel as never ventured out and was coached in/out, but very central.

Breakfast was lovely, the bar was excellent and all in had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night. It is a typical business hotel.
Rooms were quite nice. Bathroom was rather small but the set up was convenient.
I disliked the bed and sheets, and did not sleep very well but that is personal taste.
Service at the reception desk was efficient, and breakfast was extensive.
I thought the isolation of the rooms was very bad; you could hear anything going on in the hallway or in the neighbour's room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belgian_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Stadtkern
IntercityHotel Essen
IntercityHotel Essen
#17 of 68 in Essen
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadtkern
TOP CCL Hotel Essener Hof
Stadtkern
Select Hotel Handelshof Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Essen

Address: Schuetzenbahn 58, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen > Ostviertel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Price Range: $53 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Hotel Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Welcome Hotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing