We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, not what we expected after reading the reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novum Hotel Arosa Essen
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Hoogeveen
1 review
“Excellent hotel, not what we expected after reading the reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a night and went with trembling after reading the reviews on this site. However, we didn't come across any of the inconveniences the reviews described!! So if you've booked here or you're thinking about it I can reassure you it would be a good call!!

We stayed at the hotel with our entire family, my parents and four other couples (my brother and sisters with their spouses). We've stayed at other hotels before wit our family and hotels would often put us on different floors. Here however, our rooms were next to each other of opposite one another. At booking the hotel the friendly staff informed us in advance the double rooms were already fully booked and they could only offer rooms they normally put single persons in. The rooms were slightly smaller than normal double rooms and the bed was 140 by 200 meters, so quite nice and cozy, but we were ok with it and it's a good thing they'd informed us in advance.

Rooms were great and had everything you needed. My sister and her husband stayed in a room with two little children and brought their own little beds. The hotel didn't even ask questions despite our lack to mention it.

In the evening we had diner in the hotel's restaurant and enjoyed our free welcome drink! Dinner was lovely and staff friendly.

Some of the pictures we found in advance were dated and a lot was renovated, like the breakfast restaurant. Breakfast was served from 6.30 till 11.00 AM which is quite extensive for hotel breakfasts. Normally we have to wake up early to make breakfast in time but now we were able to sleep in till nine and enjoy a great continental buffet breakfast!

Connectivity is great as well! There's a subway station literally right in front of the hotel which takes you to the city centre straight away. Just take the U011 and get off at Essen Hfb or the station after that and you'll be right in the centre of Essen. Great shopping and an amazing Christmasmarket, one of the biggest in Germany, in December.

We really don't know why the other reviews are as bad as they are because we simply had a marvellous time!! I'd recommend it sincerely!!

We booked our rooms through: www.hotelkamerveiling.nl and got each room for just 30 Euro!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akkerontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    30
    11
    15
See reviews for
4
12
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Normally I read reviews before I go to a hotel, but lack of time, a really cheap deal and an open mind prevented me from this. So I can give an objective view about at least one of the rooms for a stay of 2 days.
The hotel is situated in front of a subway stop so there is a perfect connection to the city centre. 5 min € 1.30.
There is free internet access in the lobby, and the staff is pretty friendly. The elevator is small, and the carpets look not like the latest trends, but they are defenately not worn or dirty either.
Unfortunately we got a room at the intersection, and with the weather in July you want to sleep with a window open, which is kinda hard with a 24 hour city as Essen. So avoid room 102 and ask for one overlooking the parking place.
The bathroom looked nice and clean, however the bottem showerdoor did not connect to the rail, which made closing the door properly a bit tricky.
The beds were good and comfy, the room had a fridge which is always handy and a TV with a surpluss of channels, including payed ones, they are not sealed off, so do not linger to long at one or you will be charged.

The breakfast was very good, many different kinds of bread, juice, fruit and other stuff, even a full English breakfast was part of the menu. So breakfast was close to 4-stars.

Funny thing when we wanted to dine at night in the Hotel restaurant, actually the restaurant next door, Amrose Stuben, and we found it completely deserted, we asked the guy behind the bar for a restaurant recommendation and he friendly pointed us to a Steakrestaurant nearby, called ISTRA, which is worth recommending to anyone who is staying in Essen or close to Martinstrasse.

Because we got an excellent deal on this hotel for a stay for 2 nights € 30,- the price value was ok, but what the hotel normally charges for a room is to much, there are better options available in Essen.

Will include picture soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
207 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

AVOID THIS HOTEL! AVOID THIS HOTEL! AVOID THIS HOTEL! AVOID THIS HOTEL!

The standard of hotels in Germany and the manner in which many treat their guests, is often questionable compared to the standards in other western countries. However, this hotel has written the book on obnoxiousness, arrogance, dishonesty and short sightedness!

Not only will they add charges to your credit card illegally, they will also charge you for rooms that you didn't book. And, when you query the charges, you will not only be charged an additional €50 "admin" fee, you will also be banned from any future visits to the hotel :-). Luckily, Visa could see how badly they behave and refunded my money in full!

Over the years I stayed at this hotel so many times (3 or 4 times a year since around 2003). Whilst far from being a 4 star hotel, it would have been considered an acceptable 3 star. However, I think there has been a change of management in the last 2 years or so, and with it have come many changes for the worse. At least I hope there has been a change, because to say it has gone downhill is an understatement! I get the impression that the managers think we are still in the year 1939, and being in positions of authority, can bully all around them. Either that or they genuinely lacking in any decent level of common sense, moral fibre, honesty or intelligence.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irish_Traveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Essen hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

Do not believe the photos that you see on their website. The actual rooms are nothing like it. The hallways are decades old, as was our room. 1970's wood panels and all. The bathroom was also decades old and didn't even have a shower curtain which meant the whole bathroom was soaked after a shower. Their prices were hyper-inflated relative to other hotels in Essen. Even if you are going to the nearby Messe Convention Centre, there are many better choices than this rip-off. The service was indifferent. Though this hotel rates itself a 4 star, the rooms and service are 2 star.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlusterYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vorarlberg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

I just stayed there the last weekend due to the FIBO in Essen. I wanted a hotel that is central and only a walk away from the expo-area. So if you are looking for that, it is a good choice to stay, only about 8 minutes walk on the RU (Rüttenscheider Strasse), the famous shopping-and restaurant street in Essen. But that was also a problem for me cause of the noise. 2 nights from the 3-night stay I couldn't sleep at all. It was really noisy from the traffic, and also the hotel itself wasn't really quiet. you could hear noise from other rooms showering and moving furniture or whatever around... regarding the rooms: very small... so we switched and took the Rü-Suite for 40 EUR more per night, great room! totally renewed and great achitecture/furnishing... has a big salon, big bathroom, but only shower, and a smaller bedroom with a 1,40 m bed... but great mattress! Very friendly stuff, good breakfast, although i was on a special diet, they prepared me egg-white omlett, only charged 13 EUR for extra stuff..

so that was it about. if you are looking for a quiet hotel you won't be satisfied at all, but if you wanna be more central and with shopping-possibilities it is a good choice. by the way: taxis are in front of the hotel and to the city-center with pedistrian district you drive about 5 min.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2006

I've been there on a business trip, but even under those circumstances the hotel was not satisfactory. The hotel could ask for an entrance fee to their ancient and slow elevators, the hallways are narrow and dark, and the interior seems to have not been renovated for about 15 to 20 years. I will try to avoid it next time.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Rüttenscheid
Hotel Jung
Hotel Jung
#34 of 68 in Essen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Rüttenscheid
Ruhr Hotel
Ruhr Hotel
#33 of 68 in Essen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rüttenscheid
Hotel Hoffmann
Hotel Hoffmann
#37 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Arosa Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Arosa Essen

Property: Novum Hotel Arosa Essen
Address: Ruettenscheider Str. 149, 45130 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Arosa Essen 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Arosa Essen is located in Essen Rüttenscheid directly on the famous boulevard Rüttenscheider Straße. The hotel is just 800 meters from the Exhibition Centre Essen offers modern and comfortably furnished rooms in the city core. The family run hotel is the ideal address for business, leisure and cultural tours. The exhibition, numerous attractions and countless corporate headquarters are located in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Arosa Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing