We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alex H
Milan, Italy

5 meters from metro, 5 minutes to Messe, 5 stars breakfast

Review of Yggotel Solsort
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 5, 2017
Perfect location to reach the fair and very rich breakfast.
If the rooms were renewed it would have deserved 5 stars.
In any case we had a very pleasant stay especially because we could walk easily to the best restaurants in town.
Next time we will be back for the Technoclassica we will book again for sure.
Date of stay: April 2016
Room Tip: despite we had a street view room it was quiet
Trip type: Traveled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$58
  • Expedia.com
    $67
  • Priceline
    $50
  • Hotels.com
    $67
1.2 miles from Yggotel Solsort
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$72
  • Expedia.com
  • Trip.com
    $67
  • Mercure
    $72
0.7 miles from Yggotel Solsort
Free Wifi
Room service
$67
  • Expedia.com
    $67
  • Priceline
    $61
  • Hotels.com
    $67
1.7 miles from Yggotel Solsort
Free Wifi
Room service
Exterior
$56
  • Expedia.com
    $56
  • Algotels
    $50
  • HolidayInn.com
1.5 miles from Yggotel Solsort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Aussenansicht
$130
  • Expedia.com
    $124
  • Vio.com
    $102
  • Hotels.com
    $124
1.2 miles from Yggotel Solsort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$76
  • Expedia.com
    $88
  • Lol.travel
    $65
  • Priceline
    $78
0.9 miles from Yggotel Solsort
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Accessible Room
$64
  • Priceline
    $73
  • B&B Hotels
    $58
  • StayForLong
1.5 miles from Yggotel Solsort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$60
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $59
  • Trip.com
1.3 miles from Yggotel Solsort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$73
$61
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    $65
  • Expedia.com
    $61
  • Hotels.com
    $61
1.8 miles from Yggotel Solsort
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$50
  • Expedia.com
    $50
  • Vio.com
    $43
  • Priceline
    $54
2.0 miles from Yggotel Solsort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Essen
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveler rating
6
22
40
21
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6
22
40
21
38
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 127 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Apparently, the place has been (and still is) under renovation for quite a while. Our taxi driver wasn't even sure the hotel was open for business. After going through a dark side-door and up two flights of stairs, we found the small, temporary front desk.

My husband and I arrived around 10pm, having pre-paid for a room with a king bed. The desk clerk, after finishing her personal phone call, checked us in and gave us our room keys, not mentioning that the room had a tiny double bed. Back to the clerk, who just shook her head and told us "Sorry, all of the rooms are full, there is nothing I can do, maybe you can switch tomorrow." We paid for the room in advance. My husband had confirmed the reservation and the bed size the week before. Her attitude was basically "take it or leave it", knowing that there was a convention in town, it was late, and we wouldn't find anything else. While some of the common areas were renovated the rooms were not. We did change from the small double bed on night one to a king (two twins pushed together) the second night. Both rooms had thin plastic mattress covers, and uncomfortable mattresses. The decor looked like it had been there since the 1950s -- dark wooden paneling and side-tables affixed to the wall with old radios inset. The second room was painted the color of orange sherbet, and had garish, cheap "art" on the walls. The bathroom had also not been updated in decades. The breakfast room and breakfast were passable, but not worth the money.

Room tip: My tip to those who want a good room: find another hotel.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SCVMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 22, 2016

The first night we arrived very late, from a long drive and were given a budget room, even through we had pre-paid for a normal twin room. The staff were apologetic and said we would be upgraded to the best room for the remainder of our stay (7 nights). Happily they kept their word. The bigger room made conference preparation much easier. The bed was comfortable and the shower had great water pressure.
The only disappointment was paying nearly 10 euros for breakfast at the hotel. However, we quickly discovered that there were plenty of bakery/cafes right around the hotel that make a wonderful breakfast. The hotel is really well located for all key amenities and an easy taxi ride to and from Messe. The taxi rank is right outside the hotel. There is also free parking on the side street, from 7pm to 10am the next morning. The staff were always friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure travel!

Room tip: The higher floors and at the back are quieter.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desiree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

Hotel is clean. Bedrooms are a good size but no air-conditioning so now in summer very hot and if you open the windows the road and street noise is disturbing. Bathroom clean but basin was cracked. No iron or fridge. Reception lady was not to friendly and did not quit understand English. Left at 5am on departure day and still got charged for breakfast. Hotel is in a excellent location with great restaurant on your door step. Breakfast is minimal but sufficient. Hotel can do with a friendliness training session for there staff.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Boyqie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 29, 2016

too many minuses for me:
- traffic noise
- no air/con
- hard bed
- tired bathroom
- door locks difficult to work
- dated room with a huge pillar in the middle
- poor service from call centre -- we were running late and room was only guaranteed till 6 so tried to call to confirm we'd be there soon. But we got incompetent handling, from sorry the room will be gone to yes you can have it but at a higher rate. Sorted eventually but not nice stress when you are trying to drive in traffic.
- breakfast a bit of a disappointment - room feels like a canteen and very average buffet
The only plus is the price - but standards too low to justify that.

I will not be back.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

It is not what it looks like on the net. My arrival and check in was smooth. The staff are nice and very helpful. They speak english and will help in any way that they can. They did not seem to know much about the area but they did their best to find out what I needed to know.

The Hotel itself is old and needs referbishment. NO AC, WIFI is weak (when it works) and I was told that none of the refrigerators in the rooms work. The location is convenient for transportation and food. There is no hotel parking but street parking is available if you can find it.

The hotel is clean but it certainly is not presented as a 4 star hotel. I stayed 1 night only because I had already paid in advance and the staff were so nice. If you are looking for something cheap then it might be ok but if you want to be comfortable and actually have fixtures that work you will be disappointed. I would not recommend this Hotel if you have high standards and expectations. If the refrigerator worked and the wifi had been more reliable ti would be an average hotel but with those basic items being non functional it is hard to give it anything better than a "poor" rating.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews