We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
31
85
31
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
85
31
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmin walkbreakfast buffetnice hotelstrassereception
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 156 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. It was acceptable, but nothing superb. The breakfast was great, but the rooms facing the street really noisy. The staff were nice and helpful.

+ parking
+ breakfast

- noisy rooms

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank ZakiK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYpsilon, Manager at Best Western Hotel Ypsilon, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Dear Zaki:

Thank you very much for your response here on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry, that the rooms facing the street where to noisy when comes to your expectations.
But we are happy, that we did meet your expectations when it comes to the breakfast buffet.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you again at the Ypsilon Hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Ralf
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

Clean , comfortable and convenient. 500m form the nearest underground. The staff were superb and deserve a special mention.
There was a large extensive choice for breakfast and the quality was good.
Would book again if I was staying in Essen.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MJC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYpsilon, Manager at Best Western Hotel Ypsilon, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Dear Sirs:
Thank you very much for your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor, it's wonderful, that you gave our hosts a special mention.
We wold be very pleased to welcoming you soon again at the Best Western Hotel Ypsilon.
Yours sincerely,
Ralf J. Hoffmann
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

The hotel staff is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean, but small. This however makes them cosy. The food is ok. I enjoyed my stay. The price/quality is very good as well. The bar is a nice place to end the evening.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Niels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf H, Manager at Best Western Hotel Ypsilon, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Dear Nils:
Thank you very much for your kind comment here on TripAdvisor.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you soon again at your Best Western Hotel Ypsilon in Essen.

Yours,
Ralf J. Hoffmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

It was serendipity at work. I really did not intend to book this hotel. But because of heavy demand in and around Essen. I was forced to look for options beyond the city center. This hotel is though not very far from the hauptbahnhof Though not walking distance from it. For access to the u bahn oneheas to walk for 10 min to a Ruttenscheider strasse. Plus is the hotel offers cycles on rent for free. Eating out options are a lot once you reach the Ruttenscheider strasse. The rooms are small but comes with minibar and coffee maker. They more than make up for anything else with large hearted service. The room was hot on a summer evening and they arranged for a portable AC right away. On another occasion the lady in the front desk really helped me to get an urgent print out. The breakfast is good. There's a restaurant also open in the evening only. I tried the Thai curry and rice and it was quite good.
Essential Sud station is 10 min walk.
Since the hotel is facing the road , I would suggest rooms o5 the backside for quiter environment . I did not experience any negatives to mention.
All in all nice hotel and staffs are always with smile on the faces. Keep it up!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank Shibasis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWYpsilon, Manager at Best Western Hotel Ypsilon, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Dear Shibasis,

that you very much for this wonderful comment here on TripAdvisor.

We would be very pleased to welcoming you soon again at your Bet Western Hotel Ypsilon.

Yours sincerely,
Ralf J. Hoffmann
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017

It's a great hotel, the staff are very polite and really professional, rooms are extra clean and organized, every service is done with attention to details. morning breakfast is nit to be missed, and the food served in the restaurant is very good.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Bilal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf H, Manager at Best Western Hotel Ypsilon, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2017

Dear Bilal: Thank you very much for you appreciation of our staff and services provided. We would be very pleased to welcoming you soon again at the Best Western Hotel Ypsilon.
Yours sincerely,
Ralf
Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews