We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Much improved”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Since my last visit this hotel has made some improvements. The rooms are much better and more cozy. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is excellent. Unfortunately still no WIFI available (??).
Location is perfect for a citybreak in Essen. Limbecker Platz is a 5-minute walk away. Within a 15 minutes drive you are at CentroO Oberhausen.

Better value for money then last year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lennart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Essen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Lennart C,

thank you very much for staying at our Holiday Inn Express Essen -City Centre.

I am glad to read that you have realized many improvements in the hotel since your last visit, especially the new design and furnishing of our rooms. Also the cleanliness of our rooms and our breakfast created a positive impression. I am wondering a little bit about your note regarding the availability of wireless internet access, as we offer a wireless connection on all guests' floors and in the public areas. Access codes are available at our front desk.

Whenever you are going to visit Essen a second time, we like to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre.

Kind regards,

Sascha Gunzer
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    166
    75
    18
    4
See reviews for
69
71
36
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I would definitely recommend the Holiday Inn Express Essen City Centre for several reasons. My stay there was very pleasant.
1. Rooms are comfortanme although it is only a three star hotel
2. Staff is service-minded and helpful and addition I was given a free late checkout
3. The hotel is close by the city centre. Only two minutes walking distance
4. A very good value for money

I hope the above comment was helpful

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there on two occasions crossing Germany. Good location, just a stroll from the city centre. Really enjoyed complementary drinks for priority club members which we got in the bar. It is a pity you cannot get food there but friendly staff got us take away. Must admit enjoy breakfast there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joasiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Essen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Joasiaw,

thank you very much for choosing our Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre again and also for your feedback.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your second stay like the first one in all ways and will provide your praise to all of our team members.
Whenever you will be back in Essen, we would be glad to welcome you again as a guest of our house.

Best regards,

Sascha Gunzer
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virgin Gorda
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for four nights at the end of September. Have stayed a couple of times in the past, and have always had good experiences here. Breakfast is delicious, and there's plenty of choice. Internet was reasonably priced, and worked very well. Front desk staff were always friendly, and quick to respond to any requests we had. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are very quiet, and lend themselves to a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crgbvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Super clean and bright and fine for one person. Good value, good location (handy to university as well as transport). The pictures in the advertising are representative - ie. the rooms do actually look like this.

As per other reviews it's nice and quiet - unless any of the other guests has a noisy child, as they did when I was there!! Either the walls are thin or the child was monstrous!!

My only gripe is the unreliable pay-per-day internet access. I had to pay separately for each device (ie. once for my phone and once again for my laptop) and getting a connection was not straightforward after that. The advertising indicated to me that internet access was included in the room rate and this really is just standard these days for anyone traveling on business - or traveling for any reason in fact!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratmousey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Essen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear ratmousey,

thank you very much for staying in our Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre and also for spending some time to give us your feedback.

We are delightd to read, that you liked our guest rooms as well as the location of our house.
Unfortunately you did not receive an internet access in a sattisfying way. Actualy we have installed a new internet line with a faster connection for our guests. A seperate access code for each device is required, due to security guide lines given by the wireless LAN provider.

Whenever you will be back in Essen, we would be glad to welcome you again as a guest of our house.

Best regards,

Sascha Gunzer
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lessingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked a twin room for 3 nights and requested a quiet room which we were duly allocated on our arrival. It looked out onto an internal courtyard and was well shielded from any noise from the square outside the front of the hotel and indeed the busy road at the rear. It wasn't overlarge but was clean, tidy and adequate providing you wern't intending spending too much time in the room apart from sleeping.The hotel itself was modern, clean and welcoming and in keeping with the other Holiday Inn Express locations we have stayed in. A continental breakfast was included in the price and was pleasant enough but a small gripe was that breakfast was advertised until 10:00am, however as so often happens in buffet situations, staff are clearing away well before finishing time and not replenishing the buffet. We arrived one morning just after 9:30 and had to ask on more than one occasion for various items that had run out.
Would stay here again as it's quiet, reasonably priced and within walking distance of the centre of Essen.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room or on the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golfe217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Essen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Golfe217,

thank you very much for spending some time to evaluate your stay in our Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre.

We are pleased to read, that you liked our guest rooms and the area where our hotel is placed, so that we were able to contribute to your pleasent stay in Essen.
Unfortunately you experienced an unfavorable breakfast handling, which we will discuss with our employees.

When you are going to visit Essen again, we like to welcome you once again in our house.

Best regards,

Sascha Gunzer
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is in pristine condition, lovely and clean, and fresh-looking. We had a queen room with sofa bed and the room was fairly spacious: nice comfy bed with pillow choice, a desk and sofa. We asked for a quiet room and were at the back of the hotel, and it was peaceful. The area the hotel is situated in is quiet though with a green out front; yet it is only 10 minutes walk away from a massive shopping mall and the underground. It was 10 mins taxi drive from the main station and there was a bus stop just across the road also.
The breakfast was continental (ie no cooked food), but there was plenty and it was adequate. The buffet area was kept tidy and it was all self-serve including hot drinks. I would stay here again as it was good value, we paid 79 euro b&b.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want it nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_Essen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear SharonKim,

thank you very much for staying in our Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit here in Essen and that we were able to make our contribution to this stay with one of our quiet guest rooms and the location of our hotel.

Whenever you are going to spend some time here in Essen again, we would like to welcome you as our guest.

Best regards,

Sascha Gunzer
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#7 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Ostviertel
Welcome Hotel Essen
Welcome Hotel Essen
#4 of 68 in Essen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre
Address: Thea-Leymann-Str. 11, 45127 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Essen
#6 Best Value Hotel in Essen
#10 Business Hotel in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect a warm welcome at the centrally located Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre, only 10 minutes by train from the convention centre and 40 minutes by taxi from Dusseldorf Airport A quiet setting by a leafy park and excellent transport links make Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre a good city-centre choice. The modern redbrick hotel is just 2 minutes' walk from Berliner Platz subway station, and it's 5 minutes' ride from there to Essen Central Station. Prepare for a busy day by fuelling up with a complimentary continental breakfast and surf the web with high-speed Internet in your peaceful Guest room. Catch up on work in the 24-hour Business Centre, or get colleagues together in the meeting room. Your base at Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre is just 500m from Thyssen Krupp business park and close to major companies like Bitmarck. Essen has gone from industrial powerhouse to creative trailblazer as the European Capital of Culture 2010. Stroll to the centre to see the medieval cathedral, or test your nerve on the themed rollercoasters at Movie Park Bottrop, 20 minutes by train from the hotel. Relax on a sofa in the lively Lobby while surfing the web with wireless Internet, or meet for drinks and snacks in sociable Blue Moon Bar. Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre's friendly staff can suggest local restaurants and help you plan your day. Up to 2 Children under 18 stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Our hotel staff speaks English and Polish. We are looking forward to your visit to the Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Essen - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Essen
Essen Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing