We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel with pluses and minuses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Antwerp
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with pluses and minuses”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here one night while attending the great board games convention that runs from Thursday to Sunday.
Quality hotel. Kept in excellent condition with friendly staff.
Down point is they charge you for parking (15 Euros). Plus point is the buffet breakfast is included in the total room price. Don't be fooled by their "park" view as it is really "parking" view. Another plus point is they are just a short walk from the subway and they are easy to get to from the expressway. The front desk is very nice and will hold you luggage if you come before check in. Minibar is also in the room with minimum price of 3 Euros for a drink. Beds are a bit on the soft side, airco/heating is great. Room is nice and the shower is as warm as you want it and strong.

The Buffet was good, but not excellent. Scrambled eggs were cold and runny like they were made from powdered eggs and not fresh eggs. When I went through for my last run it seemed they had been sitting in the holding pan over a flame that went dead halfway through the holding time. On the other end of the egg spectrum, the omelet was fantastic and they make it to order. You can also have hard boiled cold eggs. In the waffles and pancakes section, they should know better than to put a batch of pancakes out under just a heat lamp and not over a flame or a hot plate. They were stone cold when I came through the line the first time. On the other hand, you can get a fresh hot small rectangle "Belgian" waffle from the same cook that is doing the eggs. Being vegetarian I did not try their "hot" meats. On the cold side, cold meat slices, cheeses and sliced cucumbers topped with cream cheese. I tried the cucumbers with plain soft cream cheese and also with herbed cheese. That was tasty! I could go on and on about the buffet, but then you would have nothing to look forward to. Dinning room staff are also very friendly and they clear your plate as soon as you leave it and go for another trip through the buffet.

With the exception of the two cold items on the buffet this is a very good place to stay.
But be aware that if a rock concert is happening in the Grugahalle just a short distance away and your room is on the front side, you will hear the bass a little bit through the glass. Our visit coincided with a rock concert by a Polish band that was playing the same night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat_American
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulrichschreiber, Verkaufsleiter at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your kind and extensive feedback regarding the ATLANTIC Essen.
We are a bit confused as our Park View rooms do not have a view at the fair and the parking place - these are our City View rooms. We are sorry that you have not been 100& satisfied with our breakfast buffet.

We would be very happy to welcome you again during the next SPIEL fair.
With kind regards,
the ATLANTIC-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    121
    19
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
57
19
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
340 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have used this hotel twice now in order to have a hospitality suite during the Security Essen show.

Pros:
+ The hotel is immediately next to the exhibition hall and therefore it is easy to get people to come and meet with you in your suite. If you are working at or attending an exhibition, you can very easily walk back and forth between your hotel and the messe (exhibition hall). In the past I have stayed in Mulheim and took the 30-40 minute train ride since my boss had the suite as his room.
+ It is a nice hotel in that it is clean and reasonably modern.
+ The hotel is a 20 minute taxi (50 euro) ride from DUS.
+ It's a short walk to a street with decent restaurants that are MUCH cheaper than the hotel's.
+ The staff is very friendly and most speak English well. Sorry, but I travel to so many countries that I cannot possibly learn more than the polite phrases that they use in their language. I am bilingual though.

Cons:
- VERY expensive. Our suite, my room, was 439 euros per night. If you want to pretend it's 1999 and the dollar and the euro are on par, it's not a bad rate I guess for a suite. They're not on par though. My two colleagues' rooms were 289 per night for standard rooms.
- The on-site restaurant is very expensive and the food is not that great. Two of us ate for 180 euros and had a marginal (overcooked and salty) meal. If you're a vegetarian, you'll be eating cheese pizza, but that's Germany in general.
- Although you get a letter telling you, when you have a suite, that you have access to the Club Lounge for coctails/apps and breakfast and that they were included, the front desk still wanted to charge me 23 euros for a very minimal breakfast. The breakfast downstairs is the same price, but you have many, many, many more items to choose from. 23 euros is steep for breakfast unless you ignore the exchange rate, but it is highway robbery for the abbreviated breakfast they serve in the "Club Lounge".
- Wireless internet is included, but it is worthless. If you go into the Club Lounge you have decent connectivity. In my 439 euro suite my PC said the signal level was poor. I was in 612, two doors down from the lounge. In the bar it was fine but slow due to the other users. Skype and corporate VPN did not work at all from my room. Expensive cell phone and data bill as a result, and all that at 439 per night!
- The fitness center is not as small, in EU terms, as other reviews indicate, but the equipment is old and some of it is not working properly (elliptical trainer and multi-function weight machine in particular). I've been in better fitness centers in Hong Kong hotels where I was certain that old, used equipment from the US had been sent, and they were better than what they have here.
- My window was broken when I checked into my room. The glass was OK, but the window was not able to be latched. I took a nap due to my long flight and woke up to gale force winds blowing rain into my room. They fixed it quickly, but the housekeeping staff should have taken care of contacting maintenance when they cleaned the room before I checked in.
- The chairs around the table in the suite do not roll. They are heavy. The hotel could put teflon gliders on the legs so they would be easier to move, but they haven't. It's a pain in the backside for you and your visitors.
- GSM cell phone coverage is erratic throughout the hotel. Some times you have zero bars, and other times 5. Stand still if you don't want to drop a call.
- In typical EU fashion, the bathroom was designed for style rather than usability. Expect that you will exit the shower to find a very wet floor outside of the shower door. Put a towel down before you get in in addition to the bath mat they provide.
- Housekeeping took one of the towels I had tossed into the bath tub and hung it up on one of the towel hanging knobs as if I had done so in order to excuse them from removing it and replacing it with a new one. I have paid $89 per night for US hotels that would not have done similarly. I paid 439 euros a night for this?

Room Tip: Don't stay in 612 if you want/need good internet access!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamaica_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulrichschreiber, Manager at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback regarding the ATLANTIC Essen.
We are very sorry that you stay with us was not as comfortable as expected.

We are happy to give you feedback regarding some of your points:

Rome rate: Regarding your room rate please note that you stayed with us during SECURITY, a world trade fair. Due to this special event room rates - as in every town - have been higher as in low seasons. Please alsoo note, that you stayed at one of your suites.
WifI: we are sorry that your signal has not been very good. We have rooters on every floor and check the signal regullary so that this is available throughout the hotel.
GSM: we are a bit confused about this as we are also a certified business hotel which guarantees a GSM cell phone coverage throughout the hotel. Of course, as in every building, singal is not very good within elevators and so on.
Bathroom: there is a dedicated towel for the shower so that the floor doesn´t get wet.
Breakfast: You are right regarding the fact, that the usage of our club lounge is included on dedicated dates. Invoicing you for breakfast was not correct and we are sorry about this. As you know we are in personal contact with you fixing this issue.

With kind regards
the ATLANTIC-team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Atlantic Congress hotel in Essen. The hotel was opened in 2011 and is inside very modern and also very comfortable. One of the best hotels we ever had. It was very busy with business-men, so we get a free upgrade to a junior suite of the clubroom floor (6th floor)! The suite was about 75 m2, with a half-seperated room to sit down, with all equipment and a seperated bedroom. In every room a flatscreen-TV. The bathroom was amazing: very large and also very modern with 3 showers and a bath. The bed was of high quality and a guarantee for a good sleep. Because everything was new, it all looks great. The surrounding was rather quiet; some traffic and also aircrafts to the near Dusseldorf. With close windows it is very quiet. You could arrange the (silent) climat-controle (A/C); sometimes it was difficult to get the temperature less than 23 C degrees. The A/C was not always strong enough. A problem in many hotels. We always use our own thermometer, to sleep well. The tube and buses are in front of the door. Also a covered parking.
The breakfast was also awful; you get everything you wanted; even salmon and sekt. There was still a cook present, for making your wanted eggs. The staff was young but very attentive to clean the tables when needed. Essen and surrounding: industrial world herritage Unesco. We can recommend this hotel to everyon

Room Tip: On the 6th floor is the club floor with the suites. Front rooms are many a little more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulrichschreiber, Verkaufsleiter at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your detailed feedback regarding the ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen.
We are very happy that your stay with us was a pleasure.

We would be very happy to welcome you again very soon in Essen,
With kind regards
the ATLANTIC team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Sleekly modern. Free full-strength Internet service even on third floor; breakfast beyond the usual with chef available; very attentive staff; room was spacious with exceptional bathroom, good climate control; instant elevators.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middleage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Verkaufsleiter at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your feedback!

We would be happy to welcome you again very soon in Essen.
With kind regards, the ATLANTIC team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Restaurant - great.

Powerful shower.

Quiet, even with Italy playing football one night!

Great restaurant, super bar.

All in all, a great choice - the best we've found so far in Essen.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulrichschreiber, Verkaufsleiter at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding the ATLANTIC Essen.
We are very proud to be your no. 1 so far and we would be very happy to welcome you again very soon.

With kind regards
the ATLANTIC team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A great hotel if you are in the small town of Essen. It's situated right next to the conference centre and on the edge of the town, so it's ideal for conference organisers/attendees but less convenient for tourists. There's a big pleasure park behind the conference centre too, although you must pay for entrance.

The Atlantic Congress is of a modern style - featureless, sporting lots of glass, steel and wood. I felt like I was staying in an office building, actually. The bar is not exactly cosy, nor is the restaurant, but the food is delicious with top-notch friendly service by their multi-lingual staff.

Wi-fi access is complimentary and, once you've logged on you can roam from your room to the lobby to the restaurant with no loss of coverage. There are nice power showers in the rooms, but no bath tubs, and the beds are comfortable with the air conditioning pleasant and adjustable.

In conclusion then, a well-run business hotel with everything you need for a few days of hard work. Less ideal for leisure, a family stay or a romantic break.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeBizTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Verkaufsleiter at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your detailed post about our hotel, which surprised us a little bit.

The entire interior design has been developed exclusively for our hotel because it is supposed to represent our city and region. Essen ist beside Hanover and Magdeburg the third-greenest city in Germany. Visitors who visit for the first time our city are always surprised by Essen´s green places. That is why at the hotel the colors brown, gray and green dominate. Brown and gray are representing coal mining, derelict industrial land in the region and so on. These colors are always combined with a "surprising" green, which represents the unexpected nature of the region. Throughout the building you find our distinctive tree structures as a central element in our corporate identity, which is implemented in various forms - whether as a wallpaper in our room or as a mosaic element in our suites. We regret that we do not met your taste.

Please also allow us to remark, that the city centre of Essen is only 3.5km away and can be easily reached in 5 minutes with the underground. There is a station directly in front of the hotel.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at our ATLANTIC Essen very soon.
With kind regards,
the ATLANTIC Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Staying here for a week long conference the staff, service, amenities were superb for a Business event.
Coach loads of people still never waited more than a couple for minutes for a drink at the bar. The staff were very efficient at all levels (breakfast, lunch and dinner). The range of food was excellent, catering for so many tastes and needs.
The room was perfectly comfortable and modern. Tiny wish, Conditioner for hair.
This hotel was really faultless- I cant recommend it enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheClanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticessen, Verkaufsleiter at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you very much for the nice comment - we would be happy to welcome you again very soon!

Kind regards
the ATLANTIC team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#6 of 68 in Essen
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostviertel
Welcome Hotel Essen
Welcome Hotel Essen
#4 of 68 in Essen
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen

Property: ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen
Address: Norbertstr. 2a, 45131 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing