We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atlantic hotel, very comfortable and very modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Atlantic Congress hotel in Essen. The hotel was opened in 2011 and is inside very modern and also very comfortable. One of the best hotels we ever had. It was very busy with business-men, so we get a free upgrade to a junior suite of the clubroom floor (6th floor)! The suite was about 75 m2, with a half-seperated room to sit down, with all equipment and a seperated bedroom. In every room a flatscreen-TV. The bathroom was amazing: very large and also very modern with 3 showers and a bath. The bed was of high quality and a guarantee for a good sleep. Because everything was new, it all looks great. The surrounding was rather quiet; some traffic and also aircrafts to the near Dusseldorf. With close windows it is very quiet. You could arrange the (silent) climat-controle (A/C); sometimes it was difficult to get the temperature less than 23 C degrees. The A/C was not always strong enough. A problem in many hotels. We always use our own thermometer, to sleep well. The tube and buses are in front of the door. Also a covered parking.
The breakfast was also awful; you get everything you wanted; even salmon and sekt. There was still a cook present, for making your wanted eggs. The staff was young but very attentive to clean the tables when needed. Essen and surrounding: industrial world herritage Unesco. We can recommend this hotel to everyon

Room Tip: On the 6th floor is the club floor with the suites. Front rooms are many a little more noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulrichschreiber, Verkaufsleiter at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your detailed feedback regarding the ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen.
We are very happy that your stay with us was a pleasure.

We would be very happy to welcome you again very soon in Essen,
With kind regards
the ATLANTIC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 377 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

Sleekly modern. Free full-strength Internet service even on third floor; breakfast beyond the usual with chef available; very attentive staff; room was spacious with exceptional bathroom, good climate control; instant elevators.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Middleage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your feedback!

We would be happy to welcome you again very soon in Essen.
With kind regards, the ATLANTIC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Restaurant - great.

Powerful shower.

Quiet, even with Italy playing football one night!

Great restaurant, super bar.

All in all, a great choice - the best we've found so far in Essen.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulrichschreiber, Verkaufsleiter at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding the ATLANTIC Essen.
We are very proud to be your no. 1 so far and we would be very happy to welcome you again very soon.

With kind regards
the ATLANTIC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

A great hotel if you are in the small town of Essen. It's situated right next to the conference centre and on the edge of the town, so it's ideal for conference organisers/attendees but less convenient for tourists. There's a big pleasure park behind the conference centre too, although you must pay for entrance.

The Atlantic Congress is of a modern style - featureless, sporting lots of glass, steel and wood. I felt like I was staying in an office building, actually. The bar is not exactly cosy, nor is the restaurant, but the food is delicious with top-notch friendly service by their multi-lingual staff.

Wi-fi access is complimentary and, once you've logged on you can roam from your room to the lobby to the restaurant with no loss of coverage. There are nice power showers in the rooms, but no bath tubs, and the beds are comfortable with the air conditioning pleasant and adjustable.

In conclusion then, a well-run business hotel with everything you need for a few days of hard work. Less ideal for leisure, a family stay or a romantic break.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeBizTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your detailed post about our hotel, which surprised us a little bit.

The entire interior design has been developed exclusively for our hotel because it is supposed to represent our city and region. Essen ist beside Hanover and Magdeburg the third-greenest city in Germany. Visitors who visit for the first time our city are always surprised by Essen´s green places. That is why at the hotel the colors brown, gray and green dominate. Brown and gray are representing coal mining, derelict industrial land in the region and so on. These colors are always combined with a "surprising" green, which represents the unexpected nature of the region. Throughout the building you find our distinctive tree structures as a central element in our corporate identity, which is implemented in various forms - whether as a wallpaper in our room or as a mosaic element in our suites. We regret that we do not met your taste.

Please also allow us to remark, that the city centre of Essen is only 3.5km away and can be easily reached in 5 minutes with the underground. There is a station directly in front of the hotel.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at our ATLANTIC Essen very soon.
With kind regards,
the ATLANTIC Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Staying here for a week long conference the staff, service, amenities were superb for a Business event.
Coach loads of people still never waited more than a couple for minutes for a drink at the bar. The staff were very efficient at all levels (breakfast, lunch and dinner). The range of food was excellent, catering for so many tastes and needs.
The room was perfectly comfortable and modern. Tiny wish, Conditioner for hair.
This hotel was really faultless- I cant recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheClanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticessen, Verkaufsleiter at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for the nice comment - we would be happy to welcome you again very soon!

Kind regards
the ATLANTIC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a great place if you are attending a trade fair as it nearly shares the same cul de sac with the exhibition centre. Lobby has clean lines and minimalistic, with unusually low sofas and chairs. Check-in was efficient.

The room was a decent size, and looked new with pleasant colours. Overall, still a minimalistic look. Toiletries didn't come across as luxurious but still acceptable. The wifi is a bonus, with good speed. The bed was comfortable.

The gym was surprisingly small with a few equipment and I could not find anyone to help me get started on them early in the morning. I chanced across a rooftop patio linked to the gym/spa, which was quite pleasant.

Buffet breakfast had a good spread including bubblies! There was a decent bread collection, egg station and warm food like sausages. I could not find another dining outlet within the hotel.

The best feature is probably the location meters away from the U Bahn at the Messe Hall, walking distance to the trendy restaurants at Ruttenscheid and my personal favorite, meters away from the most wonderful park, Grugapark.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment about our hotel.
We are sorry that you couldn´t find anyone to help you to get started within our fitness area.
If you need any help just press the "reception" button on the service phone and one of my colleagues will be happy to assist you 24h.

We would be happy to welcome you again very soon!
With kind regards,
the ATLANTIC team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Hotel is suitable for business travellers . Extremely quite , away from center . Rooms are clean and very high speed free interne

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank future2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticessen, Verkaufsleiter at ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2012

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment!
Please note, that the hotel is only 3,5km away from the city centre which can be reached within 5-10 minutes by taxi or 6 minutes with the underground (nearast station directly in front of the hotel). If you would like to shop or to have dinner after work the "RÜ" - Essen´s boutique & restaurant area- is just around the corner in walking distance.

We would be happy to welcome you again very soon.
Kind reagards, the ATLANTIC Essen team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essen hotels
Südviertel
Mercure Hotel Plaza Essen
Sheraton Essen Hotel
#9 of 68 in Essen
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rüttenscheid
Hotel Maximilians
Hotel Maximilians
#16 of 68 in Essen
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen

Address: Norbertstr. 2a, 45131 Essen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Essen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Essen
Price Range: $114 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your ATLANTIC Congress Hotel Essen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing