We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculous comment from room Service lady”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Duisburg
Reviewed July 17, 2009

First time every I heard that room service lady is complain about customer. Complain about water is flooded in bathroom. She might be right about complaining however it was so difficult to avoid water flood due to shower was poorly designed. First fix your shower then start to complain. I booked for two weeks and I paid in advance otherwise I would change hotel immiataly after this comment. Second why comment was not made to concern party why it was reported as general comment to whole my colleague. It was not professional reaction.

I believe hotel should be rake 3 star maximum. Nothing to be highlight about hotel nothing is so special. No GYM I mean real GYM. Small close swimming pool. Breakfast was ok. Service was so poor one lady in receptions she was so serious I do not no why. She never smile. There is only one advantage in this hotel which is location it was close to center and train station.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohamedAlJilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 61 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

Most important to me: room was quiet, location is close to train station (approx. 6 blocks, 20-minute walk), front desk staff courteous and helpful. Excellent breakfast buffet. Downtown location, easy walk to shops. I loved that my room looked out on the square below, that I could have my window open and watch the people coming and going, that I could hear the street sounds. I walked just down the block to the sidewalk cafes and had a delightful evening meal outside. There was no A/C, so it was a little warm in the evening, but I opened my window wide and it was cool enough to sleep comfortably. I used the PC in the lobby to check email, only problem was you had to hit the keys very hard and type slowly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poodlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

This is nice four star hotel, located not too far from the main pedestrian area in Duisburg. Only problem was that I was told the room had Internet access via a T-mobile HotSpot. It didn't. I could choose between an ethernet connection (€5 for 16 hours) or using the HotSpot in the lobby. Breakfast was good! My room was quite large.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeamusUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Nikola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joop v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dano284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duisburg hotels
Wyndham Duisburger Hof
#3 of 37 in Duisburg
267 reviews
Hotel Conti Duisburg
#1 of 37 in Duisburg
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dellviertel
IntercityHotel Duisburg
IntercityHotel Duisburg
#7 of 37 in Duisburg
15 reviews
ferrotel Duisburg
#13 of 37 in Duisburg
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Duesseldorfer Str. 54, 47051 Duisburg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Duisburg > Dellviertel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Duisburg
Price Range: $123 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hotel Plaza Duisburg Opposite the Kant-park with its famous Lehmbruck Museum, close to the center of Duisburg and the modern inner harbor, the casino and the theater/opera house, we offer our guests in our hotel in the Delldistrict a comfortable family atmosphere and recreation at a high level. Our quiet, comfortable and spacious rooms and suites all have shower/bathtub, hairdryer, cosmetic mirror, satellite TV, ISDN telephones, air conditioning or portable air conditioners. In addition to our comfy bar in the lobby, a swimming/pool, a sauna, a steam bath and a solarium are available. Because of the excellent location of the Plaza Hotel, it is just a few minutes walk to the historic center of Duisburg and the modern shopping streets, where you will find numerous exclusive, international orientated shops, bars and restaurants. The city of Duisburg is located at the estuary of the Ruhr and Rhine, one of the busiest rivers in Europe. The city is therefore the center of the industrial, commercial, educational and sport activities of the Lower Rhine. Concerning Infrastructure, Duisburg is ideally located in the hub of a dense inter-regional highway, rail and waterway network, which connects it to the Ruhrgebiet, the largest industrial conurbation in Europe. In addition, there is access to all parts of Germany and its neighboring countries. The nearby Dusseldorf International Airport can be reached from Duisburg in just a few minutes. Duisburg - a city with many faces. Industrial culture and recreation areas such as the Six-Lakes-Plain and the Sports Park Wedau, cultural attractions such as the Duisburg Zoo, several museums, theater, opera and sporting highlights – the city invites you to discover all its different aspects of entertainment. We look forward to your visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HRS, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing