We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn't want more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Duisburg City
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Duisburg
London, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You couldn't want more”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Excellent hotel in every respect. Rooms are a good size, spotlessly clean and well-equipped. Nice bathroom with toiletries.

The breakfast (included) had everything anyone could want - hot and cold choices, juices, cereals, lovely breads and pastries.

We found the free internet in reception useful. Also regarding reception, the staff there were very efficient and friendly.

It is a very short walk to the shopping centre and train station (which is one stop from Dusseldorf airport).

Room Tip: We had a standard room and that was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    278
    185
    33
    20
See reviews for
141
160
71
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Mercure Duisburg. The bed was reasonably comfortable, the windows could not be opened because of traffic noise, so the air quality made the room less comfortable. We asked for a non smoking room, but the previous guest or guests had been smoking in the room, which was still noticeable. We were immediately given another room on the same (non smoking) floor, which was clean and fresher than the first one. The parking facility was nice, breakfast was great. The hotel is in walking distance of the shops. Staff is friendly and helpful, so we would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've stayed here twice now, with basically the same experience. The rooms are clean. The staff are reasonable (although we didn't ask much of them).

The last time I stayed with a colleague in a room with separate beds. They were separated by about 20cm, but that was ok.

The double doors to the hallway really cut down on the noise, which was important because our room this time was across from the elevator.

Walking to the hotel from the train station is no problem. We also walked to the city center (~3 minute walk), to meet colleagues at the IBIS hotel at the station (~2 minute walk), and to part of the university campus (~15 minute walk).

We refused to pay the ~20 eur for breakfast, and instead found a perfectly acceptable coffee house about 2 minutes away... I ate pastry + juice for less than 4 eur.

I'll stay there again, as long as the price is competitive.

Room Tip: If you need separate beds, explicitly ask for them. They have them, even though the web site implie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank americanInItaly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had a one night stay here in April. Booking through booking.com, rate of 83 euro for 2 was good. No breakfast included. Room was standard. Shower good. Beds were very nice, so had a good nights sleep.
Parking facility was nice, though you had to pay a bit extra for it. Clean and well maintained.
Check-in staff nice and polite.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kratama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

All the positive reviews speaks for themselves !

Great hotel for a short family trip or business - great breakfast with everything - including a waffle stand !

A nice little pool was great for us - especially our 6 year old daughter, who also enjoyed the small play area.

The hotel is with in walking distance of the inner harbour of Duisburg and just next to the pedestrian mile "Königstrasse" with great shopping

Surely one of the best deals we have had in a long time.

We booked through Lidl Reisen in combination with a trip to Movie Park Germany and paid 267 € for 3 nights accomodation with breakfast including entrance fee to the Movie Park - hard to beat !

Surely thumbs up from us !

Only minor detail is that the hotel advertises a fitness studio, but actually you have to pay seperately for it, and it is in a next door building :(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank callelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night on a business trip and was completely happy with the hotel - service, cleanliness, room quality, breakfast, price etc. Would be happy to stay there again and to recommned it to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Nicely located - close to RailwayStation and Duisburg center as well. Got a room at street side of building but not arduous noises even with opened window. Single room with double bed so sleeped very comfortable. Breakfast included however I did not eat(preffer to sleep longer:) ). Free acces to swiming pool and some gym but not sure if free as well. Unfortunately no special parking for guests but for 5e per day you can park behind hotel building.

Room Tip: top floor, street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karaluchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Duisburg hotels
Wyndham Duisburger Hof
#3 of 37 in Duisburg
217 reviews
Hotel Conti Duisburg
#2 of 37 in Duisburg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dellviertel
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 37 in Duisburg
57 reviews
Dellviertel
B&B Hotel Duisburg
B&B Hotel Duisburg
#20 of 37 in Duisburg
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Duisburg City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Duisburg City

Property: Mercure Hotel Duisburg City
Address: Landfermannstr. 20, 47051 Duisburg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Novotel)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Duisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Duisburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in Duisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Duisburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star hotel Mercure Duisburg City offers 162 comfortable rooms in an exclusive city location, close to the trade fair and congress centres in Essen and Dusseldorf. Have a cocktail and relax in our hotel bar Marina Lounge, then spoil yourselfin theMarina Club restaurant. Our five multifunctional conference rooms offer the perfect setting for all your functions for up to 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Duisburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Duisburg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing