We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”
Review of Im Fuchschen

Im Fuchschen
Ranked #10 of 1,844 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visited on a Saturday afternoon. Restaurant was quite crowded and I figured I'd have to wait a while for my meal. Absolutely not!

Within literally one minute of my being seated, the server took my drink order. When he brought it (very quickly), he took my lunch order. Lunch was served in less than 5 minutes and the server came by many times to ensure I was happy/take additional drink orders, etc. The sauerbrauten was hot and tasty -- more than enough food.

If you're looking for authentic German cuisine, this is the place. Do note that it is a casual restaurant and you will likely eat at a large table with other people. However, it's not a brewery. Great place to eat casual but not what I'd recommend for a romantic meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MisstheDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    467
    85
    20
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
co springs, co
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“service pathetic”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

ya, ich denke das service war schrecklicht


so my german is bad pathetic wait staff, I can cook, I go to a place to be waited upon, it was terrible

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nlcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“German stodge at it's best!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Meat, potatoes, dumplings galore, all served in a wholesome ambiance.

The food arrived literally 5 mins following our order!

The house beer was good.

The waiter we had was a little patronising, if this is what you want, I guess you'll be content.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarnseyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“has its own flair”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Fuchsen has its own unbeatable flair. Just can't describe tho others ain't worse in service or food. Somehow it just feels better there. Location is good, service excellent, food German and beer Düsseldorf.Definitely value for money!

Helpful?
Thank zizi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Situated in the old town, it isn't difficult to find, especially if you locate the road on a map.

Im Fuchschen is a beer house, one of many in Dusseldorf, similar in style to the English pubs, offering beer, pub food and more beer. Decor is a tavern style, mainly wood, with no fancy seating and uncomfortable benches, the traditional way. Seating is for the mass of people, with tables placed next to each other, place is noisy, something you expect from such places.

Menus is big and explained also in English. I opted for a pork neck, and it was fine. A variety of dishes is included in the menu, you'll definately like something.

Don't expect top quality food, but for what you're paying, it's excellent value for money, and a place like this, is a must visit while you're in Dusseldorf.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noble-taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Im Fuchschen also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Im Fuchschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing