We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Im Fuchschen

Im Fuchschen
Ranked #9 of 1,786 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Altstadt
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A very disappointing experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were recommended to go to this well-know small-brewery/eatery by the people at our hotel and were sorry that we had bothered. By night it probably looks ok but by day it is grubby and un-appealing; we had a beer and left as we did not want to risk eating there. The menu consists of what the average tourist likes to think of as "typical German food" but modern German food bears no resemblance to the tired old offerings on the menu. The beer is ok and served in small glasses. The place is popular with tourists who want to enjoy a communal experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joanb255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    428
    81
    19
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
103 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“If Gerfman tradition is what you want”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I visited with some German work associates and was treated to the usual German pub hospitality. The menu is not extensive but does have seasonal specials and the regular German treats. The meals are of a good size and probably should be shared so you have room for a desert. Not that there are any specific desserts I would normally look forward to. The beer is brewed on the premises and is very good. I like the way the staff run around with big trays of beer and are ready to replace the empty glasses on the table just placing another pencil stroke on the beer mat you have. The service was very attentive and it was packed all night on a Thursday. I would recommend this and will certainly return when I can. Great food and great beer.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“German cousine at its best.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Good for companies to spent some proper time with delicious beer and best German cousine. Absolutely a must in Dusseldorf.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anton_Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is germany on is't best! Supersized and happy! A must!!!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Im Fuchschen is like millions of others a brewery where they serve you beer out of 2 ml glasses so it is always fresh and feed you with the best of what germany can offer. There is simply nothing more uber German then a beer hall, to explain it in simple terms for people not so familiar with the german culture, a beer hall like Im Fuchschen is October-fest every day of the year. Now if Im Fuchschen is the best brewer is up to your preference, if you like dark or light beer; simply down to taste. Im Fuchschen is one of my favorites I have never been able to finish my food and I don't think I can ever remember leaving Im Fuchschen. Just one of the things you will have to do if you are not German. And how well they do it, keep it simple and fast, a mega feast of every animal there is. Trust me when I say, go smile and bring large pants, you might gain a ton or two, but hey! your hitting the town let yourself be spoiled!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
1 review
“Solid och genuine experience.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Real german beer and food served in a great atmosphere. Simple with the two kinds of beer, rapid and organized waiters. Just the way I like it in Germany. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nils-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Im Fuchschen also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Im Fuchschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing