We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Zum Schiffchen

Zum Schiffchen
Ranked #19 of 1,814 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Called here one evening during our stay for some typical German fare. Very large restaurant, warm, friendly atmosphere, attentive staff. Not cheap compared to some other similar places in the city. My wife had Schnitzel which she thoroughly enjoyed, but she is a big fan of Bratkartoffeln (German roast potatoes) and thought that these were poor. I had roast ham knuckle - dry as old sticks. Given the price, I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    423
    122
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in the old city near the Rhine”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

A large, but cosy restaurant. It was very busy, but we managed to get a table.
Fast service by a friendly waiter. There was a nice " old" beer served. The food was nice, not the best, the schnitzels could have done with a little less breadcrums but the meat was more than o.k.
Anyway, we would go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whitelionHaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
272 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First class restaurant, excellent food and service”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

It is an annual tradition to visit this restaurant in connection with Medica. The waiters are polite, the food comes fast and is of high quality. We visited Zum Schiffchen twice during our stay of 5 days. Perfect and highly recommended also because of the superb ambiance.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter Andras C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Ridiculous portions”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Dusseldorf Xmas markets for the weekend, arrived starving and just wanted some traditional warming fair and used trip advisor app near me now feature which came up with this place.

Busy Saturday lunchtime obviously popular with locals, large number of family groups. Though that said we were seated straight away and service was brisk, food arrived within 10 mins of ordering and it was massive!

I had the pork knuckle it was the size of a leg of lamb, plus potatoes and coleslaw (amazing crackling), my husband had oxe cheeks which came with the most glorious gravy (we ordered bread just to mop it up)

Main course plus drink each came to €50, but I don't think I'll eat again today (though may squeeze some gingerbread in later!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahstevensonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijk bij Duurstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“German experience”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had our dinner here on a Saturday night with a reservation. As we were having our dinner there, some people were watching a soccer match, causing quite a lot of noise. Waitress was very friendly, but since she had to serve almost the whole restaurant, we had to wait quite long for our orders. Probably this will not be the case on any other night. Typical German food for a very reasonable price. We would like to visit Zum Schiffchen again on a night when there are no soccer matches :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _b_meeuwissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Schiffchen also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Zum Schiffchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing