We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Unexpected delight!”
Review of Sila Thai

Sila Thai
Ranked #13 of 1,814 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadt-Mitte
Amersfoort, Netherlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wow. Unexpected delight!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were actually planning to go to the Altstad for some food, but I saw a small article in one of these advertisement magazines in our hotel room. It was about Sila Thai, and a quick check on TripAdvisor made us change our plans. We just wen't to this Thai restaurant.

We just walked to the restaurant and were lucky to get a table: this place is busy and you want normally need reservations. The staff was very, very friendly and the atmosphere was really good. Everything inside the restaurant is imported from Thailand, so I guess this helps it trying to get some Thai atmosphere in this place.
We had the big 2-person menu and it was no disappointment! It started of perfectly with a cocos/lemon chicky soup. Very tasty and I liked the lemon flavour. Second appetizer was a plate with a variety of of warm fried items. Also very good.
The main course consisted of 4 different meals, including spicy and non-spicy food. Fish and meat. Excellent!
Even the dessert was perfectly tasteful (fried banana with ice-cream).

And the best: it was not even expensive. We paid 95 euros, for two people, including drinks, coffee, etc.
I would certainly go back !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    222
    71
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant in my opinion is the best restaurant in the whole of Dusseldorf, fantastic food, fantastic service!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scunnin224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had a lot of trouble finding great Thai out of Thailand. In the USA and other places in Europe not so easy. Sometimes it is not spicy enough, other times, not enough nam pla fish sauce. Sometimes curries are watered down. This one is excellent and satisfying each time. Wonderful service and atmosphere. I use to live in Thailand working in Bangkok for 6 months. Also traveled there about 10 other times on holiday so I know great Thai food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HobartMJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This Restaurant is amazing, the food was delicious. The best Thai food I have ever had!!! Would recommend this for everyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lukey2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pistoia, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“smoke of East....”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Restaurant uses very fresh vegetables but which have nothing to do with oriental cuisine: what does it means: tomato, broccoli and parsley in this kind of restaurant? The plates tested (Tauhu kig and Gai phad kin, chicken and tofu) were composed of fresh vegetables but not well cooked: the flavors were mixed with decidedly western flavor! The ginger was used in lyophilized powder and not like the typical root spice known, tofu taste bad with rubber consistence. This restaurant founds good products on the local german market but can not cook according to the typical eastern recipe.
What is most shocking is the very high prices for a restaurant very poor and even more
international recognition by TripAdvisor and Michelin guide!
Nice the location and waiters.
Germans wake up, this is not the oriental cuisine!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pantagantua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sila Thai also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Sila Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing