We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dusseldorf
from $12.35
More Info
from $12.35
More Info
from $26.95
More Info
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
38
27
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
38
27
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ruined castle rhine river ruins banks boat history restaurants beer shops
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 68 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

When I'm in Europe I like to see as many castles as I can. Some are in great shape and some are in ruins. It doesn't matter… This is history you just need to absorb it.I am told this is one of the oldest parts of Düsseldorf. The castle is named Barbarossa. When I ask folks at the front desk of my hotel…they had never heard of it. Of course my German is pretty bad… Ha ha ha. However I found it. It makes a nice little excursion and walk when you're in town.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank hoosier63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

This place is steeped in history. And not widely known, unless you're a local, or know a local. Very interesting eclectic things to do here.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Merilyn_S_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017

If you are looking for quaint German town, with a ruined castle, great historic architecture, and nice places to sit and people watch with a drink, this will suit you. On the banks of the mighty Rhine it's a nice place to visit

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank TheUBoatcommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

The Ruin of the castle Barbarossa is still looking over the river Rhine. Great walk for all seasons. All kind of cosy restaurants around. The top event of all is : using the car ferry from Kaiserswerth trough the river Rhine to Buederich and Moenchenwerth or even further on to the Netherlands.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Puffinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017

If nothing else to do and you like going back in time you can visit Kaiserswerth. Major part of Duesseldorf's history started from here.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank GMACNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews