We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the 5th star is for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kushi-Tei Of Tokyo

Kushi-Tei Of Tokyo
Ranked #21 of 1,775 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Stadt-Mitte
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
202 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“the 5th star is for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

everything was awesome...but let me introduce to this place
it's a little bit hidden but once you discover the "gate" to the Japanese paradise, no regret to step in
the atmosphere is pretty authentic with plenty of japanese going there for food...and that's a big sign. indeed.
i was there with a friend and we both love japanese food.
we order different kind - sashimi, sushi, maki, special dishes, appetizers...all well drown with Asai beer
staff is very kind but the food is the one and only reason to go there - enjoying the lust of japanese food
all pros...just a cons - the price. we spent more than 120€ and even though I have to admit that we didn't go for a single course, the price is pretty too much.
Anyway, if you're body and brain push you to get oriental food, real japanese one, do not go elsewhere in town but here!
booking a table is warmly suggested

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank backpacker_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    103
    31
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
328 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Continuously great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went there again with a group of Japanese colleagues. I have lived in Japan for many years and was glad they confirmed my impression that every single dish we had was 100% authentic. Not only that, even by Tokyo standards, Kushi-tei would be rated as an excellent Izakaya.

So if you want to experience the food and ambience of a casual Japanese Izakaya, I can't imagine any better place than Kushi-tei.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Something else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We’ve made a reservation by phone a week in advance. The restaurant is very close to Dusseldorf-HBF and is very easy to find. The entrance is special and gives you immediately a warm Japanese feeling. The restaurant is small and very busy with a lot of Japanese people. We got a table near the window for a “tête à tête”. That was unexpected. After a while a waiter gave us the menu. We chose the menu for 32€. We’ve asked to taste the “hot sake” and there was no problem. The miso soup was very good. The second dish was a plate with five yakitoris with poultry, meat and vegetables, they were average and very extensive. Then the sushi’s came with too much rice and thick slices of fresh fish. The desert has no taste. You can eat here for a reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JACO5354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“woderful genuine Japanese cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I love the place, food is great and service is too. It is smaller, but totally respects Japanese standards :) and we love that.
You just need to know some basic rules when in Dusseldorf's Little Tokio - you either have to make a reservation, either have to wait in line, outside. The places are small (in order to keep quality)
Kushi Tei works based on reservation, specially on week-ends. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great authentic Japanese food was a surprise to find this place in Dusseldorf. Highly recommended and would definitely visit this place again when I'm in town,

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gbfoxbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kushi-Tei Of Tokyo also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Kushi-Tei Of Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing