We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visitors”
Review of Benkay

Benkay
Ranked #527 of 1,814 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Price range: $13 - $167
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadt-Mitte
Description: Enjoy finest sushi, exclusively prepared by our Japanese cooks. Our Fish Corner and Sushi Bar serves fresh Maki, Nigiri, Sashimi and Tempura but also Kaiseki (many-course) menus, which introduce our guests to the extraordinary traditional Japanese cuisine and widen their culinary senses. You may either sit in our classic restaurant or take a time-out to recuperate in our traditional Tatami rooms. Relax in your private corner and enjoy the culinary art of our cooks - sitting on Tatami straw mats. You might also like to experience the traditional Japanese barbecue! The Japanese cooks - with Masashi Nonaka as Head Chef - prepare delicious menus on the only "iron plates" in Duesseldorf right in front of your eyes.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First time visitors”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We liked the choices of dishes and sake's we'd never heard of before. We ended up choosing one of the teppanyaki menus, and we were not disappointed.

If we were to go back again, there'd be a temptation to order some additional items off the ala carte menu.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TCE_NRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    44
    22
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Creative Touch”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Have eaten here many times before, but they have a new chef who has brought some creativity to the menu, including medium rare ox tongue, a delicious and delicate mackerel tartare combined with miso, and an extraordinary not overly sweet tiramisu made with black sesame - I normally avoid desserts, but this one was excellent. Well worth a visit to try some new aspects to classic Japanese cuisine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bodger00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
東京
Level Contributor
388 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Below average”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This restaurant is located inside of Hotel Nikko thus supposed to serve high level Japanese cuisine but not. The worst point is poor variety of menu, very few a la carte, mostly set menu.
Taste is not as bad as menu variation.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank masaofc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Teppanyaki Restaurant”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

It was the first time for me to try a real Teppanyaki restaurant. The idea is that you are sitting around a grill/cooking station with a group and that everything you wanna eat is cooked just in front of you. The quality of the food was amazing, it tasted really good. Although it is expensive, it is definitely worthwhile and a true experience for everyone who has not yet tried a Teppanyaki dinner. Additionally, they have a really good wine menu, I am sure that everyone can find his personal favorite wine on this list.

However, there are two caveats:
-As there are 4 cooking stations in the main room, it can be quite noisy there.
-Additionally, it is no cozy atmosphere and not meant for less than 4 people.

Beside of that, I definitely recommend the restaurant, you felt like being in Japan! Please have in mind that you can only choose among two sittings (at 6pm and 9pm). Therefore, reservations are absolutely necessary.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wallaceffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Phantastic Japanese food in Düsseldorf”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Benkay restaurant is in the (Japanese chain) hotel Nikko, Immermannstrasse in Dusseldorf. We had a TATAMI room. Phantastic authentic Japanese food, they also were able to cater some of our special off-the-menu wishes. Great service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BjoernBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benkay also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Benkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing