We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor hotel, tiny rooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petersburg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Petersburg Hotel
Ranked #104 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor hotel, tiny rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

The rate that I was charged for this hotel was extremely high. I regret to book that hotel. The rooms are tiny like an attic but clean however. The reception staff are not well trained. The night (male) receptionist could not even use the credit card machine so I had to pay cash upon check-out. This is unacceptable. Most of the front office staff were not friendly. Nobody was smiling in that hotel. Everytime I walked in the hotel the reception staff were sitting looking down. Nobody was at least checking who was entering the hotel. I once asked for some directions in finding a city spot and the girl at the reception gave me wrong information, as a result I got lost in the night. The only friendly person was Holger.

Breakfast was OK, nothing special. The hotel location was fairly good but not right in the center.

Room Tip: Ask for a BIG room (in case they have some)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iakinthos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    38
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
11
11
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

Not the closest place to stay for visiting Altstrasse, but a great place none the less. Hotel Petersburg was very clean and had a good staff (despite the woman who checked me in now knowing a lick of English). Free breakfast in the morning was very good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank griller1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

This is a busy business hotel. If you pay the normal rate advertised on Expedia you will be reasonably satisfied, if like me you book at a busy time and pay nearly 200 euros you will find it very overpriced for what it is. It's not the kind of hotel that is especially memorable, but it's very clean, basic with an ordinary breakfast. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the main railway station and a short walk to the main shopping street. The immediate area of the hotel is a bit deserted but the main square it not too far away.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_B_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Stayed here while touring this part of Germany, hotel has a great location between the city centre and the main train station. Room was basic but clean and modern with Ikea furniture. Breakfasts were very good with friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Turtle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

I stayed in a single room with a single bed & a seperate bathroom. The bed was pretty comfy for a hotel bed but they could use some fluffier / harder pillows. The shower always had hot water everyday & the rooms were cleaned & stocked daily as well. The breakfast buffet had some good selections but stayed the same throughout the entire week. The hotel is located close to the Altstead / the main train stations. Make sure to ask for a map of the area becuse the streets / building look so similar so its tough to navigate @ night. The German locals are so friendly & most speak very good english which is very helpful. Great food , great beer , good times!!! I will be staying here the next time in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funfamof4Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Excellent location - near the main shopping street - Konigsallee, business buildings, the river - Rhein, the old town - Altstadt Duesseldorf. Everything is reached within walking distance. If you go directly - straight-ahaed you can reach the river beach for a 15 minutes nice walking. After that - turn on the left to see Media Hafen. After Media Hafen - in the right - you can see the beauty of the old town. On the streets around the hotel have a convenient tram- and U-bahn stops. From H-Heine station in Konigsalee you can go to Aquazoo and etc. The staff is absolutely polite. The check-in and check-out procedures are fast. The rooms are very clean! Every day they was cleaned. I like that in the rooms have many lamps - that is fantastic. In our room we found 5 big lamps - 4 abat-jours, lampshades and 1 big on the pan. The next plus are very comfortable beds. The breakfast is fresh. Thank you very much of the staff.
I will recommend - more pillows in the room, may be because i sleep with two and coffee-facilities in the room.
The price of the taxi from Duesseldorf Int Airport to the hotel is around 25 Euro - absolutely cheap and nice price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikolay_marinchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2007

We stayed in this Hotel for two nights. We found beds comfortable and room clean, shower could have been better, the water was not very hot. The mini bar was empty. The breakfast was very nice with lots of choice. The reception staff we found could have been a little more helpful, although they were not rude. We did not find them very welcoming. We were given our room keys and left to find the way to our rooms. We were not even informed where the lift was. Apart from this the stay was quite pleasant.

  • Liked — Centre of Town and not far from the Airport
  • Disliked — Shower could be improved and the hotel a little too quiet.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiecoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Carlstadt
Hotel Haus Hillesheim
Hotel Haus Hillesheim
#75 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Carlstadt
Hotel Herzog
Hotel Herzog
#190 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
#40 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#59 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Carlstadt
Novum Hotel an der Ko Dusseldorf
Novum Hotel an der Ko Dusseldorf
#189 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petersburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petersburg Hotel

Property: Petersburg Hotel
Address: Jahnstr. 33a, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Friedrichstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petersburg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Petersburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petersburg Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing