We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of Max Hotel Garni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Max Hotel Garni
Ranked #28 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was such a sweet hotel! The room was so clean - and the bed was fresh and comfortable. The little candies on the pillow each day were also such a nice touch. Breakfast was simple, but very good. The staff was very nice, and very helpful in explaining how to get to train stations and interesting sights in the city. The free transportation passes were also such an awesome bonus, too! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small and charming hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nannish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 323 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

In case you would like to be just 2-3 blocks from the main railway station and the same from down town, in case you don't pay so much attention in lobbies, big dinning rooms, etc. in case you are looking for a value for money, very clean and convenient place to stay when in Dusseldorf, do not hesitate. Stay there for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AthensADav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

we were a party of 6 that stopped in this hotel for 4 nights city break. it is situated near the train station. on arrival we were each given a free bus pass for local transport. All the rooms were very clean with everything you need. The beds were very comfotable and was cleaned every day. We all opted to have breakfast which was excellent. Also in the reception area is a coffee maker and small fridge which is regularly stocked with free water, soft drinks and beer.If you are looking for a place to stay in Dusseldorf i would highly recommend it and we would DEFINATELY stop here again.

Room Tip: all rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janennis60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel looks just like the user photos. The room is clean and I appreciate few little things which I was not expecting. The room has an umbrella, shoe polish sponge/simple sewing kit, and a luggage stand where we can put our bags on it without needing to put it on the floor. These 3 little things, to me, show the owner of this hotel puts thoughts to it.

The shower space is small but it is not a problem to me and I find the bathroom is very functional. Good water pressure and overall the bathroom is clean.

The free WIFI works and with good speed which is good. They offer free water, beer, and Coke in the lobby area which is very nice. In the morning, they serve breakfast. The selection is somewhat limited, but it is adequate.

The hotel is close to the train station. When you come down the train platform, take the exit by the Starbuck coffee shop or the exit close to the platform number 18-20 (the higher number).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Air747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and I were visiting friends in Dusseldorf and picked Max Hotel Garni based on reviews. We were glad we did. The hotel was simple smart and comfortable. The hotel had a simple, efficient but homely air. The bright green decor is quite striking but gives the place a fresh feel.

The bathroom - and indeed the whole hotel - was spotlessly clean.

The staff were very friendly (e.g. a minor mixup with our bill was fixed immediately without any fuss). We really enjoyed the breakfast which was simple and relaxed and well worth the money (I think 7Euro each).

The free local transport pass is a real boon and must have saved us the cost of breakfast each day (with a single tram ticket costing over 2Euro I think).

The location is good although the walk from the central station is (as with most station's in large cities) a little edgey. However the street the hotel is on is quiet and respectable looking. The hotel is only 10min walk from the Konigsallee (and a more pleasant walk than from the station!).

The only reason I didn't give it five stars is that I wouldn't want others to think it is a "luxury" hotel. But in actual fact I would stay there again in preference to one of the luxury branded hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sekret_skwirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Small hotel a short walk from the train station. Rooms are simple and clean, with comfortable beds, free wifi, and a smallish but adequate bathroom with shower. There's a lot of stuff available in the corridor for you to use anytime : a laptop with printer, a microwave, cutlery,ironing board, etc. Great touch! And a coffee machine and mini-bar with water, coke and beer which are all free!
The excellent Petra makes you feel right at home and is always ready to lend a hand with anything you may need. I was arriving late in the evening, and Petra sent me a mail in advance with instructions on how to get my key and how to call her if I had a problem. To make sure, she had left a note for me on the door as well!
Breakfast is limited but adequate, and Petra will be happy to cook some eggs for you.
The only issue was, you feel so much at home that you are over-careful about using stuff in your room and making sure you don't spill or dirty anything! And I didn't have the heart to tell her that I had a small problem with my shower area flooding due to a problem with the drainage.
All told, it was a good stay, and you will leave happy with no regrets about your choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here recently for a work trip as it was close to where I needed to be. My sister and niece joined me (seperate rooms) and all three of us thought the hotel was excellent! We were met on arrival by the owner who gave us lots of useful information, including a free pass for the local transportation. The location is great for the main train station and was about a 20 minute walk to the Old Town area. Rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean! Breakfast was excellent and great value. The coffee maker in the lobby and the free beer were a very welcome addition. I had just come from an alleged 5 star hotel in Berlin and the service here was far superior - with free Wi-Fi.
Everything about the stay was excellent. Would definitely recommend the hotel, and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Sir & Lady Astor Hotel
#21 of 239 in Dusseldorf
300 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Batavia Hotel
Batavia Hotel
#63 of 239 in Dusseldorf
204 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#55 of 239 in Dusseldorf
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Stadt Munchen
Hotel Stadt Munchen
#34 of 239 in Dusseldorf
315 reviews
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#17 of 239 in Dusseldorf
633 reviews
Carlstadt
The Fritz Hotel
The Fritz Hotel
#61 of 239 in Dusseldorf
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Hotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Hotel Garni

Address: Adersstr. 65, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Friedrichstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#5 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $84 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Hotel Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Max Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing