We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous suites and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BURNS Art & Culture
Ranked #72 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Gorgeous suites and value for money”
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Just came back from a long weekend with a few friends in Dusseldorf for the Christmas markets and stayed at the Burns Art & Culture Suites. Loved it and very happy with our choice!
We asked for a high room as Im a light sleeper and do not want people above me banging around, so glad I did! We were allocated 511 on the top which is a split level suite. 2 balconies, 2 tvs, large kitchen area, decent sized lounge and a very large bedroom upstairs. All mod cons provided. The heating system was good too so no worries there. Did not really use the kitchen as we ate out a lot but not much provided pots & pans wise so would not rely on this for all your meals. I just bought teabags, croissants, milk etc for the room so could have my own breakfast each day without spending a lot. Did not eat at the hotel's buffet but it looked good from what i saw.
Location is ideal, few min walk from the start of the city centre, and up to 15 to reach the Old town and river where most bars and restaurants are. Plenty of facilities around the hotel area too but more action in the Old Town. Hotels round there v expensive though so we were thrilled with our hotel, its price, size and location. It snowed alot when we were there so very happy to come back to our gorgeous warm suites.
Taxi was 18 euros from airport and traffic minimal in the city so easy to walk, get cabs or use trains. We went to an ice hockey game too which was so much fun.
Very easy city to navigate through. Not loads to do so a long weekend probably sufficient, but for the price was unbeatable. Would defdinitely recommend and happy to answer any questions if you have any.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKarenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
31
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Extremely nice hotel in the centre of Dusseldorf. It is a modern fresh apartment with a lovely walk in shower, two televisions, a fully equipped kitchen, two balconies, mini bar, a safe, a lounge, dining table and a large bedroom with build-in wardrobes. it is about a 10 minute walk from the main train station, a 20 minute walk to the River, a 15 minute walk to the Old Town and it a 5 minute walk to the high street so there is no need to use the underground or taxis so it is the perfect location for exploring the city. Dusseldorf is a lovely city and the nightlife is lively and busy with many nice cocktails to choose from, although most of them are fairly expensive unless you go on happy hour. There's a great select of shops if you going to a shopping spree and the River and Old is lovely to explore, when we went there was an international market along the river which sold some great items and served amazing food. We ndid not sample the breakfast at the hotel as it was 18euros per person which we thought was quiet steep. There is a sercure garage for guest parking and they charge 12euros a day. The staff were friendly and helpful, answering any questions about the city. I would definetly recommend staying at this hotel if you visit Dusseldorf, however there is no much to do in the City so a weekend is more than enough, there is a great selection of local restaurants too, ask the hotel staff for the best places!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carly_bowles17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

I was very pleased with our stay at the Burns Art and Culture. Housed in what seems to be an apartment block form the sixties, it has been completely renovated in a designer style and decorated with 'art': African objects arte povera, not really to my taste but not awful.

The place is very obviously aimed at businessmen staying in the city for a while. Each room has its own doorbell and letterbox at the front door to the building. The doors to each room are made of really solid metal. Our room had a full kitchen including dishwasher, a large lounge area, a smart bedroom with nice bedding and marble bathroom.

Weekend rates are very reasonable (all the businessmen must be out of town), and the hotel felt pretty empty. Breakfast was absolutely amazing, with a huge spread of lovely stuff to choose from, floating candles and orchids. Very impressive.

There were only a few things that we thought could have been better. The radiators in the rooms are behind the double curtains, meaning that they really only heat... the curtains. The TVs were not flatscreens and hung dangerously out over the edge of the furniture provided for them. The stereo system in the room ate my CD, and it took twenty minutes to get it out. Also, cleanliness of some parts of the room (plug sockets, beneath the bed...) could have been a little better.

Apart from those small niggles, we really enjoyed our night at the Burns Art & Culture. The area around it has plenty of good restaurants and the centre of town isn't far. I'd definitely like to try one of their other hotels in Cologne the next time I go.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonwhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

I stayed here in january, having previously stayed in proper hotels in dusseldorf. this one is very centrally located (in 2 mins you can be in karstadt) and also easy walking distance to the main station (I didn't even bother with a taxi from the airport but too the S bahn and walked, dragging my suitcase).
each "room" is actually a small flat and mine had a lounge with kitchen (real hob and a microwave and dishwasher, no clothes washing machine though) and seperate bedroom. The view was nothing special but the place was big (60sq m). The furnishing was quite modern and nice although ruined by two old CRT type TV's that didn't even fit onto the modern shelves and overhung by 20cm. Some flat screens would look nice and be nicer to watch.
The room when I arrived was incredibly cold, eventually after going to reception we worked out how to turn on the heating - the hotel had been closed over christmas and only re-opened a few days before. Living in finland you could never turn off the heating in rooms for that amount of time (it was -6 outside). Sadly my room did not warm up enough during the 3 days, since the floors were a lovely tiled marble but I suspect the room below was still unoccupied and the floor especially was always stone cold.
The room above was not empty though since I could hear every footstep. I suspect this place was a converted apartment block and not custom built as a hotel, so sound insulation could have been better. If staying again (which I wold like due to space and own cooking and location reasons) then I would insist on a room with no room above it.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Le066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
BURNS Art Hotel
#76 of 237 in Dusseldorf
158 reviews
Unterbilk
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
#24 of 237 in Dusseldorf
326 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Asahi Hotel
Asahi Hotel
#78 of 237 in Dusseldorf
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Duesseldorf City by Tulip Inn
Stadt-Mitte
BURNS Apartments
BURNS Apartments
#146 of 237 in Dusseldorf
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BURNS Art & Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BURNS Art & Culture

Property: BURNS Art & Culture
Address: Stephanienstr. 6, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#48 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BURNS Art & Culture 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one of the 4 star hotels in Düsseldorf - the BURNS Art & Culture - is this beautiful! The hotel affords a central yet peaceful location at the heart of the city. Very special interior architecture awaits in 33 spacious suites. Far from the sleek designer architecture, different furnishings and artistic styles converge here to create a unique atmosphere. Imaginative fittings made of natural woods from different parts of the world contrast with cool steel. Fine natural stone flooring replaces carpet and is also ideal for allergy sufferers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your BURNS Art & Culture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burns Art And Culture Apartments
Burns Art & Culture Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing