We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for a trip with friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Herzog

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Herzog
Ranked #181 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great value for a trip with friends”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just stayed here for the second time and it was even better.
Only 65 Euros a night, 10-15mins walk from the Altstadt (in a straight line down 1 street, Konigsalle, no chance of getting lost!)
Very friendly staff and free Internet too!
Looking forward to my return

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Kelly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    12
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
7
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Let me start by saying that I would have given this hotel a much higher rating if management had not broken their own policy as well as outright lie to us.
The hotel itself is ok. Its clean and the receptionist was friendly. It is located in a good spot and a short walk to old town.
Our second night there, a group of 12-13 german kids checked in. They were roudy, drunk, extremely loud. It didnt help that the walls in this hotel are extremely thin and a door slamming on the third floor can rattle your headboard on the first floor. A man outside was complaining about the guys breaking beer bottles. Oh, and all of the rooms are connected by a nice ladder right outside your window.
So we talked to the receptionist about the issue, and made plans to stay at another hotel so we could get a good night sleep before flying out the next day. Their "POLICY" states that if we had canceled the day before, we could get refund, but anytime after that, and they will only refund 20% of your money.
OK, fine, the receptionist was on the phyone with management, right in front of us, and they said when they came in later that week, they would refund 20% to our card. I felt bad for the receptionist, it wasnt her fault, but that of the other guests.
Anyways, we got back state-side, and after 2 weeks of no refund, my girlfriend sent booking.com an email about the refund. Hotel herzog's response... was that they "have a nice safe hotel in a quiet district of the city" and that we left on our own accord, so they would not be refunding anything.
So not only did they lie to our faces, but they broke their own policy... and you can read the policy for yourself on booking.com. Because of bad buisiness practice, I recommend you spend your money elsewhere, at a place that values their word and customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank topherboy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We booked a long weekend stay in this hotel because their were very few other options. The hotel was fairly basic but comfortable. They are in the process of installing a lift which will make the top floors much more accessible. The location was great and we could easily walk to most areas of the city we wanted to visit. The real plus point of this hotel was the staff. They went out of their way to be friendly and helpful to us, accomodating different arrival times and breakfast requests. In one of the rooms we booked there was a large step up to the ensuite which could be difficult to negotiate for children or the elderly but overall we were quite happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I went for a relaxing weekend with my friends to Düsseldorf at 2-5 March. Although our booking was the only option available since everything was booked due to the fairs, we were pleasantly surprised! The room was very big and accommodated 3 people comfortably! Surprisingly the additional bed was actually a bed and not the usual camp bed! Breakfast was tasty and with cheese and cold cut meats variety. We had an unfortunate insisted, one of us lost her id and the staff couldn’t be more helpful. The helped us any way they could with phone calls and finding all the necessary information to contact at the embassy. I would highly recommend it for any one visiting the city either for fun or work! Plus free internet anywhere in the hotel with a decent speed!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Not bad at all. Only 10-15 minutes walk from the Old Town. No elevator which didn't bother us but could be an issue if you're not a fan of the stairs (I think they're planning to have one installed in the near future anyway).
Didn't have the breakfast but all looked pleasant (standard fare, sliced meats cheese etc)
Extremely friendly, helpful staff, free wi-fi, very reasonable cost. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Kelly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

I found the Herzog to be a clean, comfortable place to stay near the city center. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and the room size was large enough for what I needed. Cable television was provided with several English-language channels. Breakfast was above average - the usual breads, rolls, and cold meats/cheeses, but they also had a tomato/mozzarella salad and salmon.

I selected this hotel based primarily on its offer of free wireless internet service. When I first arrived, I could not get it to work on my computer and a very helpful hotel manager worked with my laptop and the hotel network to get it working. Later, the network was operating very slowly, but a call to the reception and they fixed the problem.

The location is very central, on Herzogstrasse a couple of blocks west of Corneliusstrasse. This makes it a tram ride from both the Hbf (main train station) on the east side of the city and the Alt Stadt on the west side. On one hand, I would have liked to have a shorter walk from the hotel to the Alt Stadt (instead of three tram stops), but I may not have been able to get as nice a hotel at the price (55 Euros) right in the old city. The hotel is very well situated for the southern end of the Koenigstrasse shopping area. One advantage of the location is that it is very quiet - I slept with the window open and it was fine.

Overall, I had a pleasant stay at the Herzog

  • Liked — Free wireless internet
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bobby_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Carlstadt
Hotel Haus Hillesheim
Hotel Haus Hillesheim
#87 of 236 in Dusseldorf
98 reviews
Carlstadt
Novum Hotel an der Ko Dusseldorf
Novum Hotel an der Ko Dusseldorf
#194 of 236 in Dusseldorf
63 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Petersburg Hotel
Petersburg Hotel
#113 of 236 in Dusseldorf
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
#39 of 236 in Dusseldorf
492 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#84 of 236 in Dusseldorf
63 reviews
City Lounge Hotel
#160 of 236 in Dusseldorf
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Herzog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Herzog

Property: Hotel Herzog
Address: Herzogstr. 23, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Herzog 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Herzog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing