We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice 4* hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mingarden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mingarden Hotel
Ranked #115 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice 4* hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located one street behind the underground which goes directly to the and to the center. Both are maximum 10mns away. I booked the hotel through a last minute app. The price was very competitive. The rooms are spacious and clean. The only negative is that the TVs are old and noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank austrianfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
9
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Okay, first time in Dusseldorf, Hotel is in a brilliant position, 3 min walk to subway one stop to the old town, warms are large and well furnished, staff are BRILIANT, very friendly and helpful.
now the But, smoking, it seems that there are a couple of areas where smoking is permitted, one is in a room next to the restaurant but the smell gets everywhere.
I would stay again and put up with it to be honest, just so people know MOST of the pubs ALLOW smoking in them they ignore the ban.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobBucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Dear Mingarden - congratulations! Clean. Spacious. Nice rooms. Fresh and nice breakfast - not a big selection of food > it is fresh and inspirationally served and we like the principle of not throwing out too much food. Customer-focused reception staff. Nice rooms. Public parking house 50 meters from the hotel. Excellent neighborhood > many shops, bars, and restaurants. Only 5 minutes walk to the Rhine. Only 10 minutes from the Altstadt (260 Bierstuben/Inns): 5 minutes walk + 5 minutes street car or metro. Düsseldorf was a very positive surprise. We expected little and got value much above our expectations. Should we ever come back to Düsseldorf Mingarden shall be our choice no matter whether it isa stop-over, holiday, or business trip.

Room Tip: Contact the friendly reception staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

This was our second time here, and just as good, if not better. This hotel is very good value, modern services and decor, and extremely clean. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the buffet breakfasts are wonderful, taken in a large room overlooking a small garden with Chinese sculptures. It's very near the city center, and 15 minutes walk to the Hofgarten and the Rhine (nice promenades). It's also 2 minutes from Nordstrasse or to Kleverstrasse, which have good tram or U-bahn connections to anywhere, and Nordstrasse has an interesting selection of shops and cafes - try the cafe down an alley next to a 'brocante' (antiques) store.

The street is generally very quiet although the first time we stayed there was a guy singing (very badly) in the street well after midnight and this kept us awake. And it's true that the church bells can be a bit bothersome (see review below). This time we asked for a room at the back, and we got a very large room on the 4th floor, which was airy, very comfortable, and overlooked a square and small playground. It was very quiet, and just what we wanted. The TV had a large range of stations in German and in Chinese (the hotel is Chinese-owned) but we only found two channels in English - CNN and BBC 1. There was no DVD player.

We've stayed in a few hotels in Dusseldorf and we would always prefer this one, and take a room at the back again.

  • Liked — very clean, design, friendly staff, location, buffet breakfasts, value.
  • Disliked — Nothing !
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

Wanted to find a nice hotel, close to the 'old town' for my parents 50th wedding anniversary present, who lived just outside Dussedorf for over a year after they got married. As a family of 6, parents in their 70's, 2 teenage sons and my husband and myself, we needed something to suit us all. As I was paying for trip, it couldn't be TOO expensive. What a gem of a find, in staying at the Hotel Mingarden. Hotel is in a very central location, just 5 mins drive from the airport. Fare was 15 Euro for a maxi-taxi to hotel. Hotel is not very large, in a residential street. Reception and public areas, bright, very clean, and very helpful polite staff working throughout. Nice breakfast room on ground floor, tastefully furnished overlooking little back garden. Breakfast was much better than we expected, with eggs, bacon, German cheeses, meats, smoked salmon. Fresh fruit salads, yoghurts, and great selection of breads/rolls and jams.
Hotel rooms were a lovely suprise. 2 of our double rooms were much larger than average sized with large tiled bathrooms. My parents had a double bedroom PLUS an extra room, lounge, with sofa, armchairs etc. Plenty of cupboard space in all the rooms. The bedrooms, as with the rest of the hotel, were spotlessly clean. The actual price we paid inclu. breakfast was amazingly cheap. We paid 770 euro for 3 nights, for 3 rooms plus breakfast. A BARGIN for central Dusseldorf.
If you are tired, and dont want to stroll into the 'old town's' numerous restaurants, try Vivere, across the road from the hotel. 1st class Italian restaurant, with service to match. For the closest typically German beer kellar style restaurant, turn right outside hotel, to main road, then left into Nordstr. Across the road at number 53, is Himmel & And Brauhaus. A place filled with atmosphere, warmth and superb food. We all tried the Wiener Schnitzel, (actually 2 huge 1's) on the plate with wonderful steaked potatoes and a separate salad. A tip: Many places in Dusseldorf do NOT accept Visa. It's mainly German cards, or cash. Very odd!! All in all, a most suprisingly fantastic trip to Germany. Hotel, including Dusseldorf a very welcoming place, that is attractive, heaving with life, and CHEAP.

  • Liked — Liked it all!
  • Disliked — Church bells, ringing every day, and no, non slip mats in the bath
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2006

This hotel is very conveniently located off the shopping street Nordstrasse which leads to the Hofgarten and Jan Wellem Platz, a major shopping artery of the city. For those out to discover Duesseldorf via public transportation, there is a tram stop conveniently located around the corner; a bit further is an U-Bahn (subway) stop. The hotel offers excellent value as well since for less than EUR100/night, we had a generous, immaculately kept junior suite overlooking the huge garden where guests can take breakfast (included in the room price) alfresco, weather permitting. I would gladly use this as my regular base when visiting Duesseldorf. The only downside: there are some steps leading up from the entrance to the reception so it was a bit of a challenge to negotiate with a baby stroller and suitcase in tow.

  • Liked — Where else can one find a junior suite in DUS for that price?
  • Tips/Secrets — Lots of shopping and eating possibilities nearby
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Cascade
Hotel Cascade
#110 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Pempelfort
Hotel Am Ehrenhof
Hotel Am Ehrenhof
#100 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pempelfort
Imperial City Hotel Dusseldorf
Imperial City Hotel Dusseldorf
#101 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Pempelfort
Stadthotel Dusseldorf
Stadthotel Dusseldorf
#170 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingarden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingarden Hotel

Property: Mingarden Hotel
Address: Kaiserswerther Str. 22, 40477 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Pempelfort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mingarden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mingarden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing