We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Dusseldorf
Ranked #6 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel must rank as one of the best hotels in Europe. The location right on the Konigsallee, quality of service, rooms, decor, food and the general activity are all first rate. Starting from the concierge to the room service staff, all are extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms are quiet and peaceful, quality of rooms perfect, room service and outlets' food quality impressive and I always look forward to the breakfast.
Being an Ambassador member helps but this hotel never fails to impress.Looking forward to my next stay end October.

Room Tip: If you know your travel plans, you can save at least 30-40% off the room rate by booking a couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shk900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear SHK900,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share this wonderful review with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoy staying with us so much.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the end of October to continue our ambitious hospitality.
Kind regards,
Michaela Weisskopf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    230
    51
    13
    16
See reviews for
119
236
40
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental for a few nights. The hotel is very nice, well situated (right opposite the main drag), clean and modern. The staff were unfailingly helpful, especially the girls in the Exec Lounge on Level 2 who were great and the Duty Manager. The food was pleasant. The beds were absolutely brilliant, with big stuffed pillows.

I'm only giving it three stars because of two main problems. The room service was poor. We were a group of six and each of us had cause to ring down and ask for various things over a number of days which either didn't ever arrive or had to be chased an hour or so later. I expect 5 star hotels to be much quicker and more efficient. Also our rooms on one day remained untouched and dirty at 4pm when we returned after a day out despite a cleaner being on our floor when we left in the morning.

Our main complaint was about the pool. It is next door to the hotel but can be entered via the 7th floor. Not that we got to use it. We were told when booking and subsequently at the desk that children could access it at certain hours at the weekend. This is why we picked this hotel and also why we came back from a day trip v early. However, when we went round with the kids in their swim shorts we were refused entry by a grotty Holmes Place manager. Cue, tears from the children and a wasted afternoon. When we reported this at the front desk at the hotel we got a verbal shrug. Not good enough. Having made a second later complaint the v nice duty manager took it more seriously. Not that we got access.

So overall a good hotel let down by inefficiency.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the back courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andiamosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear SKCJ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found our hotel well situated, clean and modern. We want every guest to receive comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was in room 126 for two nights, bath room very nice good power shower, room very dark and at the back of hotel,I think a Hotel of this standard needs a flat screen TV to complete the quality of service.

Reception area very spacious and the GM was really pleasant when he helped me check in, location is great, right on Konigsallee

Great shopping on Konigsallee and the old town is only a few minutes walk away, lots of good bars and the river side promenade was very lively, lovely way to spend a few hours on a sunny afternoon

Dusseldorf HBF is only a 6 euro fare in taxi, from there the airport is only 5 minutes away on S Bahn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olofvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

When I decided to go to Dusseldorf first I wanted of course to choose Breidenbaher, but I've chosen IC only because they have Spa with sauna and swimming pool. And I did not regret it at all.
The situation of hotel is perfect, just right in the center. The entrance hall is impressive and nice. Check in was just neutral, not friendly and welcoming (it was a lady). The corridors and lifts are light and modern.
The standard room is quite small, but it is very well equipped, very nice and very clean bathroom with shower and bath. There is also a sound system in the bathroom, so that you can here your TV or music in the bathroom - very convenient.
The bed is very good, the pillows are great and the duvet is so soft – very, very comfortable, you do not want to leave the bed in the morning. The room is also very quiet. As many travelers mentioned - this hotel is more business hotel. The only minor thing about the room - in my room the sliding doors of the bathroom didnot shut properly, as I was alone it did not matter to me, but if I would have been with a partner I would not be comfortable with that.

You have to pay 15 euro to use the Spa, but it was worth it, as there were not too many people (I think because you had to pay for it). The swimming pool is very long, I think 25 m, so it is good to swim in after a good sauna.
Breakfast good, coffee very good, the only thing I was missing is fresh fruit, there were only a few grapes on the cheese plate. Check out extremely friendly (by a man), the concierge was also very helpful.
Overall : very, very nice, modern hotel with personal service, they even call you by your name during the wake up call- I recommend everyone to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulushke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed from the 18th to the 24th of August the room was great the service was excellent .There was only one thing the drain in the shower box was blocked,first time we did not know and the whole toilet was fludded we called house keeping they sent some one to see then an other person to dry n not fix it was late at night so it made sence and told us they will fix it the next day . The day after we used it again and it was not fixed when we called the (at your service) the lady who answered was so rude and was not helpful at all n finally when they sent some one he came to clean n dry the floor not to fix it and they used the same towels we use I mean clean ones to dry the floor .This was not the first time I stayed at this hotel and as I said before it's great the lounge is great rooms as well but the toilet incident made me think twice .

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Saboka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Saboka S,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am glad that we were able to meet your expectations in terms of room accommodations and staff service. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the malfunctioning that happened with the bathroom facilities.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to host you again should your travels bring you back to Dusseldorf.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Staying here regularly, I always enjoy the hotels location directly on the lower end of the Koe. The lobby area is very open and lightful, great breakfast, good bar and a fantastic concierge named Felix. The little hurdles for the 5 stars are in the details - like a limited WiFi support (payable at high price).

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Katharina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Katharina19,
We keep on working at our little hurdles. Meanwhile, we focus on our strengths and try to improve the rest. I am not sure if you noticed our recent change regarding the WIFI provider. Now we offer free wireless data connection in the entire hotel.
Kind regards
Michaela Weisskopf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Recently stayed here on business.
Smart, modern hotel in great location in centre of the city with lots of restaurants & bars within easy walking distance.
Rooms were of a high standard, better than most InterContinentals and it were suitably quiet, despite being in a city centre and the trams running close by. Only minor quible was the old-style Catray televisions.
Strongest point was the helpful staff. I left an important item behind - when I notified the front desk they were able to quickly locate it and offer several satisfactory options for return, which I very much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grenalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinental_DUS, Manager of Quality and Performance at InterContinental Dusseldorf, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Grenalin,
Thank you so much for this excellent review. I shared your good comments with our Guest Experience Team. These colleagues take care of our guest needs and wishes in order to increase guest satisfaction.
Kind regards
Michaela Weisskopf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 236 in Dusseldorf
1,146 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 236 in Dusseldorf
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Dusseldorf

Property: InterContinental Dusseldorf
Address: Koenigsallee 59, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#3 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#4 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Dusseldorf 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Man sagt, es sei DAS HOTEL "FUR KUNST UND KULTUR" AUF DER KO...Denn wer das InterContinental Dusseldorf an der Konigsallee betritt, spurt sofort die moderne Ausrichtung mit der Konzentration auf zeitgenossische Kunst und Lifestyle: eine Artist Wall mit 33 Namen bekannter Dusseldorfer Personlichkeiten, wie Heinrich Heine, Max Ernst, Clara Schumann und Joseph Beuys, schmuckt das 40m hohe Atrium der Lobby. Seit der Eroffung des Hotels 2005 wurde kontinuierlich an Kunst- und Kulturinitiativen gearbeitet, um die lokale Verankerung mit der Kunstmetropole Dusseldorf zu festigen und als der ,,place to stay" fur Kunst- und Kultur weltweit wahrgenommen zu werden. Das Luxushotel auf der wunderschonen Konigsallee ist aber nicht nur aufgrund der besonderen Architektur und Ausrichtung Hot Spot der Stadt: auch kulinarisch hat es Vieles zu bieten, so das Restaurant PEGA und die stylische bar fifty nine, deren Cocktails und Latte Macchiatos legendar sind...An Wochenenden rockige Live Musik meist bis in die fruhen Morgenstunden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, Agoda, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Dusseldorf Hotel
Intercontinental Hotel Duesseldorf
Intercontinental Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing