We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy hostel a short walk from everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Dusseldorf
Reviewed June 20, 2010

A very nice hostel -- the beds were comfy, bathrooms and rooms were very clean. The staff couldn't have been friendlier. Free lockers and free wifi, along with coffee in the morning were all pros. Only a 10 mins walk to the brewery area. A great value in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennybean74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 132 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2010

I stayed there for one night and it was also the first time i stayed in a hostel.
The place is just 15 minutes walking from the main station, or you can also take a bus that stops in 200 m from the hostel. It is handy to take a little lock with you to close your locker, or you can borrow one at the reception. After check-in you will get clean linen en towels. There are several rooms on different floors and several quite spacious showers and wc's. Everything is clean, no smell or whatever. Good friendly atmosfere, comfy sofas in the living room.
The breakfast is very basic - just coffee/tea and bread with some jam/butter/choco pasta/pate. In the neighbourhood i found chineese restaurant where i paid just 6 eur for a portion good for 2 persons, there is also a supermarket in 5 minutes. I can also say that it was quiet there at night, so i could sleep well. The light was not turned on during the night. Some people came late at night but they tried not to make noise.
My only note is that there are some difficulties with connecting to wi-fi internet. Some people could get access but some could not. There are also two computers in the living room, but unfortunately i couldn't use my own laptop.
If you're looking for a place to stay for a night or two and do not bother to share the room with other people than it's a good place to be.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazltov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

I stayed for two nights in October in a mixed room. The place is very clean, the staff is very nice and goes out of their way to help you. The breakfast (included) is also quite adequate. WiFi is free if you are bringing a laptop, and there are 2 computers for everyone to use if you aren't. My only quibble would be that the room was a bit cold, I don't believe the heat turned on in our room at all. Still, I was warm under the generous comforter. Linens and towels are also included, and a padlock for the lockers can be borrowed with a small deposit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pangursperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

This is a horrible hostel, you should never go there. The employees are really rude, and they accuse you of things you didn't do.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hants12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

During our stay it was nice hostel but when I came back to Moscow I discovered an email from Patrick (the receptionist of Backpackers-Düsseldorf). He blamed that my friends and I have stolen (!!!) the ugly posters from the walls of this hostel and charged 20 Euro from my card for it though we did not take away anything!!! The email was very rude and full of offences and suggestions about my education (!!!)! I would never recommend anyone staying there! Only if you want to lose extra 20 Euros (or more I don’t even sure that they could blame someone for stolen sheets or smth) or to get bad recollections about the entire trip! Very poor impression! I was very disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Loki85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

This hostel has rude, surly staff, who are not helpful at all. We felt like we were imposing on the incredibly rude fellow who checked us in, and he seemed glad to get us into our room and be done with us.
When I later asked for a restaurant recommendations, the girl who was manning the desk then didn't have a clue. She seemed annoyed that she had to interrupt her personal phone call on her mobile to talk to me.
The hostel staff didn't even bother to tell us that there was a bus strike on, even after we asked them about transportation to the airport upon checking in¬!! we nearly missed our flight the next morning because they couldn't be bothered to tell us that we'd have to find alternate method of travel to the airport!!
And lastly, the hostel isn't staffed at night, so the guests are given free run of the place...the drunk, rude students who were staying in the hostel the night of our stay kept us awake until nearly 3 am.
I would not stay at this hostel ever again, and I do not recommended that you do, either!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Hal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

I stayed here for 1 night in December. This place stands out from poor quality European hostels. You have spacious and tidy rooms, lounge area with TV and 2 PCs with free internet.
I was dissapointed though that kitchen was closed after 9pm thus I could not make my tea! But majority of hostels in Europe dont even have self-service kitchens...

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank montonero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Sud
#102 of 239 in Dusseldorf
216 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Schumacher Dusseldorf
Hotel Schumacher Dusseldorf
#110 of 239 in Dusseldorf
59 reviews
A&O Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof
#7 of 53 in Dusseldorf
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oberkassel
Jugendherberge Dusseldorf
Jugendherberge Dusseldorf
#4 of 53 in Dusseldorf
45 reviews
Berolina Haus
#8 of 53 in Dusseldorf
25 reviews
DJH City-Hostel Duesseldorf
#21 of 53 in Dusseldorf
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Dusseldorf

Address: Fuerstenwall 180, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Friedrichstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $25 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers wanting to explore Dusseldorf and its interesting surroundings, Backpackers Dusseldorf is the ideal place to stay - from here you can quickly get to all central places in town. The old part of town - the enchanting "Altstadt" - with its more than 260 pubs, bars and restaurants can be reached by foot within 10min. Famous as the town of arts, Dusseldorf has approximately 100 galleries and museums, which are located all over town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Backpackers Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing