We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unfriendly manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Dusseldorf
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Nothing like a very unfriendly service to ruin what could otherwise be an acceptable experience.

Upon my arrival, I thought the manager (and apparently sole employee) wasn't either friendly or unfriendly, but just neutral. That was fine anyway. He gave me the bed linen and towel, the door codes, showed me to my room and so on. My room was located directly under a staircase, so it was very noisy, but I was going to spend only one night and had ear plugs with me. In the morning over breakfast I said hello to him and he still remained neutral, but that was still OK.

The man showed his true colors by the time of my check-out, though. I arrived at the reception with the bed linen and the towel and he was busy talking on the phone. I didn't want to disturb him, although I'm the customer and shouldn't be seen as disturbance, but apparently I was. I put my bed linen in the container where all other bed linen was, but I didn't see any place to put the towel, so I showed him the towel in my hand with a gesture of asking where to put it. Since he never stopped talking on the phone and just made gestures with his hand, I couldn't understand where he was pointing at and ended up giving him the towel in the hand. His reaction to this was absolutely disproportionate. He exhaled in utter disgust without even looking me in the eye and angrily threw the towel away into some other container, whilst never interrupting his phone call to address me with the deserved courtesy one should show for customers. After this reaction I just put the key back in the counter and got the hell out of there. I had such a nice trip and then this guy ruined my mood with such lack of respect.

I sent him an e-mail a couple of hours after I left, letting him know how I feel and what I think of such lack of manners towards paying customers. He apologized to me with the weak argument that he had another guest on the phone and was "stressed" in the morning, and since I seemed to be in a hurry, he didn't talk to me any further. He also told me that he doesn't allow himself to treat customers that way, but judging from some reviews I read here, he does indeed treat customers rudely when he's in a bad mood.

In conclusion: it doesn't matter how affordable a stay can be, if you don't want to be mistreated by the person who is taking your money, avoid this hostel!

Room Tip: If you are willing to put up with the guy's lack of manners and still decide to stay there, avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hprog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 133 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

On the morning of my checkout the staff member at the desk had the Russian girl in front of me in tears. He was telling her they only accepted cash (is it 1950?) and she only had credit cards and was in a hurry to get to the airport. The nearest bank was blocks away. I had faced the same situation upon arriving the night before, except for me it wasn't a problem- I wasn't in a hurry to get to an airport! He was quite unsympathetic towards her, I felt bad for her.
Anyways, once he was done with her he seemed annoyed that I wasn't familiar with this hostels policy of guests bringing bedsheets to the front desk but not the comforter (I brought all the bedding). It would turn out over the next several weeks of my tour of northern europe that this was the only hostel I encountered with this particular policy.
Hostel was otherwise decent, slept well, nice room mates, reasonable location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed there for one night in a shared room. Plugs are at the end of the rooms away from the beds however you have a locker and a bed! All you need. The showers were fine, they were outside the rooms

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I've been there last month, and I have a really good experience. The hostel is clean, the atmosphere it's really good and you have a good buffet for breakfast. The hostel is situated in the city center, and 15min by walk from the Train station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulVBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have stayed one night in a twin private shared bathroom with a friend. The room was small but okay. There was not many people hanging out in the hostel so it was quiet. Overall, I think this is a great hostel to stay for few nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I felt this hostel was comfortable and homely. It was quiet during my stay and there always seemed to be a bit of space. Close to supermarket which is a big plus and it is a tidy kitchen. Suitable breakfast. Staff are friendly and helpful. Not too far from central train station either. I would stay again and recommend to others.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank TeeKay61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Used this hostel for 4 nights while watching football in the area.

Good points:
Aldi supermarket near by - cheap beer/food
Easy 15 min walk from the Hauptbahnhof
Free computer
Vending machine - decent for a late night snack.

Bad points:
Bed - my mattress was terrible and the beds made a lot of noise.
Long walk to the Altstadt - a good 15-20 mins.
Shower - either scalding hot or freezing cold. I got the temperature correct first time round, 2nd time gave up after 10 minutes

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chapeltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Carlstadt
Hotel Haus Hillesheim
Hotel Haus Hillesheim
#68 of 240 in Dusseldorf
111 reviews
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 240 in Dusseldorf
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residenz
#143 of 240 in Dusseldorf
136 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#57 of 240 in Dusseldorf
206 reviews
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#17 of 240 in Dusseldorf
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Dusseldorf

Address: Fuerstenwall 180, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Friedrichstadt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $24 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers wanting to explore Dusseldorf and its interesting surroundings, Backpackers Dusseldorf is the ideal place to stay - from here you can quickly get to all central places in town. The old part of town - the enchanting "Altstadt" - with its more than 260 pubs, bars and restaurants can be reached by foot within 10min. Famous as the town of arts, Dusseldorf has approximately 100 galleries and museums, which are located all over town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Backpackers Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing