We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Run Hotel”
Review of Bismarck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bismarck Hotel
Ranked #85 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed December 16, 2011

A friend and I have stayed here 3 times in 2011, and for a budget hotel it is a very pleasant place to stay.

It ticks all the boxes for me, friendly service, great breakfast, decent WIFI, free travel card and 24 hour reception.

The breakfast is really excellent, the highlight being they cook you fresh eggs whatever way you like them. I always have an omelette with some cheese. Plus they have a great range of other breakfast items, fruit, cereal, yogurt, meats, bread etc. The extensive breakfast is the best I have yet found in any hotel in Germany.

Also they provide lovely fresh cakes and fruits at the reception to eat any time during the day at no extra cost.

The rooms are a little small but I find them cosy. Also the free travel card covers travel around Dusseldorf on all public transport which is a great bonus if you don't have a car with you.

Have I any complaints? Well not much really, I think the small indoor swimming pool is a little useless, and I have never seen anyone use it. I think a small whirlpool would be a better idea.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ichonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 180 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel for a week every year for the past 5 years. The location is great, as its' only 5 minutes walk from the main train station. It's not the grandest hotel, but the rooms are clean and functional (but a bit small). However, this is more than made up by the lovely family that run the hotel. Their welcome and friendliness is very nice. The breakfasts are particularly good. They have bowls of fruit and slices of home made cake in the reception area, which residents can snack on free at any time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OxfordTraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel is very nice and close to main central station about 100 mtr all good restaurents are near by and all public transport at walking distnace this hotel is worth of money.
I really like this hotel as staff here are so friendly i feel like home.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jitendra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We had to find a hotel late at night because of a cancelled Ryanair flight (nothing new there then) and we were welcomed here immediately. Rooms were clean, smelled a bit of cigarette smoke, but in Germany everything does anyway.breakfast was excellent, we had expected to pay extra, but all included.The staff we met could not have been more friendly and helpful.A good choice for near the station stopovers.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank RobinSuffolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

This hotel was filthy, smelled and the rooms are cramped.

Just down the street are some very nice hotels at lower rates.

Be warned,
Anja Freeman
Be@waysafe.net
Safety and consumer advocate programs

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waysafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

I stayed at the CVJM the first 2 nights in D’dorf but when they wanted €70 for a 3rd night I switched to this place. It’s right around the corner, it’s cheaper, and better. The single room is marginally bigger (not hard, as the CVJM is a shoebox that you can barely turn around in, the TV is equally small (fitting with the doll house sized rooms), but the front desk is so much nicer. They also have an indoor pool, free wireless internet and a far better buffet breakfast.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank Jurnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank Sazanall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Friedrichstadt
IntercityHotel Duesseldorf
IntercityHotel Duesseldorf
#87 of 240 in Dusseldorf
267 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
CVJM Hotel
CVJM Hotel
#66 of 240 in Dusseldorf
164 reviews
Lindenhof Hotel
#65 of 240 in Dusseldorf
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#63 of 240 in Dusseldorf
215 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Batavia Hotel
Batavia Hotel
#61 of 240 in Dusseldorf
204 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Best Western Savoy Hotel
Best Western Savoy Hotel
#70 of 240 in Dusseldorf
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bismarck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bismarck Hotel

Address: Bismarckstr. 97, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#37 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $89 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bismarck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bismarck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bismarck Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing